Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Lots of problems, remedied at end of visit

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Cons: See above.
Loud room, non-functioning coffeemaker, whirlpool. TV's signal kept breaking up. Hotel was full, so I couldn't switch rooms. Staff made it right at the end, which I appreciate, but it was not a restful experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, IN

Typical budget hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Stayed 5 days. Towels were not consistently replaced or available and whirlpool was closed my entire stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NJ

Clean hotel, but...

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Hotel was clean, staff was courteous, but the whirlpool didn't work then entire 5 day/4 night stay. When we asked about it, each front desk employee gave a different answer and false expectations about when it would be fixed. It never was. Disappointed that they couldn't be straightforward about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

No one answering shuttle pickup ... Stranded

Posted Mar 8, 2017
We stayed here because close to Busch gardens and there was a free shuttle. Told to just call when we wanted ride back to hotel. Sunday afternoon around 3 we called numerous times and no one answered. Had to call national reservation number in desperation. They contacted hotel finally and after several more local calls a shuttle picked us up. Not happy with that experience. Hotel should answer the phone. Bad for business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jackson tn

Nice hotel close to where we needed to be

Posted Mar 5, 2017
The hotel was in a good location for where we was wanting to be. Up to date
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for young people close to USF college

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Great shuttle service to nearby areas and the staff was always friendly. Only issue was the cleaning staff started early and I was still sleeping when they were ready to clean, it wasn't noisy in the mornings from vacuums and cleaning staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germantown WI

Nice hotel, nice price.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Clean and quite
Cons: I didn't utilize the continental breakfast, but I did scan the items and they could be upgraded a bit.
Location: Location was fine, area appeared to be safe.
A little higher than what I normally pay for a hotel room, but in comparison to other hotels in the Tampa Bay/Tampa area, it was reasonable for the quality of service, room and cleanliness. We had a reservation, but the cleaning staff was running a bit behind since they had nearly a fully booked hotel the previous evening and he saw to it to get us in a room immediately. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and it was quite as I need it because I am a light sleeper. I will definitely go back to the Wingate in Tampa on Fowler when I return to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The hotel was nice and clean. Breakfast buffet was plentiful. The lobby "bar" was never open during my entire stay, but not really a big deal. Our room was stocked with two bath towels each time the room was cleaned, but if we needed extra towels they were very hard to come by. All said and done it wasn't a bad stay and I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Close to Busch Gardens

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Positives- rooms excellent, housekeeping was great, comfortable beds. The shuttle to Busch Gardens was very convenient. The free breakfast had a lot of variety, but I thought the eggs were just terrible. Everything else there was good. Check in was slow and the fitness center only had two functioning machines but both were broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati Oh

Very nice hotel. Close to Tampa

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Beds were comfortable, nice and clean
Cons: breakfast selection
Location: Central location for Tampa, Clearwater and all the activities. Awesome!!!
We were very happy with the hotel. Overall great experience, if I had to be honest, I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast. Same egg patty and sausage all the time. I did expect a little more variety but it wasn't a deal breaker for us, we just went out to eat. Having the hot tub available 24/7 was fantastic! We will definitely stay here again.