Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

My Highest Recommendations

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Wanosato is excellent. You will almost certainly be traveling from elsewhere in Japan, where you've had amazing culinary experiences. Even measured against the best restaurants in Tokyo and Kyoto, Wanosato will not disappoint. Further, this may be one of several ryokans you will be checking into. Wanosato will rank highly among them. In fact, it was my personal favorite in the set that I visited. And you will probably have relaxed in more than one onsen before visiting Wanosato's. For me, Wanosato's was more peaceful and more rejuvenating than the rest. Overall, I give Wanosato the highest marks. The staff is extremely thoughtful. I am grateful for their kindness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennington, United States of America

Excellent Ryokan in beautiful Takayama

Posted Jan 26, 2017
This is a beautiful property full of local charms. Excellent and tentive staff made guest feel at home. The food is sophisticated and the presentation is what one expects from a Michelin starred restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Amazing!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
We absolutely loved our stay at Wanosato. If you are looking for an escape into the beautiful world of traditional Japan - this is the one.
5 out of 5
by Brian from Singapore

Great view and service

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
The view of the river and falling snow was great. Quality of service is great and every detail is spent on the dinner and breakfast. Very accommodating to prepare an early breakfast for me as I had an early day tour. Love the in-house onsen which is warmer to bath than in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Gorgeous property, great service

Posted Nov 30, 2015
We very much enjoyed our stay at Wanosato. The property is beautiful, and the staff was very attentive and accommodating. The onsen was nice and our room had a great view of the river. Dinner was also great, even by high ryokan standards. Would happily recommend to other travellers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Great trip!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Wonderful people run this place! Traditional japanese inn experience. wanosato means home of the heart and we really felt at home!! Food great and baths clean. Setting dramatic over a creek. Lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a wonderful stay

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
A nice place to consider for a retreat journey. Traditional Japanese food in excellent quality
5 out of 5
by Wai Wan Danny from United Kingdom

Wonderful getaway and enjoyable experience.

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels
It was a wonderful stay in Wanosato. The food, service and enivornment was amazing. The little gift bag and the welcoming snack were heart warming. We love the japanese traditional vibe of the resort. The resort is located outside the main town center which gave us a moment of quietness. We highly recommend this fantastic resort.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Austin, Texas

Phenomenal ryoken - and the highlight of our stay

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
Phenomenal ryoken - and the highlight of our stay in Japan. Would absolutely recommend staying here if you want an authentic Japanese experience.
5 out of 5
by Elaine from Yountville, CA

Traditional and serene

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed for two nights and were treated with traditional gracious Japanese hospitality. The proprietress and her staff did everything to make our stay memorable and comfortable. The ryokan is located about 20 minutes from Takayama along a rushing stream; they have a car service so transportation is not a problem. The kaiseki and sukiyaki dinners were beautiful and scrumptious.