Ratings based on 2,204 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, shabby room

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The breakfast, and the pool.
Cons: Rooms could have been cleaner and everything could have been in working order.
The location was exactly right for what we wanted, near the River Walk, the Aquarium and the trolley. The breakfast was good, although my son was disappointed in the lack of waffles which we have had at other Embassy Suites we have stayed in. The managers reception was welcome although not very well sign posted. The front of house staff were very helpful. However, when we got to our room, someone else's clothes were still on the floor, the phone didn't work, the curtain wouldn't open or close and the safe was off. Everything that we mentioned to staff was dealt with immediately except for the curtain which seemed too hard for them to fix while we were there. So staff were great but cleanliness seemed not to be a top priority.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sanderson Fl

Great location to arena

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Must stay hotel for any events at Amalie Arena walking distance to river walk and channelside
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kennesaw, GA.

Nice hotel close to all downtown activities.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Time for some renovating!
Location: It's right next to the Tampa Convention Center and the Riverwalk.
We love to stay in Embassy Suites so when we found one near the Port of Tampa when we went on a cruise recently, it was a no brainer for us. We were not disappointed in the hotel at all. It was a bit outdated, but our room was clean. The only thing that was interesting about every hotel we looked at in the area was they none of them offer free shuttle service from the airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Not bad

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Decent hotel. Great breakfast buffet. Housekeeping not terrific. Happy hour very generous - free drinks, my living room area was very dark and not "warm". Bed was terrific. Meager bath amenities. Very nice elevators! Libby was unimpressive - functional but not updated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, MA

VN hotel close to cruise port, riverwalk & trolley

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Nice landscaping in front. Spacious atrium windows with view. Lobby bar and restaurant are both good. 2-room suite is very nice.
Cons: Coffee needs improving. Tastes weak.
Location: The trolley stop is a few steps away from the hotel entrance, good choice to see Tampa. Favorite spot for drinks/snacks is across street at riverwalk
2nd stay at this hotel; both prior to cruise out of Tampa. Beautiful atrium lobby with great views and spacious rooms. This year we arrived too late to join in the managers reception with free drinks and snacks, but were able to enjoy drinks and music across the street at a bar over-looking the river. Great spot to unwind after our flight. Had a quick bite at the restaurant in the lobby; good food and drink with reasonable prices. Buffet breakfast the next morning was plentiful with hot and cold offerings and well done. Staff are welcoming and cheerful. We especially like the made-to-order omelet station. The 4 of us found items we liked. We then wandered the river-walk to "get our steps in" after our buffet breakfast. The path was scenic, worthy of a dozen photos. (Look for the crocodile sculpture. It is life-size and great for photos) We took the path all the way to the cruise terminal and snuck a peek at our ship before leaving the hotel to start the boarding process. We took the Blue One van that stops at the hotel for a quick and easy 10 minute transfer to our cruise ship. We will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by nancy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Great location. It was great that they provided free drinks for 2 hours at their reception area. Nice hotel and comfortable rooms.
3 out of 5
by Randy

Convenient but very pricey for the conditions.

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Pool was closed upon arrival for 2 of our three days. Pool is very tiny. Rooms show lots of wear. We did not get room service on 2 of our three days as well. Had to get our own replacement towels from maid service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santo domingo, D. R.

Nice location, but a little old

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Nice, service more or less, small room and a little old.
5 out of 5
by ROBERT

In town before cruise

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great breakfast. Nice staff. Near everything.