Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from quebec

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: location and atmosphere
Cons: road access
Location: right by a magnificent surf beach. Plenty of tours but you have to ask about them
a lovely stay at a superb hotel by a surf beach. Catering and room service excellent. Cleanliness throughout was first class Staff helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford, Uk

Great place to return to after a day out

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Very good food in bar-restaurant, excellent staff, attractive grounds, easy going atmosphere
Cons: Room refresh / update
Location: Very close to beach, locale is simple and undeveloped (a good thing!), fascinating guided canoe trips on nearby river, surfing, beach strolling
Great little pools and well kept gardens to enjoy. Exceptionally good bar serving good food, friendly and helpful staff, very close to the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Friendly Beach Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Greeted by a friendly smile and the whole stay provided a warm, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Nubia is prompt, professional and friendly to assist you. Very nice! Hotel is clean and way above quality atandards for the price. Small lap pool along with splash pool. Restaurant serves xlnt tasty meals plus there is happy hour. Tonci and others make you feel at home. Relax and enjoy!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

comfortable and great food

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I would definitely stay there again. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Christian

Perfect for recharging.

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect retreat on the beach for a couple of days. Great surf 100 yards from the hotel. it would be great if the hotel would add a couple of bicycles for guests use. Really enjoyed the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Troy

Good for surfers and the family!

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
RipJack is a surfter's hotel. No question. That said, we are no longer 20 something's on a grungy surf trip, we are now a family of 4 with a toddler and a 6 year old, and our standards for hotels have raised. RipJack is okay by me! Surfer's hotel, yes. Clean enough for my toddler...yes! Great pool for my 6 year old...yes! Safe for our family...yes! Good food in the restaurant..yes! Wifi...good enough. The beach...which is gorgeous, is just a 2 minute walk away. This is not a plush, all inclusive luxury resort, it's a get your feet sandy, eat breakfast barefoot, and appreciate Costa Rica for how amazing it is surfer's hotel. Take it all in!! I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SJO, CR

Really nice hotel and location!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Orbitz
The breakfast will be better if get served a little earlier, but awesome experience! Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We love RipJack!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
We love everything about Playa Grande, always so happy to arrive and sad to leave. The construction as RipJack this year was a little annoying in the earlier AM hours, but love it regardless!
4 out of 5
by Cheryl

Amazing beach

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Beach is a National Park, closes at 6pm. Pristine sand is a short easy walk from hotel. 2 lovely swimming pools. Get the deluxe room for a more quiet atmosphere . Budget rooms are under the Hotel Restraunt which is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel with welcoming staff

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We stayed in the standard room, which is small and cozy. No TV, but for me this was nice to stay disconnected from technology. All the other rooms do have TVs though. It was a nice quiet setting. The restaurant upstairs was the best part of the whole trip. The staff are awesome and friendly. It was my birthday and they surprised me with a candle in my cake and sang to me. I highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a quiet, relaxing stay.