Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

One word "terrible"

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hire new staff and a cleaning service
Location: In the middle of the market and difficult to find
This is the worst place that I've ever stayed at. It should be listed as a hostel. The riad is in the worst location. You get dropped off in the middle of a market and have to make your way through a labyrinth of streets. I would think that you could arrange for someone from the riad to meet you at the top of the street, but I'm sure that would be asking too much. A man appeared after I was dropped off and said he was family with the owner and took me to the riad. Of course he had nothing to do with the riad, but how would I know that. Then the staff at the riad said I should pay him. The staff that I dealt with seemed to be very dishonest and lazy. When I arrived, the guy at the desk said he needed to make keys for my room. I'm not sure why this wasn't taken care of prior to my arrival; I had a reservation and arrived after 17:00. I waited in the courtyard and noticed a piece of paper, out in the open, with my name and room along with two others. As for the room, the aircon barely worked. I asked the staff if it was working. He laughed with one of his friends, said of course, and continued what he was doing. The bed linen was stained. The toilet was dirty with yellow stains and had hair on the back of the seat. The shower drain filled up with water and went down 10 minutes after the shower. The room door was a shutter that I could barely fit through. It didn't lock properly and I was able to pull it open after I locked it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building, impossible to find

Posted Jul 14, 2017
We had a map drawn for us by a friend in tangier and we were still unable to find this riad. We ended up having to pay 15€ to a hustler to bring us, and this guy continued to follow us for days trying to get more money. This was not the riad's fault, but we would recommend phoning them and asking for help if you get lost rather than paying a random person. We were given a room that was beautiful but with no air conditioning, which we had paid for. We were able to switch rooms, and the staff were very kind about the mix up. The new room was very humid and damp and never dried out. The air conditioning unit also just really didn't work. It served only to cancel out the heat created by the dehumidifier. The beds were very hard and we did not sleep well. Also, we were generally unable to connect to the wifi from our room, we had to sit in the common area. The included breakfast was delicious and the staff at breakfast were very kind. You eat on the roof, with a beautiful view.
4 out of 5
by Aaqib

Good place, a bit hard to find, no wifi in room.

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
No wifi in room, otherwise would have rated higher.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location.

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
There is hardly anybody there. I don't like the fact that everything is tightly counted during breakfast, you get one small cup 10 oz orange juice and thats it. Also my room did not have a bathroom inside my room. It smells like mold inside. It is very well located in the medina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel in Tangier's Medina

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nice decor. Good shower and friendly staff. Good rates / value.
Location: good location near many of the souks, shopping and cafes in the medina. Le Saveour du Poisson, a famous fish restaurant is close by and delicious.
Authentic moroccan decor and style. Convenient and centrally located in the medina. Staff were nice and helpful. Roof terrace was lovely.
4 out of 5
by Ronald from Texas

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great place, good service, very friendly owner and staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing.

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: The Terrace. The Location.
Cons: Redecoration in some of the rooms, furniture to put your clothes in! A notice asking guests to be considerate to other guests late at night?
Location: Very authentic once you know your way round. Souk and Medina nearby. Good location.
Quite difficult to find, but it is in the Medina and we were met and taken there. On first impression it looks quite pretty. My room was disappointing (my friend had the prettier room) and didnt even have a wardrobe. A coat stand was provided and a richety chest of drawers. The room was quite attractive but not user friendly! We noticed on the ground floor there was another room (door was open) that had terrible damp. Came back from an evening out, settled down in our rooms. Short time later a lot of noise and apparently a family arrived and then spent until 1.00am and later making a lot of noise. They had a separate bathroom so several had showers, and talking and walking around seemed to echo around. If you like your privacy this is not the Riad for you, you can hear every noise. There is a pretty terrace on the roof with amazing views, we had breakfast up there. I hate giving bad reviews but I don't want other people to experience the lack of sleep we had, the next day we left and booked into another hotel, we didn't want to chance any more sleepness nights. The staff were very nice, and helpful when we told them we were leaving. Made sure we got to our next hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In old medina

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: It is not as advertised, pick a 5 star hotel.
Cons: There is no transportation from airport. Do not arrive past 7 pm, taxi can get you only so close,, you have to walk through dangerous alleys
Location: Stay on Mohamed vi or boulevard, safer
Please do not consider this hotel and expect to be out past 5 pm
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Gilles, Hotel Management
Hi Thank's for you rewiew , but the old medina of tangier is not dangerous at all it's 8 years that Riad arous chamel is working and we never have have problem It's right that taxi not arrive on front door you must walk 200M For airport transfert you must ask first and we send our taxi with 150Dhs of extra charge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, decor and personnel

Posted Apr 4, 2016
We loved the riad. The building is a pearl in the middle of the medina. The owner is very nice as well as the rest of the staff and breakfast is delightful. Do not expect 5star European hotel beds, but real ordinary beds and bathroom. All very clean, quiet and well decorated. The riad has a beautiful terrace from which to see the city and where breakfast is served. We would totally indicate it for anyone willing to be at an original building.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels