Ratings based on 1,964 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, MA

Nice hotel close to the riverwalk and cruise port.

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous hotel, friendly staff, great free breakfast/managers reception in evening, close to trolley and ease of transport to cruise terminal
Cons: Down pillows and duvets are not a good bedding choice for women 50+. An option for traditional linen would be great!
Location: Connected to convention center (didn't use but appreciate), immediate access to Tampa trolley which we used & enjoyed, Great river walk:great lighting
We stayed here with our son and his fiance in 2 suites for 2 nights before our cruise. Nice landscaping and lovely lobby. Trolley just a few steps away from hotel entrance. Took to Ybor city for sightseeing and great lunch. Daily free breakfast buffet and managers reception with free drinks was a nice start and finish to our day. Blue One stops every 1/2 hour for transfers in Tampa. We used to get to cruise terminal for only $5 per person plus tip. Very friendly and efficient. I highly recommend this hotel to unwind and add enjoyment to a Tampa vacation. We hope to return and will recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Great hotel near the convention center. Restaurant was small for large events.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2016
A very short walk to the Amalie Arena where the Bolts play.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ft myers florida

not worth the money,

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: great location for amalie arena
Cons: room updates, lower prices
slow check in, slow valet, room very ugly and uninviting, old outdated furniture,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Concert Hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Convenience to concert venue, breakfast included, cocktail hour
Cons: Pull out bed was a bit small
Location: Definitely check out the Columbian! Oldest restaurant in Florida. Delicious Sangria, and Paella! Only about an 8 minute ride away.
We saw Billy Joel at the Amalie Arena. I knew it was going to be close, but the walk was like nothing! Any concert I attend at this venue, I will absolutely be staying at this hotel again! Embassy has a cocktail hour every evening, and a substantial hot breakfast is included in your stay. This was a surprise for my dad's birthday, and he is now an Embassy Suites convert! He loved it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Did not honor Expedia reservation

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Valet was very friendly
Cons: tell customers in advance when you are not going to honor reservations
Got to hotel, wen t to check in an was told they were oversold and would not honor Expedia reservation at their hotel. However they would move us to another hotel. This was an issue as we booked this hotel because our son had practice for an all-state performance at this hotel and one further away required transportation, etc. Another issue was that we booked a two room suite, as with a king and a pull out bed. I was assured by the manager, Hunter, that we would receive a suite at the new hotel. That was not the truth as we got a double bed room. Furthermore the new hotel was not a place I would recommend, just not a good hotel. Not sure why we were not told in advance this would be an issue (Hunter confirmed to me that they knew of the issue in advance), so we could make proper arrangements, not old SMELLY hotel as they provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Room Needs Closer Attention

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Friendly Staff
Cons: Take care of items mentioned above
Location: Within 6 miles to the airport, near the water, across the street from the Convention Center, within 2.5 miles too Columbia Restaurant
Room was very comfortable, great location to the Convention Center as it was across the street with a bridge that connects the two. Valet Service was top notch, with no waiting longer than a couple of minutes for our vehicle. All the Staff were more than ready to help at a moments notice. Only items I can knock is almost no water running from the Bathroom sink faucet ( smaller than a #2 pencil), had to wash our hands and brush our teeth at the bar sink also it looks like they need to pay close attention to the mold around the lower underside of the soap dishes in the shower and possibly some type mold (BLACK IN COLOR) on the wall adjacent to the thermostat for Heat & A/C.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient to the hockey arena and downtown Tampa

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: spaciousness location breakfast and the 5:30 to 7:30 pm social hour
Cons: communication from staff at check-in
Location: watch hockey visit channel side wonderful restaurants and catholic church within walking distance
Upon checkout they added over $400 in overnight stay costs claiming they had a rate increase which they did not advise us of upon check-in. We showed them our Expedia confirmation and they backed off the charges. That was startling and upset us but they made things right and we will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: none
Location: Walk to Jackson discoteque.One can see the fire works from the hotel. Walk around Channel Side.
Staff very friendly. Loved the happy hour and the breakfast was really good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
good staff, good chef, good breakfast They were accommodating my request for both my early check in and late check out