Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown ybor.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Beds weren't very comfortable and the 2 bedroom suite wasn't what we thought it was.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Nice Hotel close to all the Ybor City activities.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Very nice hotel, convinience and close to everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel close to many restaurants.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: I liked the décor of the room. It was modern and clean. I also like the breakfast that they had in the morning! It was tasty.
Cons: The parking there was pretty tight.
Location: There are many restaurants to select from and you are very close to downtown Tampa. I liked the neighborhood feel to the area.
The hotel was really nice for the price. The bed was comfortable and so was the lounge chair in the room. I was there for the bar exam so, I was please to have a comfortable chair. The restaurants are very close to the hotel and the hotel staff was kind enough to recommend a few places to eat.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by Charles, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. We appreciate you choosing the HGI Ybor and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Have a great day!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Worst Hotel Stay During Our Trip

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The lobby was the only nice thing about this place
Cons: fix all the issues in your hotel, make sure everything works.
Location: The surrounding area is crumbling and there is graffiti every where. At night this "Historic District" becomes a club scene.
The only thing "nice" about this hotel is the entrance. I had booked a SUITE, which turned out to be one large room with two beds a filthy pull out sofa sleeper, a broken MINI FRIDGE, and a bathroom that had multiple problem that needed to be fixed. The sofa sleeper was full of crumbs and pieces of food on the mattress and below the pull out. The bathroom sink leaked underneath, the toilet seat was broken and loose, the door handle was loose and the fan did not work. We were woken up every night between the hours of 1am -5am from other guests returning from nearby clubs (which if I had known about I would NOT have stayed there with my children) When I contacted the front desk, the GM had us pack up our things and they moved us into another "suite" while we were at our destination for the day. This "suite" was not much better, this room was clean, however, the toilet did not work and neither did the mini fridge (62 degrees is NOT cold). The GM refunded the $24 parking fees, sent up 3 small bags of chips, 3 candy bars, 3 drinks and a bag of popcorn for our inconvenience of having to switch rooms and for being late to our booked activity for the day. $25 in junk food to make up for the fact that our rooms were filthy and broken and we missed out on the first three hours of our trip the next day is not really what I would consider very good compensation Not to mention the homeless, graffiti and falling down buildings in the surrounding area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2016 by Charles, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Ybor City. I am very sorry your stay was not up to your satisfaction. I apologize that my staff did not handle the situation to your liking and I hope you may consider giving us another opportunity in the future. We are under new ownership and began a room renovation on May1st of this year. Thank you and I hope you have a great afternoon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

we would go there again

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
hotel location for were we wanted to go to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Charles, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad to know that you plan to visit us again and we look forward to it!
3 out of 5
by David from Miami

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
That was nice.the only problem was the breakfast buffet...bagel got moho and breads were old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Charles, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for the review. I apologize for the breads not being as fresh as you are accustomed to and I will speak with my F&B team about this. We hope you will visit us again soon so that we may go above and beyond your expectations.
4 out of 5
by Justin John

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Charles, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review!
4 out of 5
by Bryan

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Charles, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience! We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by Stephen from Cococa Beach

Nice hotel, not enough parking for weekend guest

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, great bartender and waitress in the restaurant. Front Desk staff was ok, could have been more helpful. Very disappointed in parking availability for Saturday night. They charge $12 for self parking and did not have near enough spaces for registered guests on Saturday evening. If you are staying on a weekend, you better plan to get to the hotel and stay there if you want a parking space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Charles, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us. I am glad to know you enjoyed the hotel and more specifically the F&B Team. During the visit we were extremely busy with many of the great events/parades in Ybor City and parking is extremely limited. We hope we are able to host you again in the near future.