Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, texas

Great hotel great experience

Posted Apr 20, 2017
I don't think I can say enough nice things about this place. The rooms are incredible and the staff are some of the nicest people you will meet. Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful. Definitely rent a atv while there and use it to get around. It's the only way to go. My only reason for not giving these guys a 5 star rating would be I though the food prices were a little high by 20% or so and no meat with breakfast. Other than that this place is one of a kind and I'll definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmel, IN

Private pool, private resort

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Private pool, bed
Cons: Hot water didn't work first day, but they came and fixed it
Location: Near a national park, beaches, reminded me of Sedona, but on a rugged beach coast
We stayed here 3 nights and really enjoyed our time. There are only 10 units and each has a own pool. We had the best bed at this hotel compared to the other 4 hotels we stayed at (very comfortable memory foam type). It also had a great shower! We had a separate living area and bedroom with full wall length windows that opened up to the pool. So it was great to be able to lounge between as you wished. Around 6 pm they recommended shutting the doors because of mosquitos and the bats that like to catch them. We found it very entertaining to watch this show each evening right outside. I was really surprised that there were not many mosquitos at all though. We did put some repellent on at night when we went to dinner (as everything is outside) but I only got about 10 bites total over two weeks in Costa Rica. To compare I had 57 bites over a week in St John last year. The dinner and breakfasts were great! Each night they created a new menu from whatever they had bought for the day. They always had a fish and a meat option. It was fun as it made you try things you may not ordinarily order. There are a number of restaurants around but you have to take a cab. A fun recommendation is to rent an ATV and tour the coast and discover all kinds of beaches. The beaches were mostly deserted except for the surfing beaches and contained many tide pools. The roads are mostly dirt there so it can be dusty so don't wear white.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Patty, We thank you for your feedback and the great review of our hotel. We are thrilled you had a great stay at Casa Chameleon Mal País. We appreciate your kind words about our comfy rooms and beds. I will definitely share with the team your review with the team and please let us know when you are coming back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A TRUE place to relax and disconnect.

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
The room is simply amazing. The views, the layout, the private pool, the surroundings, the sounds....everything was great. The staff at the hotel is 100% committed to helping you have a great time. The wifi was out in our room, which was a hidden relief. We were able to disconnect and relax. Each suite is separate and really makes you feel secluded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Everything about Casa Chameleon is incredible! The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the property is impeccable and the staff go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views, great for romantic getaway.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Views are amazing, staff is great exceeding in details, very informative, food is amazing although pricier than the rest of the area. Great for a romantic getaway. The cocktails are the best we've ever had--Andrea makes the best interesting drinks, "chicha del chef" etc. The rooms are cleaned spotless with small details of flowers, flower petals on bed, etc. The bed and view are spectacular. The patio with hammock, private pool, comfy couches--great for relaxing with partner including personal fountain. Can't wait to go back. Pura vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CAIF

Charming & Unique Hideaway

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, Friendly Staff, Food, Views, Private Plunge Pool
Cons: Nothing
Location: Surfing, hiking, fishing
The Hotel has 10 private villas, each very spacious and romantic. Our patio had a private plunge pool connected to a 6" deep pool area for lounge chairs "in the water". The villas are buried in dense vegetation giving the sense that you are in the jungle (which you are) on a hill providing panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean. Perhaps the greatest feature is the Food - they have a husband & wife team of fantastic chefs. All the food is organic and purchased daily. The meals are designed around the finest ingredients available that day. I especially loved the Chocolate French toast - made with chocolate bread covered with crispy coconut shavings dipped in fresh strawberries and maple syrup! This hotel was perfect for us but might not be perfect for someone looking for a large hotel setting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Overpriced, but pretty. Staff unimpressive

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The location of the hotel was hard to get to, construction on property, and inadequate parking space. Staff was unimpressive compared to the other 6 resorts we visited over the course of our trip. Tour they set up for a day trip to Tortuga Island (my most anticipated adventure) was not booked when we arrived at the check-in, after we drove 45 minutes to Montezuma. They had no reservations, and we're fully booked, so we were unable to see the island or snorkel in Costa Rica. Hotel staff was slightly apologetic, but did not offer to do anything to make up fot the inconvenience or accept responsibility for the mixup. We were really disappointed . Next day after requesting help with our luggage at 8:30 in order to be on time to our ferry transfer the morning of checkout, we had to go to the main office ourselves bc nobody showed up. This wouldn't have been a big deal, except that there were 75 steps up a steep incline from our villa to the parking lot. Room clean, doors were a pain to get open and closed. Nice pool, overall the rooms need some renovation. For $600+ per night, we felt ripped off. Lesson learned. Far from ocean front and barely ocean view, as advertised.
5 out of 5
by Matt from Welwyn Garden City

Best place in Costa Rica

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
One of, if not, the best hotel we have stayed in. The views over the Pacific Ocean are amazing. We stayed in both the villa Palma and villa sol. Both were great. The Palma had a smaller, colder plunge pool but a great big shower with a view out of the window. The sol had a great big bed, big bathroom and bigger pool with loungers. Both had hammocks and tables with great storage in the room. If I had to choose just one I would go for the sol because of the pool and slightly more west facing view for the sunset. We ate at the hotel the first night and also had breakfast the first morning. The food was lovely and the service from cesar and the two chefs was great. We actually ate in the room instead of the restaurant. For the other night and breakfasts we decided to try the local area. Santa Teresa has some lovely places for breakfast and dinner. You have to go to Katana (Asian/French food!), the bakery and Olam (organic breakfasts!). Although the the food was very very good at the restaurant we just couldn't eat there every night due to the price. The rooms are cleaned everyday and little touches like the flowers and animal shaped towels are cute. Casa Chameleon would be the first place we would recommend to friends if they were travelling to Costa Rica! We could have statues for 3 weeks of we had the time! Keep up the good work team Casa Chameleon :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gorgeous property in a butterfly paradise

Posted Sep 8, 2015
We loved our stay here. The villa we had (Vista) was amazing. Perfect view of the ocean, very comfortable. The plunge pool got amazing mid day sun. We only wish there were loungers but the hammock was perfect. There's another pool that you can relax at that has loungers and all day sun. Not busy at all. Restaurant and bar staff is excellent (Andrea), they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. A very special place.