Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay close to cruiseline

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Staff was super nice
Cons: Fix up the rooms a bit more. Molding was coming off in the bathroom and again the A/C unit was leaking.
Location: Depends on what you wanted I guess. For families, not sure if it would be a very comfortable place to stay just being that close to 3 "nudie" bars.
Desk was super nice and accommodating. Odd in that this place is surrounded by three "nudity bars", Starbucks, Wendy's and Denny's. The A/C was leaking to the point where we had to put a towel under the unit so it didn't drip on any electrical wires. Overall just an odd experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.A.

Central location, poor hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Hotel does not maintain room safe, none work. Bedding is old and has holes, party area, close to adult entertainment bars. Free parking, WiFi works most of the time. Needs reno, new carpets etc. Good price, fridge and microwave incl. Ok if your not picky and don't mind a little noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not very good

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: shower was weak...clean rooms better...get new staff
front desk had me in smoking...didn't want that...was told they were sold out, no options...in fact, half or more of the rooms were EMPTY...people checked in as a walk in right after me and were given options...TERRIBLE
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Alabama

Dog friendly close to stadium

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Stayed here 3 nights for National Championship game Jan. 8-11 due to having our little dog with us! Great location for going to the game and activities. For an older facility, it was fine. The reviews we read were horrible, but we never saw a bug, and it was clean and safe. It wasn't the Hilton, but for us with a dog, and the location, very worth the price!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria VA

Terrible, dirty, unsafe and next to a strip club!

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Location: Location was unsafe while unsavory men were visiting the strip club next door. A few men begging for money on the curb in front of the motel.
I booked this for a business trip which coincided with the Clemson/Alabama game and everything in town was already booked. Pulling into the parking lot, I questioned the decision. Of course, the rates had been tripled since the game was going on and the front desk man was rude from the get go. Clearly I was a women traveling by myself and yet he announced my room number in front of a few unsavory men hovering around the lobby. Then I drove to the back of the hotel to find my room was worse than the front. Abandoned trailers, trucks, empty booze bottles etc. was my view. Room itself smelled like stale urine and was filthy. I went back up front to cancel the reservation because I felt so unsafe and he told me my room was un-refundable because he couldn't rent it to anyone else even though there were people standing there asking if there was any availability. Overall, awful. Unfortunately, being from out of town we certainly didn't know the area and I thought being a Howard Johnson that they had standards for all their properties. If Howard Johnson does have standards they certainly don't for this property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Accesibility to all attractions, downtown, airport and Bucaneers Stadium
Cons: Pretty much everything including the staff
Location: If you are into "nude girls" and prostitutes it is your place to stay
The room had noisy broken AC and very hard to close door. They "upgraded" us to king bed room. Better, but not great. We took off the shoes and our socks got black dirty we had to throw them away. When we checked in there was TV crew making report about guest who jumped out of hotel window and got killed by a car later. Not great neighborough. Otherwise good location near the city attractions & airport
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't do it again

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the airport.
Cons: Security and cleanliness.
Room was not as clean as I would have expected, but the real issue was the gang of guys hanging around our room at 3:00am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to shopping

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The location close to shopping
Location: Shopping at Walmart, Best Buy, Staples and others
Very friendly and nice staff. Older motel but kept in a good shape. Very clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An, what appears older motel but kept nice and cle

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Nice, older motel style but kept very nice and clean. Friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fingernails on the floor. Ripped up curtain!!!!!

Posted Dec 15, 2016
I cannot believe the condition of this room! !!! No one ever came to clean it up or change bedding. ...fingernails were found on the floor. .disgusting! !! No WiFi or cable after 5pm.Front desk man yelling at me when I called to ask why? !!?!! The filth was absolutely sickening! !!!!! I would warn anyone to stay away from this hotel. ..I would like my money back! !!!!!!!