Ratings based on 581 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
The hotel has decent facilities. The Breakfast is better than some of the other hotels that i have seen.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - N. Westshore Blvd. We are happy to know you were comfortable here and that you were impressed with all the aspects of our hotel, especially with our grab-and-go breakfast. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and that's all

Posted May 5, 2017
Cigarette smell in die corridors!!!!! Bedding was very fresh, looked like it's been used and not washed....will definitely not stay there again!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit. We are very passionate about providing our guests with clean accommodations, and we apologize we fell short in this case. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping team to see where we went wrong, so the necessary improvements to our processes can be made. We hope you will give us another chance as we would appreciate the opportunity to provide you with a much better stay. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Close to airport and price
Cons: Needs updating - rooms show heavy wear.
Good price but basic hotel. Worn out basically. Needs to be updated. But clean and adequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We are happy you had a pleasant visit and liked our proximity to the airport and affordable rates. However, we are sorry that you were disappointed with the overall condition of our property. Your concerns will be shared with our future enhancement team as we plan any changes. Thanks once more for being our guest, and we hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Very nice location for someone using airport

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Very large room with nice kitchen, separate sitting area & comfortable king bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - N. West Shore Blvd for your visit and for sharing your comments. We are so happy you found your suite to be spacious, clean & comfortable with lots of room to relax, and that you were impressed with our close proximity to the airport. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another stay. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
First time we asked if there was a pool we were told no, then another member of our party asked and they said yes.???
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for what was clearly an unsatisfactory experience. We do our best to share all of the information about our hotel and amenities with each and every guest, but we can always improve and we will do just that. Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

EXTENDED STAY

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: THIS PLACE WAS MINUTES TO THE BEACHES, AND THE AIRPORT. THE POOL LOOKED NICE BUT I DIDN'T USE IT, I SAW PEOPLE USING IT.
Cons: LESS NOISE IN THE HALLWAYS, LESS SLAMMING DOORS, IT WAS SCARY TO HEAR EVERY NIGHT FOR MY ENTIRE STAY. TAKE CARE BUG PROBLEM.
Location: LIKE I SAID I LIKED TO GO TO THE BEACHES, BUT THERE WERE NICE RESTS. X THE STREET.
THIS WAS NOT WHAT I EXPECTED.THERE WERE LOUD NOISES COMING FROM THE HALLWAY AT NIGHT, PEOPLE RUNNING IN THE HALLWAY, SCREAMING VOICES AND SLAMMING DOORS. THERE WERE HUGE PALMETTO BUGS CRAWLING AROUND THAT I HAD TO SCRUNCH.I NEVER KNEW IF THEY WERE GOING TO BE ON ME, SO MADE SLEEPING DIFFICULT. THERE WAS A SMELL OF BURNT TOAST THE FIRST NIGHT, SO STRONG, I HAD TO STUFF THE CRACKS UNDER THE DOOR AND SIDES, AND PLACED A ROOM FRESHENER TOO. I DIDN'T ASK FOR ANOTHER ROOM AS I WAS JUST TOO TIRED TO MOVE, AND HAD A FEELING I WOULD FIND MORE OF THE SAME IN ANOTHER ROOM.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
SADIE, we appreciate you sharing the positive aspects of your stay and also mentioning the concerns you had which compromised your stay. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused due to other guests at our hotel and for the issues you identified in your room. We take these concerns seriously and ensure you that appropriate action will be taken, so that future guests are not inconvenienced similarly. Our goal is to provide a relaxing and comfortable stay for every guest, and we hope to prove this to you on a future visit. Thanks again for being our guest. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota FL

Basic hotel close to airport

Posted Mar 27, 2017
When I made reservation they told me they have a shuttle to the airport that runs continually. They don't. It only goes once an hour at 25 past the hour, so I'd either have to get to the airport really early or really late. We ended up taking Uber there instead so add that expense on to what the hotel charged us. Hallways smelled like cigarette smoke and they didn't have enough extra pillows even though I requested them when I made the reservation. Overall, hotel was decent, nothing great, especially for what they charge. Would I stay there again? Probably not
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Wendy, thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are happy your overall visit was enjoyable and that you liked our convenient location. However, we are sorry that you were unhappy with our shuttle timings and the inconvenience it caused. Your review will be discussed with the management team to see where we can make improvements. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by Laurie

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Laurie, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I apologize for not living up to your expectations. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future so we can provide you with a much better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Joe

Not a great experience.

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was very convenient to restaurants and the International Mall. It was just a room for three nights, but we weren't able to get much sleep. People walking thru the hall came in at all hours and talking loudly and one night there was a terrible argument between a couple who shouted obscene language for over 30 minutes (no security). Also, I left word with a desk agent that we needed a wakeup call at 3:30 a.m. to catch the 4:25 a.m. shuttle, but thank goodness we woke up because there was no call. Overall, not a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Joe, thank you for choosing our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered due to the noise from nearby guests and for failing to send you a wake-up call. Our Front Office Manager has been informed of your situation to ensure all procedures are being followed by our associates. We would appreciate another chance to make it up to you on your future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Visitor from Washington DC

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Staff, Facilities, Condition, Comfort - excellent. Strategically located and near restaurants/International Plaza. All good!
Cons: Was very disappointed in the continental breakfast. Was not fruit, no pancakes or waffle griddle. :(
Location: Strategically located by restaurants and near airport. Logistics made sense - few turns toward airport, walking distance to major restaurants :)
Reception/Front Desk: Sandra, Maxine, Dali (was there for my stay). All of them were very pleasant, attentive, and showed good hospitality. They had warm welcoming personalities that encourage another stay when I return to Tampa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your kind remarks about our hotel, Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - N. Westshore Blvd. We are thrilled to read you loved our convenient location which was perfect for your needs and that you were impressed with our front desk service. We especially appreciate you recognizing Sandra, Maxine, and Dali, and will be sure to share your compliments with them. It was great to have you here, and we look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager