Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Disappointed in what could have been Heaven

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The location, the view
Cons: Customer service in the restaurant, the food, and the toilet situation.
Location: You must have a car as the hotel is remote from any towns or activities. The town of Tambor is close.
The hotel is beautiful and sits on the beach. Our room was very nice and had a gorgeous view of the ocean. We had an amazing time walking along the beach, resting in the hammocks under the stars and listening to the surf at night. The hotel front desk staff were warm and welcoming, the reatsaurant staff surly. Why we will not return is about the washroom. The toilets have narrow pipes and you must deposit your used toilet paper in a waste paper basket. This is appallingly unhygienic and enough to keep us from returning.
5 out of 5
by William

Lovely place and wonderful people… food wine so so

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful beach… incredible room (506), the staff are some of the most genuinely kind and friendly people you'll ever hope to meet. I could go on at great length about the many things I loved about the place. Downsides ? Decent, but by no means remarkable restaurant and a truly disappointing wine list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Amazing staff and service.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
This impeccable property has a private access lookout point and Waterfall (for guests only). Hammocks by the beach are also a great feature! It's a lovely place to stay. As a caveat, VIP+ didn't seem to mean anything here, but who cares: the place is near perfect with amazing friendly staff! Book a tour from the comfort of the lobby, or just stay on the beautiful massive property: restaurants, drinks by the pool, horse back riding, tennis, or ocean side relaxation! They have it all. Don't miss out on a chance to stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

tango mar paradise

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Tango Mar offers a beautiful, private beachfront experience on the Nicoya Pensinula that spoils quests with exclusivity and tranquility. With only 34 rooms and over a 100 Acres of private property, you feel like you own the place. The sunrises from the beach are jaw dropping. The hotel staff are friendly and the breakfast buffet is top notch quality. My wife and I highly recommend this boutique hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Hotel Tango Mar, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Josè, Costa Rica

Great weekend vacation

Posted Jan 17, 2017
We stayed 3 nights. 3 dinners 1 lunch. We enjoyed so much the place. Golf course is very basic, but the walk is great. Must be walked in my opinion. Hawler monkeys on trees by #1 green, whiteface monkeys on # 5. Pizotes on # 6. A zoo ! Restaurand has very good international food, good service, and better than reasonable prices. Rooms are comfortable, clean and with excellent view to the beach which is a few yards away. My wife, our 17 yo son, and I are comming back in msy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Great hotel, beach, restaurant.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Our room had a amazing view of the ocean. And was a few short steps from beach. Loved hotel only problem we had was power kept going out. Not hotels fault but room can get pretty warm without ac
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Hannia, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great Honeymoon Destination

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Wi-fi!
Location: Many excursion options available from the front desk
My wife and I stayed over Christmas for our honeymoon. When we first arrived, she got a big smile on her face because she was so impressed with the location and facilities. The beach is awesome - big, fun waves and clean soft sand. The pools are relaxing and clean. The room was extremely clean and daily service did a great job. There are lots of fun adventures to do on-site like a viewpoint/lookout, waterfall hike, and golf course. You can see monkeys all over the place. The excursions offered through the front desk are affordable and well organized. They offered us a special Christmas Eve bonfire (free drink) and dinner. If you fly in to Liberia, I would recommend contacting Gecko Trail for transportation. Ours was $55 per person and was the best deal we could find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vacation

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Everything was great. Food was great and the staff friendly and helpful. Jesus went out of his way several times to make us feel welcome. The minor negatives are: the ocean is a little rough at this location and we had to ask every day for beach towels at the front desk. It would be more convenient if they were at the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, beautiful beach

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: position, staff, beach
Cons: services
Location: relax
very relaxing, by the pool in front of the ocean. nice sorroundings, nice staff, hotel services ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Perfect peaceful tropical getaway

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Tango Mar was an excellent choice for our vacation to Costa Rica. The kind hotel staff went above and beyond to make our experience memorable. The pools by the ocean were fantastic, especially the drinks! Our tiki suite was very nice with plenty of room for two. The excursions offered by the hotel were fantastic and led by good-hearted easy-going staff. Definitely try the snorkeling and a nature reserve if you have time. The food was delicious. We thought we would only eat at the hotel a couple of times, but due to the amazing selection, the affordable prices, and the endless wine, we only ate outside the restaurant a few times during our eight night stay, for dinner once and lunch a couple times. Otherwise we just ate there because it was so good, so convenient, cooked and served by incredible staff who really put their hearts into what they do. We didn't want to leave and definitely will be returning in the future. Met great people while we were there from all over the world. Yet it wasn't crowded, just the right amount of people to party with. Definitely consider Tango Mar if you are planning to vacation on the Nicoya Peninsula.