Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville Beach, Florida

Never checked in. Will never return!

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Worst hotel check in experience ever encountered. Waited 25 minutes to check in only for the front desk to provide us information about a party that was being hosted at the hotel, we wouldn't be interested in the party (assuming because we are a lesbian couple) and then claimed we don't have a reservation. We felt uncomfortable, unsafe, and left.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Woman sleeping in our bed, lack of security

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We arrived 11 pm, our room was assigned and we received the room keys. We opened the room door, turned the lights on and... surprise!! There was a woman sleeping in out bed!! It took an hour for someone to fix the problem!! The guard was the only person in charge of the room keys, with no phone number to call in case of emergency. Finally, we got another room at midnight, after a former manager took care of the situation... Lack of security. Terrible management. We'll never come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Great experience for the young at heart on Friday night. Fantastic pizza.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The room where I stay have an amazing ocean view, all the staff was amazing, the Costa Rican cultural breakfast is amazing, I really enjoy my short stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location within a short walking to everything

Posted Sep 2, 2017
The room I had initially was great. It was open, clean and bright with a large patio and nice view. It had two queen beds, although not very confortable beds. I had to switch rooms because I had to extend my stay, and my second room with one queen bed was extremely small and dark. View was nice but wouldn't want that small of a room again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Playa Jaco, costa Rica

The Room With The Creaking Bed

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Proximity to town.
Cons: Put customers in rooms meant to be rented rooms instead of a converted tool shop. And for Pete's Sake, buy a real bed with a box spring.
Location: Shopping
My husband has been a Best Western Gold Crown Club Member for nearly 20 years, and he agrees with me that the Best Western Hotel in Tamarindo Costa Rica is the absolute worst Best Western we have ever stayed in. The bed in the room was a mattress laid across some boards with no box spring. Every time my husband or I moved throughout the night those boards would crack & creak very loudly and wake us both up. The room itself was just slightly larger than the bed, so we banged our knees on the bed frame every time we attempted to walk around it. I think the room we stayed in was an afterthought and had previously been a tool shop or storage room. This was the absolute worst room we have ever spent the night in, and will NEVER stay in the hotel again. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED ! ! ! ! !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Close to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel was affordable! You get a lot for your money my husband and I stayed here for a week this past week in August and it was amazing we have absoulety no complaints! I would defitnlety recommend this hotel you won't regret it!
4 out of 5
by laura

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
my stay was great ! the staff was very friendly and helpful. the room was comfortable and large enough. the pool area was excellent. breakfast was perfect. i was disappointed in hotels.com for not making it known to me that there was a large party at the best western tamarindo on aug 11. this is an annual event that is well known. i might have considered another place. upon check in i was not told about this party. my room was next to pool area where the party, with live DJ, was held. the manager was very accomodating and changed our room as we had an early departure the next morning. i would definitely stay again, but make sure of all events. hotels.com should have told me !
5 out of 5
by Kirsten

Vista Villas

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Vista Villas is a great place to stay in Tamarindo. Close to the beach and town so you can walk everywhere and the views are amazing. Very friendly staff. Don't have a bad thing to say!!