Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One complaint

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Clean
Cons: Ice machine
Location: Convenient place to stay
No ice machine in the whole place. You need to fill up ice trays and wait til they freeze to get ice. It would be nice for your customers if ice, at least one bucket on your first day, was available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that you liked our well-kept property and convenient location. We receive many positive comments regarding our fully equipped kitchens with full size refrigerator which includes ice trays for your convenience. Therefore we do not have ice machines on our property, and we apologize for your disappointment. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

No Frills Room

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Rooms were clean. Front desk staff was friendly.
Cons: The hotel was out of shampoo, and they don't offer conditioner. This is not something you want to find out at 9pm.
Location: We were there visiting Florida State, and found some great restaurants on trip advisor!
The hotel was out of shampoo and and does not provide conditioner. There is no ice machine. Had to make several trips to the front desk to get plates, glasses, silverware, dish soap, dishtowels, etc. Hotel room was clean. Sink drain was broken and water would not drain. Breakfast consisted of prepackaged muffins, granola bars, and instant oatmeal. Coffee pot in the room was considered a "premium" item - not sure if you had to pay extra or if the coffee was included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Erika, first and foremost, I would like to offer you my apologies for the inconveniences you encountered due to the lack of in-room amenities. Your feedback will be shared with our management team in an effort to improve our service and facilities going forward. As we have full size refrigerators in all the rooms which include ice trays, we do not have ice machines on our property, and we are sorry for your disappointment. I encourage you to try us again in the near future. I am confident you will enjoy a better stay. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Very clean

Posted Apr 2, 2017
We had a late check-in, close to midnight. Check in was quick and easy. Room was very clean. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Debbie, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest at Extended Stay America - Tallahassee – Killearn. We are glad to read you liked your room and the outstanding service provided by our staff. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Great location

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Great location. I used to live here so I knew it was a safe and convenient spot. Very close to good restaurants like Bonefish and Outback, and within a mile of I-10, Capital Circle and Thomasville Rd. which will get you anywhere you need to go in the city. Not a 5 star hotel but fine for a night or 2. Nice to have a full size kitchen and refrigerator. I've been in other hotels in the area and this was the best for the price. Staff was excellent and rooms were clean and recently renovated. I'm in Tallahassee every 2 weeks on business and I will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Alicia, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Extended Stay America - Tallahassee - Killearn. We are pleased to read you liked every aspect of our hotel and that you were especially impressed with our clean facilities, helpful staff as well as our convenient location. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
I arrived very late at night into the next morning and they were right there with my reservation and made it very easy to check in and get to my room for some much needed rest!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America - Tallahassee – Killearn. We are so glad you were happy with our service and you rested well. We look forward to sharing your positive feedback with our team. Please visit with us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very pleasant place to stay

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Conveniently located. Spacious & clean. Staff was friendly & helpful.
Cons: Dishes and coffeepot already in room instead of having to request them upon check-in.
Location: Shopping, restaurants.
Hotel was conveniently located. Room was spacious & clean. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room and how friendly our staff was; however, it is disappointing to read that you were inconvenienced by a cookware policy. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york state

nice hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: clean, comfortable and pet friendly
Cons: halls are dingy and have an odor
Went to visit my son at FSU, its minutes from this hotel. The room was very spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Plus they are pet friendly! Not always easy to find a hotel, that's nice, that will take a dog. The rooms were freshly painted and very comfortable. The only reason I gave it four stars is that the hallways are dingy and depressing. It doesn't give you a good impression. Since the rooms were redone, you would think they would have done the halls too. More important, I would still recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us. It is good to know our pet-friendly policy was beneficial for you and that you would recommend our hotel. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Gabriel

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
my stay excideded all expectations
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am pleased to read that your expectations were exceeded during your stay at our hotel. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Good. Not bad for the money. The bed was not that great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is good to know you valued your stay, but I'm disappointed to read your bed was not the best, which will be rectified promptly. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok place for a single night

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Arrived late at night and had to wait 30 minutes because my invite "wasnt on the system". Room was okay, wifi was slow, breakfast - wouldnt call it a breakfast. More like - granola bar and coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay. At Extended Stay Hotels we strive to provide our guests with superior comfort as well as exceptional guest service. Your scores show we did not accomplish that task and I do apologize. I am so sorry you had to wait to check in. Whether you stay for one night or many, we have to wait for the paperwork from the online travel site that booked your reservation before we can check you in. Your financial relationship is with them, we do not want to overcharge or double charge for your room. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us in the future and allow us to provide you with a better stay.