Ratings based on 1,186 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Basic hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Ok and breakfast not bad but basic , staff pleasant maintenance guy surly not very helpful but good price. My door was a pain to close but room was warm and good shower
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Swansea, UK

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff; a plentiful breakfast
Location: Right on old town - very convenient
A grand old rambling place with rooms on various levels and opening out into a courtyard; the location was very convenient for all the town's attractions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are way nicer hotels in the old city

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Strip clubs, which is located right next to the hotel, visitors and staff are smoking and are being very loud right at the hotel entrance. When we stayed every room didn't have a pleasant smell to it - poop smell everywhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, in a great spot in the Old Town

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Really nice hotel, in a great location in the Old Town. Friendly and helpful staff. Simple but tasty breakfast. Only one complaint was that the taxi booked by the hotel to return to the airport charged almost €15, instead of the €10 it cost from the airport to the hotel. Not a criticism of the hotel, this is just to make them aware that this driver was clearly over charging. Overall a very positive experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An underground cellar!

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was terrible. The room I was given was an underground cellar without a window . I had to beg for a room with a window, eventually and with reluctance was given a tiny room with no space to walk round the bed and a wall directly outside the window.On arrival I asked for a kettle, was told I couldn't have one but I could have hot water any time. At 20:15 I went down to reception to ask for hot water, the smiling lady explained that she didn't have the key to the cupboard with the kettle! The rooms were freezing cold! Following morning at reception 2 men pushed a heavy laundry trolley over my foot. No one apologised. Later I was given a bar of chocolate!!! I was disgusted by all the receptionists attitude and am not able to recommend it. However, the inside of the building is very unusual and worth a look
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Handy for the old town.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Quaintness
Location: In old town, plenty to see on the doorstep
Good situation, handy for getting into old part. Used by revellers of weekend so be aware of noise
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

We loved the St Olav, excellent location. We were

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Everything is nearby. We didn't leave the old town :)
excellent location. We were Able to walk to see all the sights in Old Town very easerly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

An unpleasant night's stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Having spent one night at this hotel with my girlfriend and initially being impressed by the quality of the room, we were shortly disappointed over the course of the night. With a nightclub situated underneath the hotel and being placed in a room on the ground floor we would have expected more sound proofing. This was far from the case, in fact we had to request a new room at 1am because the noise was so bad. While this request was dealt with, I had to call on 3 separate occasions as the receptionist unexpectedly hung up each time.We were only told that the nightclub would close at 5am on making this call and in no way were we fore warned when booking the hotel or when being greeted. The room certainly had some plus points, it was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well equipped. Nonetheless our sleepless night vastly overweighed these positives.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

City Center

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: location, price, nice bathroom
Cons: warm mini-fridge, older mattress
Older hotel in the city center. Would stay here again but probably only for shorter trips. Very quiet mixed with thin walls meant that we could easily hear our neighbors. Fair price for the accommodations and great location.