Ratings based on 637 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

nice hotel beachside but

Posted Nov 20, 2017
grand entry beautiful pool and beach but the actual apartment was very old and the rooms smells ..needs to be updated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2017
A group of us booked a total of 5 rooms for 3 nights in June 2017 at Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort in Penang. On the 3rd day, one of our friends' gold bracelet was stolen from her luggage in the hotel room. Her sister from overseas brought it over as a gift to her. Her room door lock was damaged and could not be locked from the inside of the room. We made a report to the hotel who advised us to report it to the police. We discovered that this was not the first case of theft, but ours was about the 5th case of theft in the hotel. The hotel was supposed to look into the case but they are not taking responsibility. Since we made the police report till now, we are still waiting for the concluding report from the police investigation. Future guests beware.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Great sunset view

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Nice hotel, close to beach, wet market & several good restaurants. Room is spacious & in fine condition. Room could have been cleaned more thoroughly but we managed. Fine spot.
3 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Not expensive, but terrible value.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Staff were mostly friendly
Cons: Everything. The hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment.
Location: It isn't very well located, but there are buses just out the front.
After a friendly greeting on arrival it all goes downhill. The hotel is in need of urgent refurbishment. The corridor is depressingly worn, dark and dirty. The lift is painfully slow. The room is large but poorly decorated and the air conditioning only works when you are in the room and it takes ages to cool the room down. The bathroom is clean but depressingly mismatched and the shower is barely functional. The breakfast experience is very sad. The pool is very small (nothing like the photos) and there is very limited seating near it. We booked for 5 nights and only stayed one. Moved to a similarly priced hotel in Batu Ferringhi and it was a vast improvement. We know that if we had stayed at the Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort it would have ruined our holiday. The Management have no respect for their guests or staff by offering such poorly maintained facilities and this is disappointing.
1 out of 5
by Tayseer

A bad hotel than cannot be rated more than 2 out 5

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
I have been traveling leisure and business for the past 30 years all over the world from North of the Globe to its South and from its East to its West but never seen worse than this Hotel. I had to change the room twice! I booked non smoking but they gave me a smoking room> The AC was not working so I had to change the room. The second room's AC was not cooling so the maintenance people came and stayed 1/2 hour while I was just arrived and finally could do something to cool. Their lobby is humid and hot when it must be cool. Their TV in my room did was baaaad and could not get few important channels clear at all. The furniture is very poor , carpets shabby and ripped , the front office people are not professionals but trainees. The food is bad > The picture shown on the internet or Hotel.com site does not represent reality at all. The beach is unswimmable and dirty > All in all I honestly had a bad impression about Penang because of the Hotel and will not recommend visiting Malaysia because of its hotels. A 3 star hotel in Bangkok is much better and more advanced than a 5 star hotel in Malaysia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from KL

Nice Hotel, Great Sea View and Close to Beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Good hotel location Great sea view with airly balcony Big Room Space with bath tub, separate dining section with water pipe & basin to wash dishes
Cons: The air cond in the first room we were assigned to, was not cold thought we waited for >1hour. We then got a room changed. The new room was cold.
Location: Walking distance to beach Convenient to drive out for local food, Not too far away from city and shopping malls.
Enjoyable and pleasant stay in the Hotel, big room space. The lift service has improved and is very fast. Swimming pool is clean and great landscaping. Quite convenient to drive out for local food, not too far away from city and shopping malls. Parking space is limited but consider still available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by TC Foo, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us we look forward to see you and family again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location by the beach.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Satisfactory generally. Accesssble use of public transport just around the corner. The room's air con is not cool enough! The corridor is yet to be desirable - Stained carpet with a touch of stench. It needs urgent change.
5 out of 5
by Beng Lee

Up to 50 itemsSwipe left to delete

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great. I will go for holiday with my family again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017
Thank you very much for staying with us We hope to see you and family soon at the paradise
4 out of 5
by Nabilah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels