Ratings based on 1,372 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good hotel right by the airport

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Proximity to highways and airport. Decent gym.
I regret that I was here on business and got to use few of this resort's facilities. But it was well located for transit west, north, or south. Gym was decent - lots of cardio plus some machines. It is by the airport, and you can hear the traffic, but it was not obnoxious and did not impact my sleep at all. Room size was generous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Wonderful Experience!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: It was clean and beautifully decorated. The food was amazing.
Cons: Nothing. Perfect.
Location: The International Mall and the Oxford Exchange were fun to visit.
The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Our stay could not have been better. We will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Missed The Mark This Time

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Convenient location to the things we like to do in the Tampa Bay area, love the bay view, staff is great, overall very nice hotel and well kept.
Cons: My Expedia itinerary clearly showed a bay view room with a king size bed we did not get. Room needed vacuuming better. Add a microwave oven.
Location: Day boat trips in Tampa and dinner cruises in Clearwater.
My wife and I have stayed at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay before. We use Expedia to make vacation trip plans and stayed for 7 nights. Room reservation was wrong from the start. We asked for a room with a bay view and king size bed - got a bay view room with 2 double beds. Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay said they would note the issue and let us know when a bay view room with a king size bed opened - never got that during our stay. Our room was on the 11th floor and in the evening we could hear the sounds of furniture being moved around on the floor above us which sounded like it was probably in-carpeted. Then they had a power outage on our last night which lasted from roughly 5:45 PM until 11:30 PM. No air conditioning does not make for "happy campers". Had to pack in the dark and go to sleep early in a hot room since I had a 6:30 AM flight out to catch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Very Upscale Hotel Directly On Tampa Bay

Posted May 10, 2017
Just returned from a weekend stay at the Grand Hyatt and glad I chose this hotel. The facility was clean, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the food at the seafood restaurant was 1st rate. We had a room overlooking the bay and it was beautiful. We had a great time at the pool both days. Scott, the bartender, couldn't be friendlier and even got my buddy out of a funny predicament. If he reads this, he'll know what I mean !!! Joe said thanks again !!! We definitely will return to Tampa next year and will not stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Work - with no irritations

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: I particularly liked that their was lots of water and it was complimentary - from the rooms to the lobby. I also really liked the workout space.
Location: I love Tampa - everything about it. And the Grand Hyatt is well-placed to get around quickly.
I was in town to work. The experience was very supportive of getting things done (wicked fast internet) and staying focused and revived (lots of complimentary water and a great workout space with earbuds (I always forget mine at home). The workout space was clean with towels, cold water, ear buds and great machines and a good selection of free weights. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were well equipped and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely views, rather impersonal.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Views
Cons: Bathroom storage and towel rails. Better breakfast buffet. Food and drink price review.
Location: Very close to causeway and Airport.
Large, conference hotel a little impersonal. Food and drink very expensive. Breakfast buffet unappealing. As with most hotels they ask you to keep your towels for several days but don't provide anywhere to hang them!! On our first day we left our room at 9 am and returned at 3 pm and our room hadn't been serviced, the hotel wasn't full and check in isn't until 4pm so I'm not sure why? Comfortable rooms, bathroom rather small with no storage at all. Staff very obliging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Good amenities. Lovely grounds.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
This was a centrally located hotel for us. We were pretty close to family in Dunedin/Clearwater area and downtown Tampa and St. Petersburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Excellent staff. Always happy and ready to help. Room and facilities were exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great hotel and location!

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The staff was friendly and helpful at all times! The rooms were clean, the pools were amazing, and the food at the restaurants were great!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Guest Relations Associate, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your dinner experience as well as the pools during your stay. I'm happy to hear the staff was helpful too! Safe Travels, Paul R. - Guest Relations Associate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples FL

Do it!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Great hotel and staff are very friendly. Brad takes care of you by the pool for Drinks and Food. He stays focused and keeps checking on you. Will definitely stay here again. No complaints.