Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Lovely hotel, excellent location.

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel, which suited us perfectly.
Cons: Can't think of anything that could be improved. Some guests might like tea/ coffee-making facilities in rooms perhaps but that didn't apply to us.
Location: Really close to the Toompea, churches and other places of historical and cultural interest. Many reasonably- priced excellent restaurants nearby.
Refurbished tastefully whilst retaining its character, this lovely old hotel is bordered by a section of the medieval City Walls to its rear, alongside a peaceful park with stunning trees everywhere. The Toompea (Castle Hill) or Upper Town, with its spectacular views over this historic city, is across the road. There are steps that zigzag up from the park to the top or a not-too-steep slope, accessed through an ancient arch, as you take the short walk to the Old Town Hall Square, which is just a few minutes away. Our good-sized rooms were close to the lift; the beds were really comfortable with a layer of memory foam on top of the mattress and plump pillows. The rooms overlooked a narrow cobbled street and were quiet at night. The showers pressure was strong and the water soft. The air in Tallinn is so clean; I noticed the difference straight away. The hotel has underfloor heating so it's always warm and the excellent buffet-style breakfast was served in spacious, airy rooms. The efficient young waitress quietly got on with clearing the tables and making sure there was a steady supply of fresh bread from the excellent bakery across the road. All the staff were really helpful and spoke fluent English, along with at least three other languages like so many other Estonians in this beautiful city. The abundant museums, churches and open-air markets are all within easy walking distance in the pedestrianised Old Town. We found some excellent restaurants near the Town Hall Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

lovely hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Lovely hotel within easy walking distance to all old town Tallinn has to offer. Great eateries nearby and cosy bakery/ cafe opposite. Would sray here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great atmospheric hotel in the heart of old Tallin

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Great location and value for money.Friendly staff and good night's sleep away from th noisier parts of the old town.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Ideal for exploring the old town and handy for the railway station and ferry terminal
Couldn't fault it on any count.When the taxi turned up to take us to be the bus station and the driver's key fob wouldn't open up the car the hotel summoned up a replacement cab within minutes and we made our connection comfrotably.A great night's sleep and a fine breakfast contributed to a marvellous stay in Tallin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in the heart of Tallinn

Posted May 29, 2017
My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights in a double room with single beds in May 2017. I would highly recommend the Hotel Imperial. it's location is perfect, the staff are very helpful, rooms are clean with everything you need, except maybe Tea/coffee facilities but that's not usual in European hotels. The breakfasts are great, plenty to choose from both hot and cold. The staff even printed our boarding passes out for us and brought us cups of tea in the evening, couldn't have asked for more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Good breakfast

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Nice room Shower a bit small Very good location close to the main square but very quiet also
5 out of 5
by catherine

Perfect small historical hotel!

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Tallin is fantastic! It is a preserved medieval city with most of the buildings and walls intact. The hotel Imperial is built into the walls. The staircase to the rooms is an old wall tower! The city is small and can be walked across in 10 minutes. It is quiet and safe. I loved Tallinn and the hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire England

In old town

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Lovely hotel with excellent staff As a retired couple we had to out for a cup of coffee and meals as Restaurants closed for refund should have been warned and given the chance to cancel or a refund as tempature down to minus 8 no thought for guests
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hemel hempstead england

Great location

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bar required
Location: Five minute walk to xma market 10 minute walk to castle
The hotel us ideally situated however, it is under going a refurb so there is no bar or restaurant at this moment in time. We did book it thinking we good drink and eat their in the evening if we wanted too. Not aware when this refurb will be complete.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for visiting Tallinn

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Perfectly situated hotel with all the amenities you could wish for. One minus away from Old Town attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely, well maintained and decorated hotel in a fantastic location, just a few minutes walk from the main square. Staff were very polite and helpful with all of our requests (booking a taxi to the airport, using safety deposit box etc). Breakfast tasty, hot and plentiful - bread, cheeses, salami, hams, yogurt, buttermilk, sausages, potatoes, bacon, porridge etc Our only minor gripes about the rooms (and this would definitely not stop us from staying here again) was that they are not very sound proof so at 6am we could hear the man next door having a loud conversation on the phone) and also the en suite bathroom smelled every so slightly of drains at certain points in the day, but we were just careful to keep the bathroom door shut so it did not filter into the sleeping area.