Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Robbed us of our money!

Posted May 16, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel does not have concern for customers. Due to pregnancy I could not stay at this hotel, they took our money from us, provided no refund or resolution. The manager was rude to say the least. The hotel is not as described. Overall Tamarindo has plenty of accommodating options with much friendlier staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Cedric, Hotel Management
Dear client, Thanks for taking the time of a review though you did not come, we did not meet nor never talked... We do have a strict cancellation policy. That is certainly NOT robbing. I regret that the choice YOU made of not coming lead you to think you had the right of such heavy and untrue accusations. You cancelled and got charged according to the explicit Expedia's policy . There is NO need to bring your anger at us. Sincerely, Cedric
4 out of 5
by Shane

Great little place!

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful owners. Comfy and secluded but still close to town.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

An oasis of quiet in busy Tamarindo

Posted May 5, 2017 on CheapTickets
I stayed for a week at the Mahayana and very much enjoyed it. Nestled in away from the party atmosphere of Tamarindo, it's a great escape from the hustle and bustle while only being a 5 minute walk from it all. The small pool is ideal for a dip to cool off or visit with friends, and the kitchen is perfect for saving money on restaurants (the Super 2001 supermarket is ~300 meters away!). A comfortable, safe, chill place to stay. I recommend it!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great hotel with wonderful staff.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Our hosts (Cedric and Charlotte). Ability to meet your neighbors. Quaint.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Restaurants and beach very close. Private location. Rodeo, volcanoes, and river tour. Educational and fun
The town of Tamorindo has a vibe that is energizing. We rented a car and saw the volcano and had a nice nature walk. We also took a river tour and was quite a bit of wildlife.The beach is nice and the water temp was perfect.
4 out of 5
by Jordan

close to night life and cheap

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very outdated, but it did its job. For the price, I cannot complain.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j


Posted Mar 2, 2017
Hotel Mahayana saved us! They took us in last minute when our last hotel was completely unnaceptable. They made sure we had everything we needed and when something in our room didn't work they replaced it right away. They let us stay and kept our luggage safe past checkout the next day while we waited for our bus and helped us communicate and arrange our very stressful return to the city through bus. Overall completely lovely and extremely helpful staff, they really went above and beyond to make our stay better. I would reccomend hotel Mahayana to anyone.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Hotel close to beach, downtown and restaurants.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Cedric was very accommodating. The hotel was clean and had air conditioning! Very nice for the hot days. The amenities were good - comfortable bed, TV, fan and a good shower. The hotel was close to the beach, town and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Cynthia from Anaheim

Great stay in small and intimate hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
Karen, the hotel owner, is very sweet and accommodating. She warmly welcomed us and checked on us periodically to ensure our comfort. The room was spacious, clean and well-decorated.the hotel is close to the downtown area yet far enough to be quiet when you want it so. The small pool is clean and refreshing. Karen takes pride in caring for her small 6-room hotel and loves what she does. It shows as you move about the grounds.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Solid landing spot for a couple days

Posted Jul 19, 2015
5 minutes from Main Street and the beach means it is close to the so-called action, but far enough. Small hotel with about 8 units. Clean. The owner lives onsite and she is way cool. Communal kitchen, complimentary use of beach towels. 2nd time in Tamarindo and I would have no issue staying here again.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Jacksonville,Fl

up the road on the left

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Nice well run small hotel . A step up from hostels.every thing you need on a small scale.Good A/C ,good bed ,good water pressure and hot. Would recommend to solo or seasoned couples.