Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Over rated and underwhelmed

Posted Jan 19, 2018
The JW Marriott in Guanacaste was subpar at best. I have traveled many different JW Marriott‘s throughout the world and found this to be the least impressive that I stayed in so far. The staff servicing the pool area was generally very good and pleasant, however the front office staff and bellboys could you serious customer service training. The hotel is in a beautiful location however a bit dated as well. For the money spent at this hotel I would highly recommend the four seasons or something private as this was completely overpriced for the services received.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI, USA

Grasshoppers the size of Horses

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: staff is fantastic and friendly
Cons: Maybe another restaurant that doesn't require advanced reservations...casual food.
Location: Location is great...nicely remote.Take a walk down the beach for lunch at Lola's.
We enjoyed our stay...great sunsets, beach explorations and pretty good food. Really we could have done without the 6-8" grasshoppers that lived in the corridors. Not dangerous but just creepy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Good hotel. Upgraded me to a lovely ocean view room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Wonderful Hotel with stunning pool and beach. Service is slow however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great, immaculate well staffed hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 23, 2017
My family and I stayed here for 4 days and 5 nights in December. The building has traditional Spanish hacienda architecture with beautiful landscaping. The entire resort is spotlessly clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The food was fresh and good. For breakfast you can either order room service or go to the largest restaurant, Mansita which has a buffet or menu service. The choices for lunch are again Mansita, Azul, a restaurant by the beach or if you relaxing by the pool can have food and drinks delivered to your chair. Dinner has the most choices, again Mansita or the bar, Nau, which do not require reservations. Tamarine (Asian) or Sabanero (Argentine steak house) require reservations. There are several activities to choose from either at the resort or away, yoga, cooking classes, bikes, horseback riding or tours off campus like canopy zip lines, estuary boat rides, coffee plantation tours, etc. There were some water sports as well but we didn’t try those, the beach while beautiful has rough tide and volcanic rock, the hotel has a few chairs and canbanas to rent if you prefer that to the gigantic pool. The resort is about 1.5 hours from the Liberia Airport and 20 minutes from the small but very busy town of Tamarindo. Because we rented a car we drove into Tamarindo almost everyday as the resort is relaxing and quiet. Tamarindo has lovely small restaurants with very fresh, handmade food and some shopping. You can also get transfers into Tamarindo if you want
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Relaxing holiday

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Beautiful hotel in a great location. Restaurants for lunch and dinner were good but not great. Breakfast however was very good. Pool was very nice and all the employees wore a smile. If you get a good deal go for it, rooms with an ocean front view are just that, it's a great view . The pool view rooms or partial ocean view rooms are also very nice. We would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but...

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Everything was very nice but we didn’t like the fact that it was far from Tamarindo, the nearest town. Food and drinks in the hotel were overpriced. The beach was not the best (too many rocks).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Villa, Illinois

Luxury.

Posted Dec 11, 2017
We booked to JW Marriott last minute. So glad we were able to get in, even with a garden view suite. Highly recommend hotel and to relax at the pool or explore the tide pools at low tide. Side trips to Taramindo (Bamboo Sushi) and Playa Flamingo (Loco Coco) rounded out our visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Beautiful place, nice staff. The food wasn’t that good. Too many bats at night and huge grasshoppers all day and Bed bugs made my stay a nightmare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Went for a wedding. Nice room. We didn’t have time to do all the things the hotel offered.