Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Tropical sanctuary

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The staff, the scenery and the location. It's an easy walk to the beach. The bar and restaurant were great. Two thumbs up for both.
Location: Near the beach and many restaurants. Lots of activities can b planned through the front office.
Hotel Pasatiempo is just off the beaten path in sunny Tamarindo. The lush tropical scene cannot be seen from the road. It's only when you get beyond the gates that you feel you've entered a sanctuary. Lush greenery surrounds! The rooms are cozy, clean and comfortable. The pool is smalL but inviting. Blue and crystal clear. We had a big storm which caused some problems but the staff was amazingly quick and gracious. They solved a wet and messy problem and did everything possible to make us comfortable. We were so grateful for their attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belize

nice place

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: grounds are beautiful and there is a creek behind the motel with beautiful plants and a sloth that is in area--we were lucky enough to see it---
Location: walking distance to downtown with many shops resturants and bars --front desk staff were great
hotel was great--grounds are beautiful and very well maintained--front desk staff are super--very courteous, helpful and knowledgeable about the area and tours available, will do all the booking-- close to downtown so it is easily in walking distance to shops many eating and drinking places
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Helene, Hotel Management
We are glad to know that you've enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your nice comment. Ps: Are you sure you have seen a sloth?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Clean, comfortable, quiet.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Hotel grounds built as a tropical jungle setting. Pool area very nice. Delicious breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Diecco, Hotel Management
Hola Bob!! Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy to know you appreciate our work. We look forward to welcoming you back, take care! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston, USA

Family trip with adult (20 something) children

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: calm jungle like setting around the rooms and pool.
Cons: Could have used a few more shelves or drawers to empty suit case for longer stays
Location: Beach, restaurants all right there in easy walking distance
Hotel Pasatiempo is an oasis in the surfer town of Tamarindo. After driving through the town to get to the hotel it was wonderful to see the calming complex of rooms, pool and open dinning area with bar. Checking in for three rooms was easy and fast, the rooms were simple, clean and comfortable. We added a refrigerator to one room which was there before we knew it.The bathrooms were excellent, no issues. The breakfasts were delicious. It is a short and lively walk to the beach and it was great to return to the calm of the hotel at the end of the days activities. Highly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Diecco, Hotel Management
Dear Joanne, Thank you very much for your great review. We feel very proud of giving the best service to our happy guests and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience. We look forward for your visit one more time. Regards, Pura vida!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted May 16, 2017
The hotel was about a 5 minute walk from the beach. Close to restaurants and shops. Very pretty pool area. Bar and restaurant had a cool atmosphere. Diego at the front desk was very nice and helpful with planning tours. Great drinks. Surf boards available to rent for 10 dollars a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice small hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 11, 2017
My wife and I stayed here for a week and had a great time. Breakfast is included, not a large selection, but it is made to order ,and includes fresh fruit, juices ,coffee, etc. The owner and the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The beach and many restaurants and bars are a short walk away. The pool is a little small, but was never crowded, and we were in it every day. They also have live entertainment a couple of nights a week. Very nice stay.
4 out of 5
by Anthony

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Good for hotel, the town itself isn't the greatest. Too Americanized
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheyenne

Best stay in Tamarindo

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Myself and 2 friends found this gem online, it's our first trip to Costa Rica and we really didn't know what to expect. Check in was easy, and the bar and pool area was beautiful! Our room even had 3 beds! It's walking distance from everything and a security guy at the door at all times. He even got us food at 4am. A lot of adventure tours you can book right on site as well. Highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Cozy hotel, convenient location

Posted Mar 9, 2017
We were very happy with our stay! Cute cabin like hotel rooms with patios that had hammocks and a bistro table and chairs. Beautiful scenery on the site. We got to see monkeys everyday in the trees just above the our rooms and the monkey la la restaurant. So many restaurants, cafes, shops and excursions walking distance to the hotel. Can't wait to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Love this hotel!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Cried when we walked in! It's in the town but once you enter the grounds it's like a whole new jungle world . The pool is beautiful and the little bar is so cute. You have your own little house and patio.