Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by richard

tamworth

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
v.good all round. Great value for money and helpfull staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Disappointing hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Clean bed although there was a rip in the sheet.
Cons: Decoration.
Location: Old hotel on roadside. Disabled parking opposite on the road. Castle grounds to walk in and very close to the town and shops.
Very very tired hotel needs a major refurb although our room (superior room) was comfortable with a very nice en suite. Major issue was the terrible thumping and pounding from the downstairs bar which clearly had a disco on the go on the Friday night we stayed. Carpets dirty and decoration shabby. Although the website says parking its 100 yards down the road in a public car park although hotel reception arranged payment at extra charge to us. Would not go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely room once inside. Reception looked quite scruffy and the staff were pleasant but disorganised. Fine for one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spain

The hotel didn't listen

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: attention to the requirements/abilities/disabilities of guests
Location: nice location, friendly taxi drivers
I told the hotel when I booked that I was disabled, and asked for a room that would be easy for me. I never got a reply, and was horrified to see when I arrived that there were steps down, and steps up, with no alternative. I walk with a walking frame, and it's hard for me, so staying in the hotel was not an option. The charming young lady on reception said there were other rooms "just over the road", but when we got over the road, it was a long walk for me, although she very kindly carried my luggage. The room was fine, very large and with a lovely bowling green to look out on, but a long way from the road where I had booked several taxis during the weekend. I was a lone senior traveller, but no one from Reception ever contacted me during the weekend to offer help, although a young man did come and explain how to use the tv. This is the worst experience I have ever had of "non hospitality". I cannot comment on the food at the hotel as I was unable to even get to the dining room. I will not be using the hotel again, nor will I recommend it
3 out of 5
by a

Needs an update but is clean and comfy.

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel could do with an update as could the other building they have across the road- the size of the room was amazing and the beds etc where comfy- we could only get 1 window in the room open as the rest where either swollen shut or the layers or paint and sealed them. The bathroom door also wouldn't close. Was not impressed with the fact that the hotel is being used as tempory accommodation (one of the other guests told us) and people other than guests where entering and leaving. Reception staff where ignorant and quiet rude. Was pleasantly surprise that during our 2 night stay we had are beds changed and fresh towels left. Overall u get what you pay for but staff could use some maners. We had a good stay and you can't complain about that.
5 out of 5
by Philip

Pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Nice friendly staff and a clean environment. Great value too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DISGUSTING

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
DISGUSTING! It smelled as if something died, flies swarming around, and that is just the entrance! Carpets and walls dirty, and in the room the bedding fairly clean, everything else looked as if a war took place. A party took place in the lounge until 1am - the bass was making the glasses shake in the room and at 6-7 am a fire alarm went on (I get that happens), but the receptionist couldn't even be bothered to get up from her office, nonetheless to apologise for the noises. Ah and from room 10 you can hear EVERYTHING in the other room. DISGUSTING
5 out of 5
by Des

Very comfortable a local pub has great quiz night

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely comfortable stay, nice spacious room and comfortable bed. Only problem was parking...I got a parking ticket for not getting a ticket for after 8am
5 out of 5
by Cathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels