Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beware of this hotel - you get what you pay for

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The location was convenient for the Old City of Tangier.
Cons: The hotel desperately needs a renovation. Wifi should be available in rooms, not only lobby. Make sure illegal tour guides don't wait outside entrance
Location: Right along the entrance of the Old City, so you can walk to any attraction with great ease - assuming you don't make a wrong turn and get lost.
We stayed here for a day accommodation. This hotel served its purpose and was a good, cost effective option. However, I would absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone if they are staying in Tangier for more than a day. You get what you pay for. It's an older hotel. I'm sure it was nice in its day, but it could really use a renovation. The location is definitely convenient in the Old City (if you want that) and near the ferry to Spain, but it's located in a very run down area of the old city. We also were not happy with how the front desk lost our reservation when we tried to check in. That was a whole 30 minute fiasco to get squared away and the front desk tried turning us away at first because they didn't feel like double checking their reservations records on Expedia.com (they finally did once the manager and an English translator from a nearby store got involved and realized that we, in fact, had a reservation). Also, if you are a native English speaker, then this is absolutely not the hotel for you either... The worst part, though, is that "illegal tour guides" hover around the entrance of this hotel like vultures. At times during the day, we didn't want to leave the hotel just so we could avoid them. This is really a big problem and made us fear for our safety. These guys are not only an inconvenience, but they follow you the moment you step outside of the hotel. No other hotel we stayed at in Morocco had this issue as bad as the Hotel Continental.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Needs major overhaul

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Pros: Location to Tangier medina and old port.
Cons: Needs an influx of money to do a proper renovation... like all grand old hotels in Morocco.
First room toilet leaking 'flushed material' into wet room which had been elevated a 12" from room level to accommodate plumbing (which obviously wasn't working) and no air con. Reception not terribly helpful when my English speaking boyfriend tried to explain the problem but different story when I explained the problem in Franglish. Moved to more updated room with aircon and working plumbing...albeit still elevated though a more moderate 6" from room level. Breakfast bland and undercooked but pleasant balcony setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce hotel close to Port

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Nice heritage hotel,with big room, very close to the Port. Good Staff and very helpful. The hotel is in the medinal with restraurants around. The breakfast is excellent, especially in weekend. Recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aussies

a grand old hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: So much of it retains the essence of its former glory.
Cons: The shower/bath.
Location: Loved the stroll along the beach front to see the new developments, and of course once out the front door you walk into the world of Ancient Tangier.
If you are tired of bland accommodation without a speck of character, then the romantic Hotel Continental is for you. You will join generations of travellers who have walked through its doors and marvelled at the exotic atmosphere. The comfortable rooms are located overlooking the port and Medina making it the total Tangiers experience. When old photos and posters on the walls share it's history and the lounges whisper of tales of the Arabian Nights, who cares about the old TV or phones?
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Good location, friendly staff.

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here one night as we were catching the ferry to Tangiers. The hotel is in a good location for restaurants and shops. You do need to park in a paid parking lot about 12 euros a day. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the ferry but manageable. We kept our rental car over night in the lot when we went to Tangiers. It is guarded lot so everything was safe. When we arrived, there was a note to call the manager but a nice woman at the shop next door called for us so we did not have to use our phone and incur international charges. The hotel has no lobby to speak of but who needs one!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bedford hills, ny

Historic hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: See above
Cons: Update rooms
Location: Close to the ferry from Spain, MDINA, tourist attractions
Close to ferry, short walk, but should be more signs. The common areas have beautiful mosaic tile, but rooms are quite outdated. The common areas make up for that inconvienence. Breakfast was also good served in a beautiful room. The staff was helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Grimy, but breakfast good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel in a good location

Posted Mar 3, 2017
This hotel has definitely passed its prime- you can see the past glory in the tilework and architecture in parts of the hotel (the breakfast area in particular has lovely accents). There is a disparity between the rooms- some have new bedding which makes the rooms look much nicer than they are, but most rooms still have old comforters that have seen better days. We had 2 rooms in this reservation. Room 211 is small with 1 full bed, but serviceable. Room 216 has 2 twin beds that can be pushed together. While it is spacious, there were a few issues. The doorknob & lock are a standard household doorknob with a push-in lock. I didn't feel very secure with this type of lock. This room overlooks a street, and can be quite loud with passerby conversation. The toilet in this room wasn't properly secured to the ground and felt like it might tip over. There was no hot water for most of my 2-night stay (the hotel only provides hot water from 6am-11am and in the evening)- my room may have been affected by work being done in nearby rooms, the explanation was a bit lost in translation. They offered to provide me with another room (for at least the shower) but I was able to shower in my friend's room. Breakfast is adequate, though maybe not sufficiently replenished near the end of serving (10:30am). The hotel stored our bags for us in a secure room and called for a cab to take us to the airport. Despite how it may look on maps, cars are able to access the hotel directly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kraków, Poland

Hotel-museum

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Location, spacious rooms, renovated bathroom, unique atmosphere and furniture, safe parking, decent open buffet breakfasts including hot plate.
Cons: Difficult to find an get to the parking as you need to squeeze through narrow medina alleys. You need someone to guide you. Room smell with oldness
If you need affordable place with unique atmosphere to sleep located right next to Medina and port it's the place you are looking for. Hotel rooms and corridors have old and stylish furniture. Many would say this place needs a general renovation but I do not quite agree. At the moment you feel like going back in time to the days when Churchill stayed here which is kind of an experience itself. If you prefer fully renovated tourist places you have plenty to choose from nearby hotels along the coast. Take note hotel has no lifts and sells no alcohol.
3 out of 5
by Deborah

An oldie, but still a goodie.

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
The location was perfect for us since we spent two days exploring inside the walled city off the Medina quarter. The hotel in its day was probably very elegant. Now it's a dated hotel but with plenty of charm still. The staff was friendly and the hotel is only a short walk from the ferry that goes to Tarifa.