Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey, UK

Good hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Good hotel with great pools and new comfortable sun loungers. Restaurant food and breakfast is good. Very helpful and friendly staff. Quiet location with great sea views. You do need a car or scooter to visit other places or take a taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by New, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to review Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is valuable and we sincerely appreciate it. The entire team and I are very happy with your excellent review of the resort and are overjoyed to read your comments regarding the good quality food, friendly staff and great views. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warmest Regards, New, Rutjiret Ananphong, Resort Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Nice hotel in the middle of no where

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Nice facilities but in the middle of nowhere. If you want to do nothing and relax come here. If you want to have some fun look elsewhere.
Cons: Improved communication between night and day staff.
Location: Its on the beach but in the middle of nowhere. Great to relax but if you like to have a bit of fun look elsewhere.
I booked 3 nights to attend a friends wedding. We arranged transfers with the hotel. When we arrived the taxi was not there. I tried to call the hotel but there was no answer. About 20 minutes later our taxi arrived. What followed was a 1 hour plus taxi ride to the hotel. I spoke to the taxi driver and found out that the location of the wedding was near the airport. At check in I spoke to the girl and explained that the hotel was too far from the wedding location (Totally my fault) and that we would change hotels the next day. I said I did not want a refund. She was very nice and said that she would include breakfast the following morning which we thanked her for. The next morning we sat down to have breakfast and were told by staff that we were not entitled to breakfast and asked to leave. Quite embarrassing. This place is in the middle of no where, we went to have a drink after check in and it cost 800 bhat return for a taxi, very expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by New, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to review Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is valuable and we sincerely appreciate it. The entire team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed the facilities and found the resort a great place to relax. The hotel offers a shuttle service to Lamai and Chaweng, which comparatively is much cheaper than any taxi service. We would like to sincerely apologise for the confusion caused during breakfast, we have made our staff aware of the situation and will improve the communication between night and day staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warmest Regards, New Rutjiret Ananphong Resort Manager Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui
1 out of 5
by Stina

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Service is terrible - we are on our honeymoon and this was our first destination, they cancelled our transfer to the hotel despite us calling them the very same morning during our layover in Bangkok to confirm our booked transfer. The staff could barely speak nor understand English, they didn't know how to make international calls to reach us on our mobiles and it took them forever to sort the mess about the transfer out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Coconut review

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Hotel was good for a quick stay. Breakfast was pretty good. The hotel just isn't by anything, so if you only want a hotel without any options of restaurants or shopping near by then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Koh Samui

Super place

Posted May 29, 2017
Really enjoyed stay.Looking forward to next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tin Can Bay, Qld, Australia

Second, and last time at this one.

Posted May 28, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The 100 metre lap pool, although I clean our pool better.
Cons: Management and staff training. Koh Samui have a renown Hospitality College and I doubt any staff have graduated from there. This was a poor experienc
Location: The location out of the way and the hotel shuttle services are poor.
We stayed 2 years ago and enjoyed our stay so decided we would come back but we were very disappointed this time so it will be our last. Poor management and staff with very little English understanding. Firstly our booked shuttle from the airport did not turn up causing us delays while we contacted the hotel and then made personal arrangements. Another transport debacle when the daily shuttle into Chewang was changed to an hour earlier causing us to miss it (we had booked the previous night and I took a photo of the timetable then to be sure). The manager was most unsympathetic but after lots of shouting he arranged a driver. The breakfast experience had deteriorated and they tried to charge us on the first day when it was included in our stay. The TV picture quality was very poor and to have old TV's like you have in this day and age is very poor. Towels were threadbare and stained and one of the beach towels had a hole in it. In all we are sorry we returned.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Miles from nowhere

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: We set out for a quiet relaxing week and it was what we achieved. Pools were clean and the beach pool well looked after by staff from the bar
Cons: Housekeeping standards TV availability- dreadful selection of English speaking product The breakfast buffet was repetitive and ordinary
Location: There is NIL local interaction. the property is at the end of a 500m gravel track with the nearest shops a half hour paid drive away.
Didn't start well with no arrival transfer waiting, the hotel lost the correspondence, however after we caught a cab and arrived, we were greeted courteously and eventually shown to our room. Facilities were very basic but comfortable. Amenities were essentially non existent, only a bulk soap dispenser on the shower wall. A small mat of hair covered the shower grate and remained there for the duration of our stay. The hotel professes a green policy and will reuse towels and bedding if advised. The reality is that we almost had to demand a change of bedding as our housekeepers trolley didn't have it onboard as a standard item. The toilet suffered blockages and the noisy air conditioner leaked water onto the floor. The only English news on the inhouse TV, BBC, presented a frozen face to us for the entire stay and the attached DVD player was unusable and remained so for our stay despite being reported to the front desk. Remote units both had flat batteries That said, the property had a lovely ambience , great pools and sufficient recliners, beach chairs etc to allow a restful break. Standard of food was generally good and the serving staff were helpful and enthusiastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bangkok

Nice hotel close to the beach and good food

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The food , the horizon, the breeze, and the beach
Cons: The front pool and feed the dogs
Location: I myname Mia mcroseboth
It was good but room service was poor and the pool was dirty
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Perfect stay on Koh Samui

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Everyone was kind to us, especially the bike guard! Can not recommend enough! See you soon!