Ratings based on 1,918 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg PA

Nice hotel and convenient to downtown Tampa

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The pool and very comfortable beds.
Cons: Since they are renovating I am not sure.
Location: The convention center, Florida Aquarium, and the Tampa Bay hockey arena are all within walking distance.
I was in for a family occasion. The hotel was convenient to the Davis Island community where I was at most of the time. Even though the hotel was under renovation I was still able to use the fitness room and the pool was open and clean. The breakfast food offered was excellent and the bar makes a great old-fashioned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from panama city beach

Awful

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Wow paid 185 for a crappy hotel The shower broke the toliet broke trying to get a hold of anyone at front desk impossible
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful. Stay away!!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My husband and I booked a night at this hotel for a romantic getaway. Elected to reserve a premium room which included and advertised as having A view of the harbor. Upon check-in we entered the room and found that the windows have been covered by some sort of protective agent do to them painting the outside of the hotel. Therefore, there was no room with a view as advertised nor were we informed at check in by the front desk staff. When I went to front desk to inquire about this protective film on the window I was informed by a very rude front desk staff member that there is a letter in every room explaining The remodeling that was going on. There was a letter in the room explaining remodeling but nowhere does it state that the premium room, that we paid extra for, did in fact not have a view. We inquired about restaurants in the area and were told about this steak and seafood restaurant next-door. My husband and I decided to visit this restaurant which was not a steak and seafood restaurant but a bistro there were no steaks on the menu and very limited seafood. If the hotel staff is going to recommend a restaurant They should probably provide accurate information. The room was very old and dirty. Housekeeping obviously does not pay attention to detail nor care about the cleanliness of their rooms. I would not recommend this hotel for these reasons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff but the hotel needs some updates

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: AC and facility in general
Location: Loved the location
Upon my arrival at the hotel I checked in with the promise of a skylight view. Once I entered the room I found the windows had plastic and blue tape over them which blocked any kind of view. I immediately went to the front desk to let them know this would not work for me. They graciously moved me to another room with a view which was wonderful but after spending a night in that room tossing and turning because I was hot all night and got little sleep, I asked to be moved to another room that may have a better working AC. They informed me that the rooms with odd numbers pipes had not been replaced recently as the rooms with even numbers had. They moved me to a even number room and after getting upstairs I realized the thermostat would not go below 65. I once again addressed this issue with the staff and they told me 65 was as low as it would possibly go. I asked if they had a fan and they gave me a industrial fan to help. The staff was more than helpful and wonderful with assisting me with concerns but this hotel needs alot of work and is currently going through a renovation. My feeling is they should discount their rates until they have the ability to offer what the customers pay for the room. I will give the hotel another chance due to the wonderful staff but I am a littlle hesitant about the facility itself. I hope the next time I visit the renovation will be complete and they will have all of the AC pipes repaired, They did buy breakfast & snacks for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston,SC

Close to Tampa Convention Center

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: was being updated during our stay!
Location: centrally located to many locations like Busch Garden, Tampa Business area
Great location and close to the Tampa Convention Center. We had a waterfront room and the rooms are very nice, comfortable beds and big bathrooms! I wasn't aware valet is $26/day and internet was $12/day. Everything else was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Maryann, Hotel Management
Dear Fran, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel. As a valued guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. . I see that during your visit you noticed all of the renovation signs and design boards throughout the lobby levels of the hotel. Our $18 million renovation began in August. Guestrooms will include the latest version of the Heavenly Bed by Westin, all new furniture, headboards which include reading lights, electric sockets and USB ports, 49” flat screen televisions, carpeting, seating, artwork, painting and new RFID door locks that include the mobile application. Our corridors, meeting rooms, restaurant and lobby will be completely renovated as well. The pool deck will be resurfaced along with all new pool furniture including bar height tables that provide a beautiful water view. In addition the Westin will be adding a private Club Lounge for all Club Level, SPG Platinum and Ambassador Guests. We are upgrading our entire Internet system to include new Fiber Internet, additional access points and our bandwidth will increase to 500 MBPS. The exterior of the entire building will be sealed and painted. Our completion date for all of our expansive renovations will be completed by late December of this year. On behalf of the entire Westin Team, we thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Sincerely, Maryann White General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Very nice hotel but disappointed after checking in to find out that I requested 2 double beds and my room had a king. When I went down to the check in desk they told me " this is the reservation we have" I the precided to show them my reservation from Expedia and their response was" you booked through a third party, so nothing is guaranteed" the hotel was over booked and there was nothing I could do. But, hotel housekeeping was awesome and gave us a roll away!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Just a one night stop over.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Very comfortable and clean, more aimed at conferences and business travellers than a nice relaxing stay. You have to pay for the valet parking, there's no self parking, the bar is expensive and my ordered food was cold when it was served, they deducted this off the bill when I challenged them. So not so bad, the bill was still $50 for 1 wine 2 beers and a starter cheese board.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Maryann, Hotel Management
Dear Just a one night stop over, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a review about your recent stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel. We were so pleased to hear that your enjoyed your comfortable guestroom accommodations and the service provided by the staff. Please accept our apologies concerning the cold food you were served. I will be sure to address these comments with our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager. Next week, the hotel will offer a Happy Hour with both food and drink specials from 4:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m. The hotel has some exciting news to share. We will be undergoing an $18 million dollar renovation beginning in August. Guestroom renovations will include new bedding, all new guestroom furniture, headboards which include reading lights, electric sockets and USB ports, 49” flat screen televisions, carpeting, seating, artwork, painting and new RFID door locks that include the mobile application. Our corridors, meeting rooms, restaurant and lobby will be completely renovated as well. In addition the Westin will be adding a private Club Lounge for all Club Level, SPG Platinum and Ambassador Guests. We are upgrading our entire Internet system to include new Fiber Internet, additional access points and our bandwidth will increase to 500 MBPS. The exterior of the entire building will be sealed and painted. Our completion date for all of our expansive renovations will be completed by late December of this year. On behalf of the entire Westin Team, we thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Warm Regards, Maryann White General Manager
5 out of 5
by LINDA

Westin, Just in Time

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
I thoroughly enjoyed the location of the hotel. With valet and walking distance exquisite dining available, it really made the decision where to stay hassle-free. I always enjoy a diverse staff and meeting people from different parts of the world, or this great country of ours, and the Westin didn't fail to please. With my bartender from Puerto Rico and my valet from Honduras, I was able to touch up on my Spanish and enjoy myself sounding silly. I am hopeful to visit the Westin again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017
Dear Linda, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island through the Expedia Website. As a valued guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. The hotel has some exciting news to share. We will be undergoing an $18 million dollar renovation beginning in August. Guestroom renovations will include new bedding, all new guestroom furniture, headboards which include reading lights, electric sockets and USB ports, 49” flat screen televisions, carpeting, seating, artwork, painting and new RFID door locks that include the mobile application. Our corridors, meeting rooms, restaurant and lobby will be completely renovated as well. In addition the Westin will be adding a private Club Lounge for all Club Level, SPG Platinum and Ambassador Guests. We are upgrading our entire Internet system to include new Fiber Internet, additional access points and our bandwidth will increase to 500 MBPS. The exterior of the entire building will be sealed and painted. Our completion date for all of our expansive renovations will be completed by late December of this year. On behalf of the entire Westin Team, we thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Maryann White General Manager
4 out of 5
by daniel

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was nice except for when i check out and was charged for a movie i didnt rent. When i told the lady i was dealing with i didnt rent any movies her attitude got very nasty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Dear Daniel, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a 4 Star review on Expedia about your recent stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel. Please accept our apologies for the way you were treated by our Guest Service Agent in regards to your movie charge. I have shared this review with our Front Office Manager so that they are able to address this issue. The hotel has some exciting news to share. We will be undergoing an $18 million dollar renovation beginning in August. Guestroom renovations will include new bedding, all new guestroom furniture, headboards which include reading lights, electric sockets and USB ports, 49” flat screen televisions, carpeting, seating, artwork, painting and new RFID door locks that include the mobile application. Our corridors, meeting rooms, restaurant and lobby will be completely renovated as well. In addition the Westin will be adding a private Club Lounge for all Club Level, SPG Platinum and Ambassador Guests. We are upgrading our entire Internet system to include new Fiber Internet, additional access points and our bandwidth will increase to 500 MBPS. The exterior of the entire building will be sealed and painted. Our completion date for all of our expansive renovations will be completed by late December of this year. On behalf of the entire Westin Team, we thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Warm Regards, Maryann White General Manager
3 out of 5
by Valerie

Just ok

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
The common area carpet was really soiled. It made the entire lobby and hallways feel dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017
Dear Valerie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel. As a valued guest, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We saw that you rated our hotel as a 3; however, we also noticed that there were several missed opportunities concerning the cleanliness and conditions of the corridor carpets in the hotel. I have forwarded your comments to our Director of Housekeeping and asked her to schedule the carpets to be professionally shampooed. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Our entire staff strives to provide the utmost in service and accommodations and we failed to deliver a flawless guest experience. The hotel has some exciting news to share. We will be undergoing a major $18 million dollar renovation beginning in August. Guestroom renovations will include new bedding, all new guestroom furniture, carpeting, seating, artwork, painting and new RFID door locks with mobile capabilities. Our corridors, meeting rooms, restaurant and lobby will be completely renovated as well. In addition the Westin will be adding a private Club Lounge for all Club Level, SPG Platinum and Ambassador Guests. Our completion date for all of our expansive renovations will be completed by late December of this year. On behalf of the entire Westin Team, we thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Warm Regards, Maryann White General Manager