Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Excellent

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Nice and helpful staff, room is clean and comfortable. Afterall, it's a pleasant stay, everything just perfect !!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Menifee, CA

Enjoy Japanese Hospitality

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: The staff was cheerful, helpful, and harm. Delicious authentic Japanese food from the region. Beautiful atmosphere and excellent private bath.
Cons: Some Ryokan have a single host that caters to your entire stay. Although everyone was helpful it might have been nice to have a single contact.
Location: The hotel is an easy walk from the train station. Well located for walking to all activities in Takayama. Walk to all temples and shines in just 3-4hr
We were greated warmly at the door and our stay was managed with detail and care. The staff was warm and enthusiastic about sharing their culture with visitors. The food was wonderful and authentic to the area. There were lots of things to do within a few minutes walk. Within a 10min walk we reached the furthest part of the Higashiyama walking course. There is so much to see in the small town I would recommend at least staying 2-3 full days. Staying in a Ryokan like Koto no Yume is the perfect way to experience Takayama. Would love to go back and do it all over again.
5 out of 5
by anna from Hong Kong

pure pleasure; they made you feel like a VIP

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
nothing more to say other than it was perfect in every way. A must stay when in Takayama. This is one hotel where almost every single employee speaks excellent English making communication easy. The check in experience itself was amazing. Would love to go back one day soon. This place is mostly for foerigners, I did not see any local Japanese guest.
5 out of 5
by Ting Ting Mat from Hong Kong

Highly Recommend

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is so great and so comfortable, near to the bus/JR station, just 5 mins walk. The breakfast and the dinner they provided are so delicious. Staff can speak little English and they are so helpful in all areas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by GHISLAINE

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
Location of hotel is just opposite JR station and easily to find. Hotel service was excellence. Staff were exceptionally nice and friendly. English speaking staff available and spoke well. They paid attention and took good care our needs and preference. We got to experience In-house Japanese living during our stay and felt like home. I would definitely recommend this ryokan when visiting takayama. Everything about the hotel was just too great.
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Australia

Fantastic cultural stay

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay up at Takayama. The staff and service were fantastic from arrival to departure. The accomodation itself was a good mix of western/traditional making for a very comfortable stay. Dinner and breakfast included in our package was also very high quality - we didn't quite eat all the Japanese dishes but we gave it a good try. The private onsen was also fantastic and well worth the small charge. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great stay in a Ryokan.

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: The hotel was spotless and services were all excellent. The breakfast and dinners were very good.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: The hotel is only a short distance from the station. It is an easy walk to most attractions in the town and there are plenty of places to eat nearby.
Wanted to stay in a ryokan for a few nights and this place is one of the best. Great staff with good English made the stay a very pleasant one. The food was excellent and the private Japanese bath was a bonus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels