Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very Nice Accommodations

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: The staff, location and cleanliness. The manager,. Ms. Dorothy and the other staff members were very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of at this time. I really enjoyed my stay.
Very Nice Hotel Accommodations. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel and rooms were very clean and it is located in a safe area. Accessible to highways, fairground, casino, restaurants and many other activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: My whole stay was wonderful. Would recommend from beginning to end.
Cons: Nothing. They are on their game.
Location: Fairgrounds-Casino Area in Tampa
Enjoyed my stay from start to the End. Plan to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clearwater

I think this hotel is higher then a 2.5 maybe a 3

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: the room was very clean and the staff was wonderful
Cons: no
Location: went to hard rock
the staff was wonderful my husband and I really enjoyed our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

Our First Stay at Fairground HIE For Weekend Trip

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Hubby & I travel to Brandon about once a month to go to the SHRC. For yrs we've stayed (primarily, although we've stayed in just about all the hotels in Brandon) at either a Hilton Garden Inn or Homewood Suites. But lately we've found a new favorite, the Holiday Inn Express hotels. This all started back in August when we had to make a difficult trip involving the move of an elderly family member, and the HIE in Greensburg, PA, became our home away from home. We were so impressed with how nice the Gbg HIE was that we've stayed in 2 more in Brandon/East Tampa since. And, BEST OF ALL, we found that the HIEs provide all that the other hotels do, but at a better price! While the HIE Tampa Fairgrounds is an older hotel (& it's seen its share of customers, being smack across from the state fairgrounds & amphitheatre) & the wear & tear shows throughout, the staff does a great job of keeping things clean & adequately maintained. Our room (322) was clean, quiet, comfy, the fridge/microwave were good sized & worked without a flaw, & the value for the price was perfect. We especially like having a complimentary breakfast (biscuits/honey, muffins, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurt our faves, even yummy sausage gravy!). And, BTW - HIE staff has been very accomodating for us, every time, & on this stay we'd like to say a special thanks to Madelyn & Dorothy! So we'd definitely recommend the Fairground HIE to anyone for a short stay in the Brandon area. I'm sure we'll be returning soon too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Harbor, Fl

Great place to stay after a concert!

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Location: Concerts, it is right across the street from the amp and the fairgrounds. It is also near the casino. Also, there are places to eat within walking
This is not the first time we stayed here after a concert. It is a great location, and very nice. The hotel staff were friendly, the room and bed were comfortable, the property is clean inside and out. The complimentary breakfast is also decent. Not fancy, but there are plenty of good options and a staff member is constantly restocking it. I imagine a lot of people going to the Hard Rock may stay here too as it has a free shuttle to the casino and is probably way cheaper than staying there. The only downside is that the elevator is slow. There is also a small pool in the back, but we didn't use it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LoriJune 25

Quick Overnight

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Orbitz
Needed a hotel to stay at between a trip to Bush Gardens and Tampa International Airport. Located centrally between. Friendly front desk staff and great breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Rug Hooking Group

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Very convenient to the highways and the venue I was attending.
Cons: The office chairs at the desks in the room could be upgraded. It was too low to be really comfortable for me to use, and the padding is worn.
Location: I know the city of Tampa is very close, the Florida State Fairgrounds are directly across the street and Ybor City is also close.
Although I just stayed one night for a hobby event being held locally - I was very pleased overall. The staff was very professional and pleasant, the room was clean and comfortable, and it was located very close to the venue I needed to be at in the morning. The only real complaint I would have is that the door to the rear parking was broken and I was not able to enter or exit that way - but was assured it was being repaired soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent mattress!
Cons: Room 412 smelled of smoke upon entering even though it was a non-smoking room.
Location: Great place to stay when gambling at Hard Rock Casino with free shuttle.
Enjoyable place to spend the night. Quick check in/out.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Edward from Punta Gorda

Pig in makeup.

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel lobby is very nice, but beyond that, it's horrible. Looks cheap. If they would have put money into the whole facility maybe ok. Musty smell throughout. Wall sconce in room hung off Wall. They had an ozonizer running in our room when we arrived. This hotel is nothing but a pig with makeup.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marjorie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels