Ratings based on 1,350 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

Low budget. Small and old rooms. Bathroom was cle

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Ok to crash for the night but don't plan on hanging out in the room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Close to everything

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Close to highways, stadiums, and lots of restaurants choices. Not the greatest area is a negative.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid at any cost!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Expedia customer support; remove hotel from listing
Location: Not a safe neighborhood at night, nor for a female traveling solo
I checked in, and left within 5 minutes. There were blood spots on the sheets and visible bugs skittering across the sheets. Night attendant refused to refund my payment. Expedia support team to,d me that night that they would contact hotel. I've had to call Expedia back as I have not been made aware of any progress.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just dirty

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Convenience to airport
Cons: Clean the rooms and remove pests
Room was dirty and musty. I awoke one morning with a baby roach on my chest. Did not have time to talk to management about it, but will never stay at a Howard Johnson again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You can do better

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Air conditioner didn't work. No hot water. Couldn't get front desk from room phone
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

Don't stay here.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
After waiting an hour for airport pick-up we had to pay $20 for a cab. No compensation what so ever. Guys hanging out on balcony drinking and the smell of urine. Needs many improvents to the place. Cockaroachs coming out of the back of the bathroom mirror was interesting. For $80 it was definitely not worth it. Spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else. Only good thing was the location to stores and restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Very poor experience

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Location: Two nude men's clubs and one topless one within 100 yards. One was directly across the street. Other than that not much.
I chose this hotel because it had a free shuttle to both the airport and Port of Tampa, or so I was led to believe. Upon arrival I was informed I had to pay the shuttle to go to the port. The person I spoke with on the phone led me to believe there was free hot breakfast that turned out to be only continental. The in room phone didn't work. The television worked intermittently. Cable kept cutting out. The place hasn't been updated since the early 80's. All and all not worth the price in my opinion.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

I've had worse, but definitely not worth the price

Posted Feb 11, 2017
The hotel looks old and run down. Our room had a comfortable bed, and looked nice on the inside, but the my son's knees and feet were filthy just from playing on the floor - the carpet was nasty. The shower was hot and the water pressure was good, but the shower wasn't in very good shape. Also notable, the hotel was almost directly next door to a 'gentleman's club,' that was still open and busy with many outside loiterers at 4:30am when we left for the airport. A positive point to this hotel, and the only reason we chose it, is that it is within walking distance to Howard James Stadium. It seemed safe because of the police at intersections and the amount of people out and about for the event, but we did see a homeless person sleeping right next to the hotel on the way back. Overall, it was okay for us based on the fact that we only needed somewhere to sleep after the event at the stadium, but I wouldn't have wanted to stay there any longer!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prinyaka front desk receptionist

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Front desk receptionist has no manners to treat hotel Guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to airport and cruise port

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Easy to find staff was very helpful giving us a room that we could drive a mobility scooter in.