Ratings based on 1,072 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Hotel!!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the location to the beach and town. No need for a car
Cons: We had no issues with anything. The swim up bar by the adult pool was not open. That would have been nice but it did not affect our experience.
Location: For us the location was perfect. We could walk to everything we needed.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica in early July this year and we could not have been more pleased with our stay at the Diria! From the moment we arrived our experience was awesome. Check in was quick and easy Our room was perfect overlooking the pool on the other side of the street. Each night we met new friends in the bar and Luis the bartender took great care of us remembering what we liked to drink. In the morning there was a sweet older gentleman named Manuel that always greeted us with a smile and made sure we had everything we needed . We were so happy with this hotel that we are returning for two weeks this October. We have recommended the Diria to several of our friends who can't wait to plan their own trip there! Pure Vida! We'll see you in a few weeks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel on a beautiful beach

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The hotel is lovely, clean and right on the beach. The facility is close to everything and the town is very fun
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Tamarindo Diria Review

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: The people extremely nice
Cons: infer structure / plumbing, AC, Hot water & get some face clothes (wash Rags) vendors peddling merchandise on the streets & beach / could do with less
Location: Perfect location to get around town, restaurants, bars, shopping all close beach is beautiful
Place was on the beach with view, staff was very nice and helpful they do not have room service, and evidently do not know what a Wash Rag is we asked on 3 different occasions and didn't get one I know they have nicer units away from the beach but the one on the beach is a 3 star Average room, AC was not capable of cooling the room, plumbing was backing up in the shower & sink, Oder which we complained about and was resolved Place just needs a face lift and plumbing repaired
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whittier, ca

Need to improve check in

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Took forever to checkin. Waited over an hour and it was disorganized. Had to show doxumenrs foe.reach person in my room. Everything was packed and I had to unpack to withdraw the.documents.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Excellent location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Beautiful and excellent location. Nice staff and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looked nice by the outside but...

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Security and they it looked by the outside
Cons: Customer service, maintenance calls, work and relate better to travelers
check in - aggressive hostile first night, first room - leak from the roof, room was across maintenance/ construction area second night, second room - they moved us two rooms over, still in front of maintenance/ construction area first morning (Saturday) and third morning (Monday) woken up by tools and trucks from construction fourth night moved to other area - shower did not drain through the remainder of the trip Staff were not willing to help, it felt we were bothering them about when complaining about the incidents I wrote above. Very unhappy and dissatisfied with this hotel, I was celebrating 30 years of marriage, which they know about since I booked months before trip and felt that half my time was complaining and moving instead of enjoying the property and Costa Rica. Will not recommend this hotel to anybody, ever.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The only good thing was the beach access. Beach however wasn't nice either and the umbrellas & lounge chairs were for an additional charge.
Location: Not that much to do in the area except surfing rentals. I've been told there are much nicer beaches at Costa Rica with more reasonable prices.
This hotel is terrible. Staff was rude and not helpful at all. At the room some of the light fixtures didn't work, the floor was dirty and beds very uncomfortable. Prices were extremely high. There are three restaurants next to the resort with the same ridiculous prices.They definitely takes advantage of foreigners in this area. A local photographer told me " This is the most expensive beach and you're staying at the most expensive hotel"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Breathtaking ocean views, excellent hotel.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Pretty hard to improve on this. Perhaps more consistent cold/hot water in the shower.
Location: Location is prime, you're literally on the beach. Nearby activities include surfing, dining, shopping, you name it.
Our ocean view king room was everything we had hoped it would be. Absolutely phenomenal experience. The hotel staff was fantastic as well. Polite, helpful, trustworthy, really everything you could ask for. Our room had a fridge and coffee maker, which is a real convenience, and so much better than a mini-bar. The hotel's included breakfast is no joke either. Offered from 6am til 10am, it's quite the spread and delicious.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

AC Broken and Black Mold in Rooms

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location.
Cons: DO NOT STAY IN THE OLDER SECTION THAT FACES THE PACIFIC. The newer sections, on the other side of the street, are lovely.
Hotel is as gorgeous as the pictures. My family paid to be upgraded to a room on the Pacific Ocean. The view is breathtaking. Unfortunately, the hotel room was greatly lacking. When we arrived, we were told that our room was not available. We were placed in a newer area of the hotel which is across the street. The room was lovely, cool, and faced the pool. It was a less expensive room so the hotel comped our dinner. We were okay with the hiccup. I've worked in guest services, and I appreciate that life happens. The next day, we were moved to our room with an ocean view. It was warm when we walked in, but we were assured it would cool down. It did not, by 6:00 pm we contacted the front desk requesting maintenance. My family went to dinner while I waited for the repairman to arrive. By 8:30, we were informed that the AC was not working, and we were being moved to another room that did have AC. It did not. Plus, the room smelled so strongly of mildew that we had to open the windows so we could stand it. The next day, we discovered black mold covering the ceiling both inside and outside of our hotel room. I asked to speak to the manager. First, she refused to see me. This is the first time that I raised my voice. Fifteen minutes later, she offered to comp two nights of our stay and promised air conditioning that night. We were there four nights. They never got the AC working. An employee told us that it usually doesn't work during the rainy season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice big hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: pretty
Cons: The beds were really hard! Wifi could have been more consistent
Hotel is very pretty and has a good layout. You have wifi all around which is nice.