Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big White BC Canada

Fantastic people, wonderful location

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: The people! They were so warm and welcoming and everyone went out of their way to make sure our holiday was as enjoyable as possible.
Cons: Not much really - in fact I would encourage them not to pave the road as I think this is what help makes the area a hidden little haven.
Location: The location was great as everything was in walking distance, including beaches, shops, groceries, restaurants and rental.
From the moment we arrived at The Place everybody was so welcoming and helpful and this just kept getting better and better throughout our whole holiday. They answered all our questions and made sure that they helped us relax by getting the instructors and quad bikes etc to come to the hotel to make our lives easier. Mal Pais is an amazing place, full of variety and a true escape. We loved the surfing and the lessons. Renting the quad bikes was an ideal way to explore everything else that the area had to offer after our daily surf sessions ;) Will be coming back for sure!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

Beautiful place!

Posted Sep 1, 2015
The hotel isn't as pretty as in the pictures but its ok. Standard room had no tv. Internet was ok and breakfast was fruits, coffee and toast although it was a delicious bread. The staff is super nice, always willing to help. I had a great stay, my son liked it. I see my self going back there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brian from Seattle

Not bad for the area

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful setting. Decent service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

6 nätter

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Standardrummet var inte så trevligt. Sängen var obekväm, störande musik från baren och fritt kaffe var en överdrift. Fick bara så det räckte till två små koppar. När jag påtalade bristerna blev jag tråkigt bemött av hon som verkade vara chef. Hon ordnade dock ny madrass så att det gick att sova ok. Övrig personal var trevliga och hjälpsamma så vi fick ta kaffe från frukostbordet. De valde efter mitt klagomål något lugnare musik, vilket var bra. Det var lite märkligt att hotellet hade två kategorier av gäster, vilket gjorde att man kände sig som en andra klassens gäst. Det var bra att det fanns ett gemensamt kök, men samtidigt konstigt att blanda. Poolen var skön och fräsch och hotellområdet var fint och välskött. Duschen på rummet var riktigt dålig. Strålarna stack som nålar i skinnet och sköljde inte ordentligt. Trots fördraget duschdraperi så läckte massor av vatten ut på golvet. Jag kommer inte vilja bo där igen. Om jag bor på hotell uppskattar jag ett mer personligt bemötande. Stämningen på The Place var loj och oengagerad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Claes from Sweden

Just book!

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Bra läge för att vara i Costa Rica, trevlig och hjälpsam personal. Ett lugnt ställe som rekommenderas för de flesta, knappt 5 min till stranden och 3 min till bank,restauranger mm. Bra wifi och poolområde. synd att de inte serverade mer än frukost i restaurangen. Baren var kanon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Für wenig Geld ein sehr gutes Hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
Schade, dass das Hotel zum Verkauf steht, liegt wohl daran, dass es nur (direkt) neben dem Zentrum liegt und recht wenig Kundschaft zu sehen war.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice pool, crappy rooms, hotel staff not so good

Posted Feb 9, 2015
I booked based on price and expectations from their website, I was not impressed with my stay. The room looked way better in their website. The staff was regular.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Svanhild from Oslo, Norway

Not a Place to be

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels
We had reservation for 12 days . One member of my family got ill before we even had slept the first night. What happened is just horrible: The place threw the whole family out and after that they have refused to transfer my money back! We did not do anything wrong and what we did was just packing in and out . The Place is a place you DONT WANT YO STAY. We disvovered ants creeping everywhere even in the beds and at the walls. I suggest Franks Place instead, that is a much better place cvoncerning both service and location. Svanhild Widen, Norway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Para mejorar

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
El servicio de bar era muy limitado. poco personal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ashwani from New York

Pleasent stay, very helpful staff

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels
Extremely helpful and pleasent hotel staff! One of my party lost their iphone and they went above and beyond to help retrieve it. Rooms are perfectly comfortable but not luxurious, but hopefully you won't be spending much time in your room anyway. Very close to the center of Santa Teresa with easy access to Playa del Carmen, surf shops, etc. Would definitely stay here again.