Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CR

Good hotel one problem

Posted Aug 4, 2016
The hotel was very nice, the receptionist was a very good guy; the problem was in the restaurant the cook refuse to change the dish even when they accept it was something we didn't order. They waitress told us to come earlier; it was a disaster the staff in the restaurant... Although the breakfast was included we didn't come back ... The only good thing about the restaurant was the view
4 out of 5
by Will from deerfield beach

fresh air

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Nice clean w balcony and fresh air
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High-end hotel with exceptional an restaurant

Posted May 15, 2016
Cons: I'm nitpicking here: the fancy washbasin in the room was functionally difficult to use and same goes for the shower controls. No deal beakers though.
You don't expect to find this sort of luxury hotel in a relatively remote location. The staff was superbly nice to us and helped with a bunch of things (e.g. we told them that we'd need to checkout really early and they made sure that our breakfast was ready and boxed before we left). We didn't have a chance to dine in their famous restaurant with fantastic view, but will sure do the next time. It was a tad pricier than other hotels around but you'll understand why that is once you enter one of their rooms.
4 out of 5
by Agneta

Avkoppling i Mal País

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Mycket bra hotell för pengarna. Välskött med trevlig personal. God mat (ett stort plus i sammanhanget är helt klart utsikten från hotellrestaurangen - jag har sett tidigare recensioner med klagomål på många trappsteg dit upp, och antalet trappsteg stämmer nog, men det är väl värt mödan!!). Hotellet har även en fin liten pool och trivsamt mindre poolområde. Lugnt läge. En petitess: jag "saknade" TV på rummet (som skulle finnas enligt den info jag fått) och det fanns inte heller någon kaffebryggare (som också skulle finnas enligt tidigare info). Enda egentliga minuspoängen är dels avståndet till "byn" och dels det faktum att stranden närmast hotellet inte är riktigt badbar(enbart klippor - och vid ebb väldigt mycket klippor! - plus ruckel). För att kunna ta sig ett riktigt dopp måste man följa stranden en bit norrut och för att verkligen kunna vada ut enbart på sand nästan ända till Playa Carmen. Vilket i och för sig är trivsamt men lite svettigt i värmen...
4 out of 5
by Jorge from san jose CR

Estupendo

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
en general la pase super
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

Off the beaten path

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Hard to get too and not much around but very pleasant. Great staff. Great restaurant with awesome views. Dry season means really dry and really dusty in entire peninsula. Not right on ocean but has great views of ocean. Lots of volcanic rock close by
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful hotel and staff

Posted Nov 26, 2015
The hotel is situated very close to the beach and it is run by a wonderful staff. Their rooms are very nice and clean, they have great amenities like a pool and beds next to the pool. The restaurant is great for breakfast(it was still closed for dinner). We would definitely recommend to others.
4 out of 5
by Chris from Canmore, AB, Canada

Stay at Moana Lodge

Posted Feb 16, 2013
Pros: Restaurant
Cons: Being in Mal Pais
Location: Don't go to Mal Pais unless you are there for surfing. It's super dusty all of the time, and the vibe is not nearly as chill or awesome as Montezuma
Very nice staff, and a nice hotel in Mal Pais. The restaurant is definitely the highlight of the hotel...the food and service are excellent, and the views are spectacular!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2012 on Hotels
We found Moana Lodge to be a perfect retreat for the last leg of our honeymoon. The owners and staff are lovely and we particualrly loved the sea view restaurant which had fantastic food and a great waiter. Beautiful place to watch a sunset. We stayed in a deluxe room which was a decorated lovely and had a four poster bed. The pool and pool area are really nice too. We didn't have a car but it is a lovely walk on the beach to the shops and restaurants nearby and transport can be organised if you go on a tour so we didn't find it a problem.