Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing.

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: The Terrace. The Location.
Cons: Redecoration in some of the rooms, furniture to put your clothes in! A notice asking guests to be considerate to other guests late at night?
Location: Very authentic once you know your way round. Souk and Medina nearby. Good location.
Quite difficult to find, but it is in the Medina and we were met and taken there. On first impression it looks quite pretty. My room was disappointing (my friend had the prettier room) and didnt even have a wardrobe. A coat stand was provided and a richety chest of drawers. The room was quite attractive but not user friendly! We noticed on the ground floor there was another room (door was open) that had terrible damp. Came back from an evening out, settled down in our rooms. Short time later a lot of noise and apparently a family arrived and then spent until 1.00am and later making a lot of noise. They had a separate bathroom so several had showers, and talking and walking around seemed to echo around. If you like your privacy this is not the Riad for you, you can hear every noise. There is a pretty terrace on the roof with amazing views, we had breakfast up there. I hate giving bad reviews but I don't want other people to experience the lack of sleep we had, the next day we left and booked into another hotel, we didn't want to chance any more sleepness nights. The staff were very nice, and helpful when we told them we were leaving. Made sure we got to our next hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In old medina

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: It is not as advertised, pick a 5 star hotel.
Cons: There is no transportation from airport. Do not arrive past 7 pm, taxi can get you only so close,, you have to walk through dangerous alleys
Location: Stay on Mohamed vi or boulevard, safer
Please do not consider this hotel and expect to be out past 5 pm
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Gilles, Hotel Management
Hi Thank's for you rewiew , but the old medina of tangier is not dangerous at all it's 8 years that Riad arous chamel is working and we never have have problem It's right that taxi not arrive on front door you must walk 200M For airport transfert you must ask first and we send our taxi with 150Dhs of extra charge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, decor and personnel

Posted Apr 4, 2016
We loved the riad. The building is a pearl in the middle of the medina. The owner is very nice as well as the rest of the staff and breakfast is delightful. Do not expect 5star European hotel beds, but real ordinary beds and bathroom. All very clean, quiet and well decorated. The riad has a beautiful terrace from which to see the city and where breakfast is served. We would totally indicate it for anyone willing to be at an original building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hidden hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2015
the hotel was a bit difficult to find, but once we arrived our stay was wonderful. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, suggesting restaurants and other activities. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The location, the view, the staff, the price and the breakfast!
Cons: Some minor maintenance - mounting shower heads, replacing cracked tubs, adjusting the hot and cold nozzles.
Location: The hotel is in the center of the medina. There are plenty of things to do within a short walking distance and Rachid and Bilal helped us find our way
Staying in the medina was a great experience, and this place offered a quiet landing spot within. The view from the top and the great breakfast spread was something we will definitely miss. Rachid and Bilal were so great - giving us directions, answering questions and giving advice. The women that worked there were always joyful and very polite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Decent room and location for the price.
Cons: They advertised that drinks and refreshments were available on the rooftop terrace in the evenings, but this was not available.
Location: The restaurant le Couer de Tanger outside the medina is a pleasnt place to stop for happy hour. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony for drinks and tapas
We spent two nights here. It was conveniently located in the medina and easy to walk around the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy riad in the hearty of Tangier's medina

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Good value for the price
Cons: A bit more attention to guests would be nice
Location: In the heart of the Medina. Easy access to wandering the narrow alleyways and the port.
We had difficulty finding the hotel and found ourselves relying on Google maps to navigate back to the hotel when we went out to explore the city. Staff was friendly but not always available. One rainy day, we would have liked to enjoy tea at the hotel, which according to the information in our room was possible. We couldn't find anyone and later learned that it was the day person's day off. It would be nice to have access to tea or coffee making facilities, especially when there were no staff to make it. We got by on our rusty Arabic. Owner was welcoming and helpful at breakfast but otherwise not around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in center of medina..!!

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing. This hotel was just what I expected to find in a medina (actually a bit more than expected). Anyone seeking the medina ex
Taxi met me at the airport as arranged by hotel, which was convenient. The hotel charge for the taxi is 13.50 Euros (one way), but dealing directly with a taxi driver at the airport will get you to the medina for about 5 Euros or even less. Pick up a map of Tangier w/medina at the airport information counter and you'll be able to find the hotel in the maze after the taxi drops you off. The hotel entrance is marked merely by a wooden door in the wall and a small sign. Knock hard on the door, as there is rarely an attendant standing by. Once inside, be prepared for a wonderful hotel experience; three floors and only seven rooms. My room had a detached bathroom, but it was not shared. No aircon, but the fan was enough to stay cool. Breakfast on the terrace was OK, tasty and filling, but nothing to jump up and down about. Breakfast supposedly begins at 8:30 am, but don't expect to find anyone around at that hour. I met the French owner, a very nice and warm man. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience life in the very heart of a North African medina, and if you don't look and act like a tourist, you won't be hassled on the street. The hotel will arrange transport to the airport for the same 13.50 Euros, but walk out of the medina and you'll find a much cheaper taxi on your own.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ursula from Atlanta, Ga

True Moroccan experience

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Location and ambiance
Cons: Towel bar broke
Location: Great location close to all shopping.
We absolutely loved the ambiance of this hotel. The staff went out go their way to make our visit a wonderful experience. Rooms were clean and well furnished. If you are looking for luxury this hotel is not for you. If you want a boutique type of hotel, this one is fabulous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moonmonkey from UK

Very difficult to find right in the Medina.

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: Very clean and original decor.
Cons: A detailed map of the area with streets names on. Details for use in an emergency. We only had 2x2 very small sachets of shampoo for 4 days.
Location: Close to the Kasba. Catch a shared taxi to Ceuta a Spanish city along the coast (need passports) and carry on to Tetouan. Also taxi to Asilah
Very very difficult to find in the centre of the Medina. Most locals didn't know it. Was pleased my husband spoke Arabic otherwise I would have been in a mess. The hotel staff were only around at breakfast time. If we had had a problem there was no one to contact. No information to contact Drs etc in an emergency. No good for disabled people the hotel or to get to a taxi is about 10 min walk if you can find the place!!