Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel , local shuttle very friendly staff

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The staff was so friendly and I really enjoyed all the drivers for the hotel shuttle.
Cons: Shuttle to the airport. It is not that far and they have very nice shuttles. Really disliked this part & if not changed may effect my choice next trip
Location: Location was only 10-15 from airport. The free hotel shuttle takes you to all restaurants and aquarium, zoo , and may other places.
I enjoyed my stay. Clean rooms , early check in was allowed which saved us a lot of hassle. The local shuttle was great and the drivers were awesome! I wish they would add airport shuttle to this. It is only a 10-15 min drive and they have 3 very nice shuttles. This was my main complaint on the hotel. We had to pay $25 from airport to hotel. One of the drivers seen us sitting outside waiting on our cab to return back to airport to go home and went in and asked to take us, she received a lot of grief but due to the hotel being slow it was approved. We tipped her $20 for her going to bat for us:) (and still saved $5 from cab) The staff was very friendly. The pool was nice although we did not use. Love it is walking distance if you dont want to take the shuttle to several food, art etc places. The Riverwalk that the hotel sits on was beautiful and I never felt unsafe walking it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Very Clean & Comfortable

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Our room was clean & neat. The staff was very helpful, cordial and pleasant. Nice restaurant and pool onsite and convenience of their shuttle vans.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Bar & restaurant staff are great!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: This hotel is right next to the Tampa Center for the performing arts. First Watch Restaurant at 520 N. Tampa St has the best breakfast!!!
I stayed a couple of nights last week 10/26 & 10/27. The room was clean enough, but coffee had spilled from the previous guest and had soaked the tea bags on the coffee making tray. No tea for me. The remote didn't work, so I read my Kindle. The room was comfortable enough, but the walls are thin and I heard conversations & TV next door. The bathroom is small. No way two people could use the sink & mirror at the same time. The best thing was the bar & restaurant staff. I got a drink shortly after my arrival on the 26th and dinner on the 27th. Staff was friendly & accommodating. Also, the shuttle driver took me to the Convention Center early 6:50a on the 28th and usually they don't start that service until 7:00am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good value

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Good value. Basic room but clean and in good shape. Complimentary shuttle service downtown was extremely convenient and useful. They let me keep my car there several hours past checkout.
Cons: I have never had to pay separately for parking before but apparently this is a thing now. And based on other hotels iin the area - the rates here are reasonable and as mentioned before, they let me park until my event was over (hours past checkout) at no extra charge.
Location: Less than 2 miles from downtown and most Riverwalk attractions as well as the convention center (where I went).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus Grove, United States of America

Good Location Staff was great

Posted Oct 22, 2016
The staff offered a free shuttle service for the downtown area. Overall I was very pleased with the hotel I will defiantly be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palatine

Nice Room but poor TV reception.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Clean and comfortable bed. TV reception was terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, Connecticut

Perfect in every way PLUS easy highway access

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The wonderfully refreshing fruit water in the lobby, ANY Staff that I encountered was friendly and pleasant, the location and the shuttle!
Cons: Happy Hour at the Water Works Grille should not just apply to beer. Front Desk Staff should not be chewing gum (it's unsightly).
Location: Henry Plant Museum & plays at the Strasz Center; if with children,Children's Museum is a must. Easy drive to the MOSI and Bahama Breeze restaurant.
I wanted to stay near the Straz Center and Riverwalk so I took a chance on a Hotel I hadn't heard anything about. I hit paydirt! From the moment I walked in to the gorgeous Lobby and was greeted by very friendly Staff (which is how I was greeted every time I walked in during my 4 days there) I could not have been more accommodated, comfortable and pleased. The room was modern and immaculate and the 12th Floor view was spectacular. The front desk Staff was always wonderful but I have to give a special nod to Rachelle who helped me on numerous occasions throughout my stay. She had been the person to check me in, and 2 days later when I needed help printing out my boarding pass she was not only gracious and knowledgeable but offered me coffee and remembered the reason for my visit (from our conversation 2 days prior!) and asked if i was enjoying my time with my grand daughter! Surely Rachelle had spoken to hundreds of people in the mean time. I was very impressed with her professionalism and demeanor. I would also like to thank Eva who suggested the Henry Plant museum when I was looking for something nearby to do. I have been to Tampa at least 10X as no one has ever mentioned it. It was a highlight of my trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
The staff was very couteous and helpful. Room was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Would definitely stay again!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Clean room, every staff member I came in contact with was friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfy, and the walls well insulated from noise. If I ever have a reason to return to downtown Tampa in the future, this will definitely be where I stay! Thank you for making my birthday trip amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice getaway

Posted Aug 9, 2016
I'm from Houston, and I've been to a few hotels. The Barrymore hotel has been the best so far. They cleaned our room every day (unless I told them not to). Their breakfast restaurant was the best, and worth the price, and the staff? Super attentive and nice. Drinks in the evening was nice and quiet, and the dinner was quality, despite a small menu. I did give the condition/facilities a three out of five due to the following: wi-fi was super slow, couldn't Netflix and chill like i wanted, and the tub drained really slow (water pressure of the shower was strong/fast), so the tub filled quicker and we even had to share shower time (not complaining there) so that we wouldn't create a mess. We were there for Tampa comic con. We used the river walk a few times (to and from the convention), as well as their shuttle services, so great for when we were tired or the weather wasn't all too great. Thanks to staff Monica, Jesus, and Kirsten, and others whose names we didn't learn. You made our stay enjoyable and would come back.