Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

A quiet personal paradise

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Everything, especially the happy hour in the heat of the day, and the quiet evenings with the pool to ourselves. Wonderful, personalized service!
Cons: Nothing, It's perfect!
Location: Tamarindo is the local tourist haunt, offering everything under the sun. Playa Grande is a peaceful and welcoming local community. It's all here!
A little bit off the beaten path to this safe, friendly and rather lavish sanctuary. This small hotel was exactly what my wife and I were looking for when we booked our delayed honeymoon here this February. Depending on what a person is looking for this is the perfect getaway, easy access to the larger town of Tamarindo via panga boat taxi service, and easy access to the small town of Playa Grande for more of a locals experience. The restaurant was wonderful, the menu offered a great variety of cuisine from fresh seafood and steaks, to a weekly Mexican food buffet, food and drink here is quite affordable, a lovely full breakfast was complimentary with the room rental. The hotel staff maintained everything well, the pool is cleaned daily, house keeping was very respectful of privacy and even laundered our clothes without charge. My wife and I will most certainly be coming back ASAP.
5 out of 5
by Carol

This place is a hidden paradise.

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are simple but clean Staff is friendly and helpful Food is amazingly delicious. Great value. Location is on an estuary and the beach has hardly any people on it. This is a hidden secret. I will go back again and again. Just a short 15 min boat takes you across to the more populated town with shops and dining. If you are looking for realizing solitude, great drinks and food stay here. Great value
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Oro Valley. AZ USA

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
This charming boutique hotel in Playa Grande is well worth the drive. The rooms are set up hacienda style around a central courtyard with a pool. There is also an open air dining room and fully stocked bar, which seems to be the place to go for happy hour. All of the staff we interacted with are well spoken and friendly. Everyone is happy to assist you with tours, information and directions. I will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego CA

serene

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Fantastic, will be back. Tranquil, serene, staff goes beyond service and friendly
3 out of 5
by Pierre-Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Stephane

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
If you like being woken at 6.30am by the music of the restaurant ... this is the place for you !!!
4 out of 5
by Brent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

I felt like home. I was very relax

Posted Jul 7, 2015
I could take a boat to go Tamarindo beach, just in front of the hotel. At night was totally quiet. I will go back!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh. Wouldn't stay there again.

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
We were disappointed with our stay at Bula Bula. It's hard to get to, and not much there when you get there. Our room was on the small side. The air conditioner was unable to keep up with the heat, the toilet ran, and there was inadequate water pressure in the shower. The plumbing fixtures in the shower were mis-matched (they had different handles), and the bathroom was small. My pillow smelled, and the bed was very uncomfortable. On the other hand, the hotel service was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful staff, and we enjoyed hanging around the pool. The complimentary breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Winter Garden, FL

My stay at Bula Bula.

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Bula Bula is a bit out of the way in Playa Grande--about 20 kilometers from downtown Tamarindo by road, but about 3 kilometers by boat that runs between Playa Grande and Tamarindo from 9:00a.m.-4:00pm. I stayed four nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It is in a high end neighborhood with easy access to a great beach. The staff is efficient, friendly, and very professional. I also met the owners, Todd and Wally, and immediately understood why their staff was so great. They are "hands on" managers who ensure that customer concerns are handled in a timely manner. I will definitely stay there again when I need accommodations in the Tamarindo area.