Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Friendly Beach Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Greeted by a friendly smile and the whole stay provided a warm, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Nubia is prompt, professional and friendly to assist you. Very nice! Hotel is clean and way above quality atandards for the price. Small lap pool along with splash pool. Restaurant serves xlnt tasty meals plus there is happy hour. Tonci and others make you feel at home. Relax and enjoy!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

comfortable and great food

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I would definitely stay there again. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Troy

Good for surfers and the family!

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
RipJack is a surfter's hotel. No question. That said, we are no longer 20 something's on a grungy surf trip, we are now a family of 4 with a toddler and a 6 year old, and our standards for hotels have raised. RipJack is okay by me! Surfer's hotel, yes. Clean enough for my toddler...yes! Great pool for my 6 year old...yes! Safe for our family...yes! Good food in the restaurant..yes! Wifi...good enough. The beach...which is gorgeous, is just a 2 minute walk away. This is not a plush, all inclusive luxury resort, it's a get your feet sandy, eat breakfast barefoot, and appreciate Costa Rica for how amazing it is surfer's hotel. Take it all in!! I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SJO, CR

Really nice hotel and location!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Orbitz
The breakfast will be better if get served a little earlier, but awesome experience! Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We love RipJack!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
We love everything about Playa Grande, always so happy to arrive and sad to leave. The construction as RipJack this year was a little annoying in the earlier AM hours, but love it regardless!
4 out of 5
by Cheryl

Amazing beach

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Beach is a National Park, closes at 6pm. Pristine sand is a short easy walk from hotel. 2 lovely swimming pools. Get the deluxe room for a more quiet atmosphere . Budget rooms are under the Hotel Restraunt which is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel with welcoming staff

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We stayed in the standard room, which is small and cozy. No TV, but for me this was nice to stay disconnected from technology. All the other rooms do have TVs though. It was a nice quiet setting. The restaurant upstairs was the best part of the whole trip. The staff are awesome and friendly. It was my birthday and they surprised me with a candle in my cake and sang to me. I highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a quiet, relaxing stay.
4 out of 5
by kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and charming

Posted Mar 3, 2017
The hotel was very comfortable with nice landscaping and hammocks, 2 pools, rentals such as beach chairs and body boards. The restaurant had excellent food. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We saw monkeys in the tree right outside our room. It was a short walk to the beach and the best surfing on the beach was located right there.
4 out of 5
by Bonnie

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely staff, facilities and location. No issues with the accomodation at all. We had a problem with swimming in the ocean when we got caught in a ripcurrent. It was very scary and we almost drowned, if not for a surfer coming out to rescue us. We spoke to the owner who was very sincere and attentive and listened to our suggestions to inform future guests by ... -signage or pamphlets about safety and strategies to handle this if it occurs -posting a sign near the entrance to the beach of the potential danger. There were signs further down the beach with an alert of the dangers of Ripcurrents.