Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Nice place with an onsen that's free for hotel guests. The breakfast was so so.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is Fair

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The onset facilities was good
Hotel was just ok and staff was very good. The facilities could definitely need some facelift
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, AU

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Location: Takayama old town is about a 30 min away, and is worth seeing. You feel like you have stepped back in time several hundred years.
Staff are excellent. Very friendly, extremely helpful, very efficient. They make you feel very welcome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Rock hard beds, dated decor, but good amenities.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Consider hiring a bike or getting a bus - the walk to the Hida Village or into the old town takes at least 25 mins or more. The station is 10-15 mins.
I have mixed feelings about this hotel. It felt like a resort that had it's heyday in the 1980's, but feels very dated now. Our room had ugly old decor and the hardest beds I've ever come across! The pillows were small and there were no extras in the cupboard. The hotel is massive, it was the kind of place where tour/school groups stay. The walk from Takayama station took us 10-15 minutes, not much fun with our big heavy backpacks. We only realised after we arrived that there was a free shuttle bus, but it didn't run in the evening, so when we went into town for dinner we had to walk the whole way back. It would have been nice if the hotel offered the rental bikes for free so we could get around easier, as the walk into town or to the Hida Folk Village were long. But the bikes cost 1000 JPY a day and had to be back by dusk, so we didn't bother. Thank goodness for the foot onsen, which soothed our feet after so much walking! All that said, the hotel had lots of great amenities - a large and welcoming lobby, a range of on-site restaurants, souvenir shops and cafes. The public bath area was spacious and well-maintained, and there were plenty of baths to choose from, but they sting you with the spa tax on check out. The buffet restaurant was a bit tacky with the Halloween decor. The breakfast buffet had some weird 'western' options like french fries, meatballs, spaghetti and nuggets - but it was all good quality food. All in all, it was a little disappointing for the price paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Nice Onsen Nice Pricing

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Onsen & Souvenirs shopping
Location: very good place nearby for Hida Beef dining
Second visit the Hotel Green within 4 years. Very nice hotel with good Onsen settings. Very good shopping place for souvenirs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Takayama Green Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for coming back to Takayama Green Hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed onsen and shopping. Did your skin become smoother after bathing? Looking forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Hotel is about 10 minutes walk from train station (turn right, and turn right again). There is a shuttle bus service (pick-up from station not available in the morning based on the schedule, but I don't know if you can just hop onto the bus dropping customer off at the station) which is nice. Circle-K across the street. We chose a Japanese traditional room and slept on futons. Very comfortable and great experience. Best thing is that it is about 15 minutes walk from the car entrance of the Hida Folk Village. You have to walk for another 15-20 before actually reaching the Folk Village site. But I enjoyed the 15,000 steps each day. Come out of the hotel, turn right and keep wallking for about 15 minutes and you will reach the traditional streets with all kinds of stuff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Takayama Green Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We can image your trip in Takayama from your feedback. You walked a lot, didn't you. We are very glad to hear that you felt comfortable to sleep on the futon. Did you take hot spring bath? It is called onsen. If you take onsen, your skin will be smoother and will recovery from fatigue. We are looking forward to having you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bkk

Cozy hotel with great onsen

Posted May 23, 2016
Location is a bit far from the train station but onsen can beat it. Dinner and breakfast is alright, not many choices on sashimi but other thing else is variety and tasty
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SanDiego, CA

Dreams die here

Posted May 13, 2016
The hotel is run-down and old. The western-style room is small, the beds super uncomfortable and need major renovations. We requested a non-smoking room, but only 2 out of 8 floors are non-smoking and we had to pay extra because the same room wasn't available as non-smoking. The Japanese western style mix room wasn't much better than the western-style room, just more spacious, but as run down and uncomfortable. The worst however was the food. The breakfast buffet was terrible, the quality of the food horrid and the on-site restaurant not any better. The location is not great, even though they provide a shuttle service to the train station. They have bikes to rent on site. That was the only plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indonesia

Great hospitality - Great Experience

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Almost anything. my room, Onsen, coffee shop, restaurants, bus shuttle
Cons: none
Location: Close to Station and Hida Takayama beef restaurant
It was memorable moments during my stay. The room is bigger than I expected. Great arrangement with tatami seating table. I have super nice view when I open the window. Huge Onsen and not to forget so many choices of restaurants, and one I called super great coffee shop. Not to forget they have free shuttle bus to the station- it helps. Definitely will come back if I visit Takayama again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Impressive stay

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Our stay at the hotel is impressive and everyone loves it. Its location is convenient enough for me while all facilities are good. Some staff can speak minimum English, which is good enough for us to ask for help, and they have really been helpful.