Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Everything about Casa Chameleon is incredible! The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the property is impeccable and the staff go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing views, great for romantic getaway.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Views are amazing, staff is great exceeding in details, very informative, food is amazing although pricier than the rest of the area. Great for a romantic getaway. The cocktails are the best we've ever had--Andrea makes the best interesting drinks, "chicha del chef" etc. The rooms are cleaned spotless with small details of flowers, flower petals on bed, etc. The bed and view are spectacular. The patio with hammock, private pool, comfy couches--great for relaxing with partner including personal fountain. Can't wait to go back. Pura vida!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CAIF

Charming & Unique Hideaway

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, Friendly Staff, Food, Views, Private Plunge Pool
Cons: Nothing
Location: Surfing, hiking, fishing
The Hotel has 10 private villas, each very spacious and romantic. Our patio had a private plunge pool connected to a 6" deep pool area for lounge chairs "in the water". The villas are buried in dense vegetation giving the sense that you are in the jungle (which you are) on a hill providing panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean. Perhaps the greatest feature is the Food - they have a husband & wife team of fantastic chefs. All the food is organic and purchased daily. The meals are designed around the finest ingredients available that day. I especially loved the Chocolate French toast - made with chocolate bread covered with crispy coconut shavings dipped in fresh strawberries and maple syrup! This hotel was perfect for us but might not be perfect for someone looking for a large hotel setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Hotel de reve!

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Parfait pour les couples car tres intime. Super séjour! Ne manquait que la vue sur les couchers de soleil...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Overpriced, but pretty. Staff unimpressive

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The location of the hotel was hard to get to, construction on property, and inadequate parking space. Staff was unimpressive compared to the other 6 resorts we visited over the course of our trip. Tour they set up for a day trip to Tortuga Island (my most anticipated adventure) was not booked when we arrived at the check-in, after we drove 45 minutes to Montezuma. They had no reservations, and we're fully booked, so we were unable to see the island or snorkel in Costa Rica. Hotel staff was slightly apologetic, but did not offer to do anything to make up fot the inconvenience or accept responsibility for the mixup. We were really disappointed . Next day after requesting help with our luggage at 8:30 in order to be on time to our ferry transfer the morning of checkout, we had to go to the main office ourselves bc nobody showed up. This wouldn't have been a big deal, except that there were 75 steps up a steep incline from our villa to the parking lot. Room clean, doors were a pain to get open and closed. Nice pool, overall the rooms need some renovation. For $600+ per night, we felt ripped off. Lesson learned. Far from ocean front and barely ocean view, as advertised.
5 out of 5
by Matt from Welwyn Garden City

Best place in Costa Rica

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
One of, if not, the best hotel we have stayed in. The views over the Pacific Ocean are amazing. We stayed in both the villa Palma and villa sol. Both were great. The Palma had a smaller, colder plunge pool but a great big shower with a view out of the window. The sol had a great big bed, big bathroom and bigger pool with loungers. Both had hammocks and tables with great storage in the room. If I had to choose just one I would go for the sol because of the pool and slightly more west facing view for the sunset. We ate at the hotel the first night and also had breakfast the first morning. The food was lovely and the service from cesar and the two chefs was great. We actually ate in the room instead of the restaurant. For the other night and breakfasts we decided to try the local area. Santa Teresa has some lovely places for breakfast and dinner. You have to go to Katana (Asian/French food!), the bakery and Olam (organic breakfasts!). Although the the food was very very good at the restaurant we just couldn't eat there every night due to the price. The rooms are cleaned everyday and little touches like the flowers and animal shaped towels are cute. Casa Chameleon would be the first place we would recommend to friends if they were travelling to Costa Rica! We could have statues for 3 weeks of we had the time! Keep up the good work team Casa Chameleon :-)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gorgeous property in a butterfly paradise

Posted Sep 8, 2015
We loved our stay here. The villa we had (Vista) was amazing. Perfect view of the ocean, very comfortable. The plunge pool got amazing mid day sun. We only wish there were loungers but the hammock was perfect. There's another pool that you can relax at that has loungers and all day sun. Not busy at all. Restaurant and bar staff is excellent (Andrea), they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. A very special place.
5 out of 5
by Mehreen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel and rooms are gorgeous. It is isolated and not close to a lot of other activities so I would recommend renting a car. The staff gave us very bad directions making us late for a day excursion so I would also recommend getting a GPS for your rental car. They also gave us a pricing list for excursions and services and ended up charging us a higher amount than was on the sheet because they later said the list was outdated. I definitely think they should have honored the pricing they gave us on the list. Overall great hotel but would not relay heavily on the staff for information.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels