Ratings based on 1,934 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando

Disappointing

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I knew about the renovations going on and I was really willing to overlook that, the fact that the bathroom sink was cracked, and the fact that there is no way to charge phones, computers etc, without getting on the floor to plug something in. However, my stay was still terrible. From 320am until 445 am, I was kept awake by a loud party a few rooms down. I did call the desk, and it was so loud, it even took security three times knocking before the door was answered. I finally fell back asleep around 0530 only to be awakened to what sounded like the same loud group screaming down the hall at 0830. I get it, it’s daylight now. What can I do? However at 0915, the renovations started—right above my room. The only thing louder than the party down the hall was the toilet in the room. It was louder than anything and went on for almost a minute after each flush. Imagine this at 2am. In addition, the room was just not clean. I will post a picture of the side of one of the chairs with crud and more than one type. I did bring all of these issues to the desk prior to check out. The only thing I got was a weak apology and the late check out I requested. Even with being a Starwood Platinum member. It was only a one night stay, but I’ll stay elsewhere next time. Just disappointing for a Westin.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northridge, CA

Under construction & needs it.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The staff was really nice
Cons: The room and facilities.
Location: Not much.
The property is under construction and they didn't inform me of it at the time of booking. It is a mess. My room wasn't under construction, but was a wreck. The shower didn't work because the diverter didn't properly engage. I called down and they sent someone to fix it. I think the just used pliers to engage it partially. This resulted in a low flow at the shower head and a jet of water from the tub filler. It was like a pressure washer directly on your feet. The toilet leaked, so it refilled several times through the night. The sink was dirty and gross. The food was not horrible, but overpriced. The only redeeming aspect of the hotel was the staff. They were all very nice. I don't think I will stay there again. It also had a bad location with no services and only one restaurant in the immediate vicinity.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenwich CT

Over Priced for a SO SO Hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
They were renovating the hotel but our room was old and dirty looking. No real place to eat, and the bar was ok. Glad I only stayed for one night
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear TJ, Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at the Westin Tampa Waterside Hotel. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay concerning the issues with you had with all of the construction going on in the hotel. Our entire staff strives to provide the utmost in service and accommodations and we failed to deliver a flawless guest experience. I see that during your visit you noticed all of the signs and design boards throughout the lower and main lobbies in the hotel. We started the $18 million dollar renovation in August. Guestrooms renovations will include the latest version of the Heavenly Bed by Westin, all new furniture, headboards which include reading lights, electric sockets and USB ports, 49” flat screen televisions, carpeting, seating, artwork, painting and new RFID door locks that include the mobile application. Our corridors, meeting rooms, restaurant and lobby will be completely renovated as well. The pool deck will be resurfaced along with all new pool furniture including bar height tables that provide a beautiful water view. In addition the Westin will be adding a private Club Lounge for all Club Level, SPG Platinum and Ambassador Guests. We are upgrading our entire Internet system to include new Fiber Internet, additional access points and our bandwidth will increase to 500 MBPS. The exterior of the entire building will be sealed and painted. Our completion date for all of our expansive renovations will be completed by late December of this year. On behalf of the entire Westin Team, we thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back once our renovations are completed. Sincerely, Maryann White General Manager Westin Tampa Waterside Hotel maryann.white@westintampawaterside.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Very convenient, but thin walls and noisy.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: It was very convenient.
Cons: They could add acoustic tiles or something, I guess. Frankly, I think that it is a building/infrastructure issue, so it will be tough to fix that.
Location: Very short walking distance to convention center, food, and sporting facilities. Great location!
The staff was wonderful. The room was clean. The walls were thin and you could hear people in many other rooms. There were significant renovations while I was there, but that did not bother me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

hotel is undergoing a remodel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Nice Staff...
Cons: Better disclose construction in the lobby. Rooms are a bit worn for a Westin!
Location: Great location
I must not have read the fine print but after flying to Miami on a redeye and drive to Tampa, my expectation were pretty simple.... I wanted to take a nap! Construction noise during the day prevented a good nap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Expedia in regards to your recent stay at the Westin Tampa Waterside Hotel. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Our entire staff strives to provide the utmost in service and accommodations and we failed to deliver a flawless guest experience. We are terribly sorry that you were unable to take a nap due to the construction noise. I know how frustrating that must have been. I see that during your visit you noticed all of the signs and design boards throughout the lower and main lobbies in the hotel. We started the $18 million dollar renovation in August. Guestrooms renovations will include the latest version of the Heavenly Bed by Westin, all new furniture, headboards which include reading lights, electric sockets and USB ports, 49” flat screen televisions, carpeting, seating, artwork, painting and new RFID door locks that include the mobile application. Our corridors, meeting rooms, restaurant and lobby will be completely renovated as well. The pool deck will be resurfaced along with all new pool furniture including bar height tables that provide a beautiful water view. In addition the Westin will be adding a private Club Lounge for all Club Level, SPG Platinum and Ambassador Guests. We are upgrading our entire Internet system to include new Fiber Internet, additional access points and our bandwidth will increase to 500 MBPS. The exterior of the entire building will be sealed and painted. Our completion date for all of our expansive renovations will be completed by late December of this year. On behalf of the entire Westin Team, we thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Sincerely, Maryann White General Manager Westin Tampa Waterside Hotel maryann.white@westintampawaterside.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Close to venue.
Enjoyable. No complaints. Hotel was undergoing renovations but otherwise very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg PA

Nice hotel and convenient to downtown Tampa

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The pool and very comfortable beds.
Cons: Since they are renovating I am not sure.
Location: The convention center, Florida Aquarium, and the Tampa Bay hockey arena are all within walking distance.
I was in for a family occasion. The hotel was convenient to the Davis Island community where I was at most of the time. Even though the hotel was under renovation I was still able to use the fitness room and the pool was open and clean. The breakfast food offered was excellent and the bar makes a great old-fashioned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from panama city beach

Awful

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Wow paid 185 for a crappy hotel The shower broke the toliet broke trying to get a hold of anyone at front desk impossible
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Maryann, Hotel Management
Dear Colleen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at the Westin Tampa Waterside Hotel. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay concerning the issues with your shower and toilet. Our entire staff strives to provide the utmost in service and accommodations and we failed to deliver a flawless guest experience. I see that during your visit you noticed all of the signs and design boards throughout the lower and main lobbies in the hotel. We started the $18 million dollar renovation in August. Guestrooms renovations will include the latest version of the Heavenly Bed by Westin, all new furniture, headboards which include reading lights, electric sockets and USB ports, 49” flat screen televisions, carpeting, seating, artwork, painting and new RFID door locks that include the mobile application. Our corridors, meeting rooms, restaurant and lobby will be completely renovated as well. The pool deck will be resurfaced along with all new pool furniture including bar height tables that provide a beautiful water view. In addition the Westin will be adding a private Club Lounge for all Club Level, SPG Platinum and Ambassador Guests. We are upgrading our entire Internet system to include new Fiber Internet, additional access points and our bandwidth will increase to 500 MBPS. The exterior of the entire building will be sealed and painted. Our completion date for all of our expansive renovations will be completed by late December of this year. On behalf of the entire Westin Team, we thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back once our renovations are completed. Sincerely, Maryann White General Manager Westin Tampa Waterside Hotel maryann.white@westintampawaterside.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful. Stay away!!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My husband and I booked a night at this hotel for a romantic getaway. Elected to reserve a premium room which included and advertised as having A view of the harbor. Upon check-in we entered the room and found that the windows have been covered by some sort of protective agent do to them painting the outside of the hotel. Therefore, there was no room with a view as advertised nor were we informed at check in by the front desk staff. When I went to front desk to inquire about this protective film on the window I was informed by a very rude front desk staff member that there is a letter in every room explaining The remodeling that was going on. There was a letter in the room explaining remodeling but nowhere does it state that the premium room, that we paid extra for, did in fact not have a view. We inquired about restaurants in the area and were told about this steak and seafood restaurant next-door. My husband and I decided to visit this restaurant which was not a steak and seafood restaurant but a bistro there were no steaks on the menu and very limited seafood. If the hotel staff is going to recommend a restaurant They should probably provide accurate information. The room was very old and dirty. Housekeeping obviously does not pay attention to detail nor care about the cleanliness of their rooms. I would not recommend this hotel for these reasons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff but the hotel needs some updates

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: AC and facility in general
Location: Loved the location
Upon my arrival at the hotel I checked in with the promise of a skylight view. Once I entered the room I found the windows had plastic and blue tape over them which blocked any kind of view. I immediately went to the front desk to let them know this would not work for me. They graciously moved me to another room with a view which was wonderful but after spending a night in that room tossing and turning because I was hot all night and got little sleep, I asked to be moved to another room that may have a better working AC. They informed me that the rooms with odd numbers pipes had not been replaced recently as the rooms with even numbers had. They moved me to a even number room and after getting upstairs I realized the thermostat would not go below 65. I once again addressed this issue with the staff and they told me 65 was as low as it would possibly go. I asked if they had a fan and they gave me a industrial fan to help. The staff was more than helpful and wonderful with assisting me with concerns but this hotel needs alot of work and is currently going through a renovation. My feeling is they should discount their rates until they have the ability to offer what the customers pay for the room. I will give the hotel another chance due to the wonderful staff but I am a littlle hesitant about the facility itself. I hope the next time I visit the renovation will be complete and they will have all of the AC pipes repaired, They did buy breakfast & snacks for me.