Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Gorgeous property, great service

Posted Nov 30, 2015
We very much enjoyed our stay at Wanosato. The property is beautiful, and the staff was very attentive and accommodating. The onsen was nice and our room had a great view of the river. Dinner was also great, even by high ryokan standards. Would happily recommend to other travellers!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Great trip!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Wonderful people run this place! Traditional japanese inn experience. wanosato means home of the heart and we really felt at home!! Food great and baths clean. Setting dramatic over a creek. Lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Authentic, peaceful charm

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Nearby Takayama has old streets, shop houses offering mainly food or tourist items, some interesting galleries, a samurai house museum and shrines
Staff were wonderfully friendly, interested and helpful. The setting is peaceful and beautiful but you need their shuttle-bus to get to town and walking trails. The food was fantastic. Everything showed personal attention to detail and care about maintaining the heritage atmosphere. It was all that I had hoped to experience in Japan. We stayed in the old main building and had meals in several different rooms with subtly different ambience. One other couple were in the same large space at dinner with our areas separated by screens to preserve privacy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brussel

Unieke Japanese ervaring

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: De authenticiteit van begin tot het einde. geen frutsjes, maar alles teruggebracht tot de essentie.
Cons: Meer busjes per dag tussen Takayama, en de ryokan zou nuttig zijn.
Location: Takayama is 20 minuten rijden met de wagen. Er zijn slechts enkele busjes per dag.
Met onze familie hebben we enorm genoten van ons verblijf in dit hotel. De onsen, de kamer, de vriendelijke ontvangst, de verzorgde maaltijden met soms echte kunstwerkjes, en dat alles in een uniek kader. het was een terugkeer in de tijd. Pure kalmte en rust. Prachtige ervaring.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

The most relaxing place we have stayed

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Wanosato is probably the romantic Japan everyone in the west is looking for. Takayama also exceeded our expectations as a place to visit whilst staying at Wanosato with a lot to entertain our children.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful ryokan experience

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff great location setting and food outstanding. Fantastic ryokan experience
Location: Shirakawa-go World heritage village was also worth a visit
Food outstanding, very comfortable ryokan and setting was peaceful besides river in beautiful gardens forest
5 out of 5
by Stevo from Manchester, UK

An authentic taste of traditional Japan

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Peace and quiet and dignified ''vibe'' of the setting.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Just stayed within the area of the ryokan, so cannot comment.
Just stayed for 1 night. Beautiful room set in woods by a waterwheel. Kaiseki evening banquet was a spectacular experience as was the breakfast. Hotel greets you at Takayama station and returns you at your convenience. Although expensive it was well worth it to escape the Tokyo metropolis and experience a traditional ryokan.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful country inn

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: Beautiful site and facilities. The food is delicious and exquisite and the staff are so accommodating.
Location: Relax, there's not much by the inn itself, but your in the countryside, enjoy it.
Great staff and service and the meals were excellent. It is somewhat of a hike from town centre but they will pick you up if you arrange it, otherwise $41 taxi ride from town. Beautiful facilities and very relaxing. Truly a gem.
4 out of 5
by C

Historical Ryokan Unique Experience

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Food is amazing! View from our room was breathtaking.
Location: Beautiful location next to a rushing stream and woods.
The absolute best part of Wanosato is the wonderful food and service. The meals were excellently prepared, beautiful to look at and absolutely delicious. The fabulous Japanese kaiseki meals were amazing. The staff are kind and very dedicated to quality service. The room itself, while totally charming with a beautiful view of woods and stream, was a bit of a challenge for us Westeners. Sitting on the floor with pillows and sleeping on the floor on a futon mat can be tiring if you are not used to it.