Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great for the price and locatiom

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The Staff was so helpful and friendly
Cons: Could use a bit of updating.
Location: It is so close to everything ...hunter mountain, restaurants, hiking, and camping
Very clean and nice but older, lots of fun at the bar, and the food was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the best places to stay in this area

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Keep all of this in mind, in this region and most of the surrounding area, most of the buildings have been here for a long time and this area gets a lot of traffic all year round. As for this hotel and restaurant, it is a truly family owned and operated establishment, and I believe that they do care and try to make your visit a pleasure. No place is perfect and there are opportunities to improve here, but I honestly believe they try their best, which means a lot to me. The decor is older, but it's generally maintained well. The food in the restaurant is the best part of this place. My son is the pickiest eater on the planet and he loved everything. All he keeps talking about is the pasta sauce. I have to agree the dinner menu is very good. I enjoyed my stay and will return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Staff is wonderful. Very homey feeling. Food is excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2016
I didn't give it a 4* as the rooms are a bit old but the facilities, restaurant and staff were 5* We went there two families of 4 and we had a great time. I will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Place

Posted Oct 27, 2015
I was very happy with the stay and the price of the rooms. It was different to say the least. A family run hotel was a great place to stay and very close to the zip line adventures at Hunter Mountain!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel room in the fall for Octoberfest

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Simple, honest, straightforward. Great friendly bar. Great breakfast ("what would you like for breakfast"), and a lot of amenities (pool etc).
Cons: Wifi did not work. No cell reception (T-mobile, apparently AT&T will work just fine). In the end I thought a good thing, get away from electronics.
Location: Hunter ski resort is a great place. I was there not for skiing but for the Octoberfest and the BMW-organized motorcycle gathering, which was a great!
Honestly, all the hotels in this area need a bit of sprucing up. But I was pleasantly surprised overall having found this rather large hotel with various outbuildings etc. I did not know about the many hotel amenities (e.g. the pool and exercise area -- for next time!) and the bar was an honestly pleasant surprise, the bartender really friendly, and I met nice people hanging out at the bar. In the morning the restaurant served a great breakfast, a real delight -- simple "what would I like for breakfast" and efficient. I hate those "continental breakfast places" which serve mediocre coffee and "dutch pastries" (what are those really?) for breakfast. Here I ordered "2 sunny-side up, bacon, home fries, and toast" and I was really pleased with what I got!
2 out of 5
by Chris from Pound Ridge, NY

Hotel in between Hunter Mountain and town

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location, discount Hunter lift tickets, pool
Cons: Rooms - Draft around A/C unit (visible gaps), missing fan switch in bathroom, blown light bulb. Missing TV channel guide.
Location: The hotel has an indoor pool, sauna, restaurant/bar, ... Hunter Mountain is 5 min away!
Well situated, this hotel offers location at a high price. The checkin includes a "tour" of the facility which single threads the checkin process - not ideal after being enroute for a couple of hours with kids. During the checkin, the hotel offers a "meal plan" at a discounted rate. We opted only for breakfast which was good and allowed us to get out the door early in the morning. WiFi is only available in the lobby (extending barely into the rooms across the parking lot). Staff was helpful and courteous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Mountains for Sking

Posted Jan 23, 2014
It was good, given what I was working with. Close to both Hunter and Wyndham Mountains,. Travel time was pretty good.
5 out of 5
by Kelly from Toronto, Canada

Excellent hotel, fun experience

Posted Oct 26, 2013
This hotel was an unexpected gem. The staff were friendly and hospitable, and we had so much fun there - lots of amenities and things to do. We will definitely be back!
3 out of 5
by MMc from New Jersey

Well-maintained, but tired

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Beautiful garden out front; neat vintage light fixtures from 1965 NY Worlds Fair. Some nice vintage porch swings; property well-maintained.
Cons: More flexibility, better pricing in dining room & bar.
Location: Hunter Mountain; Kaaterskill Falls
We knew it was going to be a little funky, but the overall vibe was just too old-fashioned and fussy for our taste.