Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, FL

Early morning interruptions, sparse breakfast choi

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Security, procedures
Location: Close to FSU & clpose to my condo which is rented to students.
I was awakened not once, but twice by front desk (2:30am, 3:15am) regarding unruly guest in the room next to mine. Staff also asked me to open front door when unidentified persons were banging on it. I did not appreciate the calls nor request to open door. Breakfast beverages were coffee only (no juice, no milk), bagels and waffles (no fruit, no eggs, no protein).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sep 18, 2017
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Howard Johnson's in TaLlahassee very much. It helped us be comfortable accomplishing getting ourselves set to move to a new town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa area, Florida

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: the outside of the buildings looked very run down. There were two rectangular buildings across from one another. The lobby was very small and outdated
Location: The location was right off of Interstate 10. It was convenient to get to late at night.
The property is pretty run down. There was trash and junk thrown behind the stairs we had to climb to the second floor. The carpet looked very worn and looked quite dirty. I kept my socks on when I walked around.The one bright spot was the king size bed was comfortable and we were very tired. We slept well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Bed seemed ok.
Cons: Decor, furnishings, plumbing, pretty much everything, really.
Price is the attraction here. Really cheap, but not much more to recommend it. A little run down and in need of refurbishment. We didn't get any breakfast as they didn't tell us it stopped at 0900, and after a long day's drive we weren't up with the larks that next day. Still, if all you need is a bed for the night, this will suffice, but little more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Front desk manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We here at the howard johnson do apologize for your less then perfect stay with us, We are in the process of doing some upgrades to our facility. We do apologize that you did not make it to our breakfast before it closed, We do have the sighn stating our breakfast hours at the front desk, But we do apologize that our front desk staff did not adress those times with you during your check in. I will personally bring your concerns to my front desk staff so this does not happen again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach, FL

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Staff was great but hotel is run down. Rooms have been some what remodeled and sheets are clean but carpet is dirty. Price was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Front desk manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are vry pleased to har that our staff were very friendly and helpful during your stay with us. We do apologize for the carpet, we are in the process of removing carpet from our rooms, we do hope ou stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl

Excellent

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Today was very comfortable.breakfas was awesome.the staff was very professional. The location is excellent. Will define tilt stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I have stayed a Howard Johnson numerous times. It is a solid 3 star hotel. You get what you pay for. I really have no complains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Convenient location, good staff

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Older hotel, but the rooms were clean and staff were friendly. Miranda in housekeeping was very friendly and did a great job. The breakfast is not that good... I skipped it most days. Affordable and good location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton

Bad experience

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Wet carpet at room, 2 towels for 4 people, ripped towels, dirty stairs, main door dirty
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

Poor choice

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Good news: The bed was comfortable. Bad news: the place is rundown. The shower head was stuck on presure wash mode. Parking was tight. I travel often, the breakfast was without a doubt the worst that I have ever seen. Do yourself a favor FIND ANOTHER PLACE!!!