Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Friendly Beach Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Greeted by a friendly smile and the whole stay provided a warm, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Nubia is prompt, professional and friendly to assist you. Very nice! Hotel is clean and way above quality atandards for the price. Small lap pool along with splash pool. Restaurant serves xlnt tasty meals plus there is happy hour. Tonci and others make you feel at home. Relax and enjoy!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

comfortable and great food

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I would definitely stay there again. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We love RipJack!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
We love everything about Playa Grande, always so happy to arrive and sad to leave. The construction as RipJack this year was a little annoying in the earlier AM hours, but love it regardless!
4 out of 5
by Cheryl

Amazing beach

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Beach is a National Park, closes at 6pm. Pristine sand is a short easy walk from hotel. 2 lovely swimming pools. Get the deluxe room for a more quiet atmosphere . Budget rooms are under the Hotel Restraunt which is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel with welcoming staff

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We stayed in the standard room, which is small and cozy. No TV, but for me this was nice to stay disconnected from technology. All the other rooms do have TVs though. It was a nice quiet setting. The restaurant upstairs was the best part of the whole trip. The staff are awesome and friendly. It was my birthday and they surprised me with a candle in my cake and sang to me. I highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a quiet, relaxing stay.
4 out of 5
by kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and charming

Posted Mar 3, 2017
The hotel was very comfortable with nice landscaping and hammocks, 2 pools, rentals such as beach chairs and body boards. The restaurant had excellent food. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We saw monkeys in the tree right outside our room. It was a short walk to the beach and the best surfing on the beach was located right there.
4 out of 5
by Bonnie

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely staff, facilities and location. No issues with the accomodation at all. We had a problem with swimming in the ocean when we got caught in a ripcurrent. It was very scary and we almost drowned, if not for a surfer coming out to rescue us. We spoke to the owner who was very sincere and attentive and listened to our suggestions to inform future guests by ... -signage or pamphlets about safety and strategies to handle this if it occurs -posting a sign near the entrance to the beach of the potential danger. There were signs further down the beach with an alert of the dangers of Ripcurrents.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cramped bathroom

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Very small bathroom Entering the bathroom difficult to get inside. Shower, sink and bathroom crammed in a small area of space. We were under the restaurant and kitchen so we could hear kitchen noises, pots or pans accidentally being dropped on the floor It was too loud with our bedroom under the kitchen. Wifi only by pool, restaurant and office area. We liked visiting Tamarindo so a $25-$30 cab into town one way gets expensive because it's another $25-$30 to get cab back to hotel after the day in Tamarindo - it gets expensive if you want to go to Tamarindo for shopping, beach restaurants, night life, etc. Multiple days $50-$60 round trip by cab each time unless you rent a car. There is no uber in Tamarindo area. Very nice restaurant but it can get expensive quickly as it's the only food & drink option at the hotel as a dinner is generally around $60-$75 USD for a couple having one drink each with their supper. No fridge or kitchenette in the standard rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Relaxing & secluded, if that's your thing

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: see above; also great day activities offered
Cons: Need first aid kit, wifi in all rooms & better security. A fellow RJ Inn guest told me they had 2 iphones, 1 ipad & goPro cam stolen from their room.
Location: no nearby stores, but that's good if you want to stay away from commercial tourist traps
Granola-ish hippie vibe, which is great if that's what you're going for. It was perfect for me and my son who wanted to be away from the touristy atmosphere and overwhelming materialism of nearby resorts. Room was basic with TV and fridge, no frills bathroom with just the basic body wash/shampoo/conditioner. Shower pressure horrible and knobs did not completely shut water off, but hey, only a minor annoyance. Wifi also did not extend to upstairs rooms, so we had to make calls/check email only in the lobby and pool area, where it is less private and more noisy. Plus, it's pretty hot and humid sitting outside! Also I cut my foot snorkeling in the reef and the staff did not have any first aid kits on-hand. There are no nearby stores to buy medicine and they told me I could go to the restaurant and wash my cut with some alcohol from the bar. Luckily I did scrounge up a band-aid from my bag, so I was able to wash my wound enough to prevent infection. Positives: great food, family-feel, staff were friendly and did try to help as much they could. I forgot my medications and Nulia helped me order a week's replacement from a nearby pharmacy. The cost was pretty hefty for the pills, but at least I didn't have to suffer any symptoms or medicine withdrawals. The pharmacy was also nice enough to deliver it. I was going to have a family member Fedex me my meds but it turns out the mail service in CR is unreliable and since it was medications, they would likely confiscate it anyway.