Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

very good location and friendly staff

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: beautiful views
Cons: breakfast an be improved and supply of drinking water in rooms
Location: good local townd nearby
very comfortable stay and very good friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hamilton, ontario

Overall great experience

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Our fantastic experience started the minute we arrived at atahotel capotaormina. We arrived by taxi in the driveway of the hotel where we were immediately greeted with a big welcome and smile by one of the hotel members. The welcoming experience continued at the front desk with the people at the restaurants in the hotel and the cleaning crew. Every single person we came across went out of their way to make sure we were acknowledged and to please us. I thought I would catch one of them having a bad day during our one week stay but it didn't happen. Unbelievable staff. Food was fenominal, both the seafood restaurant and the breakfast in the morning lots of assortment and delicious. Location of the hotel for us perfect. Right on the beach and close enough to historic centre, only few minutes by car or shuttle which hotel offers. Pool area was fantastic, especially getting there through the caves, we actually enjoyed it more then the ocean. The view from the terrace in the morning having breakfast was breathtaking and on the same terrace every night they had some sort of entertainment where we enjoyed a drink and dancing under the stars. Absolutely an experience unforgettable and an experience not to miss. Thank you all at hotel Capotaormina .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Amazing private beach and pool with amazing views

Posted Sep 29, 2017
We had the most gorgeous view from our room. The private beach was lovely. The pool and ocean pool was amazing and there were a multitude of deck chairs with various views near the pools. All hotel staff were fantastic. The only downfall is the dates decor and it would attract a younger crowd if there was food and beverage service to the pool deck chairs along with a more gormet menu at the pool bar. Like fish carpaccio, various salads etc. along with some chilled house music for a bit of ambience/vibe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017
was good beautiful pool, good food. décor is dated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great relaxing location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Great hotel in fantastic location, but Italy is noticeably more expensive than last year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Breathtaking view

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The views and the fact that it has a pool and beach. Close to Taormina town.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Close to Taormina town. Took a tour up to Sarcova.
Hotel staff very accommodating. Views spectacular. Very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but poor customer focus

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting
Cons: Food and beverage and general customer service
Location: Great location, nothing near by. Taormina town centre 10mins ride away
I really enjoyed the setting of the hotel. The views are very beautiful. But apart from that, I found the hotel to be just that, nice location. Everything else was to me very disappointing considering the price they charge for your stay. The food quality is very poor and they charge a very high amount for it. I would not mind paying a consequence price for good or high quality food, which was not the case at all. That was a real let down. So I had to eat out most of the time. There is no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which means that if you are an early riser like myself and would like a coffee then you need to wait until 8am for the breakfast to be served. Tea and coffee making facilities are the basics in most hotel rooms these days. As you check in to your room, not a small bottle of water, not a cup of tea is available to you. Overall nice setting everything else a let down. A real shame as this hotel has so much potential to be the perfect venue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Nice legs, shame about the face

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: fixtures and fittings
Location: Taormina town is a great place to go in the evening
On what must be one of Sicily's most special places nestles a hotel screaming out to be modernised. The hotel itself was probably briefly attractive - in the 1970s. But today it looks like it was designed by a former inmate of a Soviet gulag. In a land of beauty, it really does stand out like an unsightly pimple. The staff are very helpful, charming and will go the extra mile to help you. The food is very good, and the restaurants all have terraces overlooking the sea. I have tried to think of a better place to have breakfast than the terrace of this hotel, with Mount Etna providing the dramatic scenery to the west, and the Ionian Sea to the east. But fundamentally, I think that the hotel is overpriced by a factor of two. My issue with this hotel is that it is easy to be taken in by the well-photographed scenery, but then to be completely disappointed with the underspecified rooms. In the flesh, the "superior double" is like a tired Holiday Inn of the 1980s. The shower is in the bath and has zero elbow room before the shower curtain sticks to you. The toiletries are dull, there are stained carpets around the hotel. There is a stunning pool and the shingle beach is private and immaculately clean. You also have a section of sea cordoned off and a pontoon on which to sunbathe. If I returned to Sicily, I wouldn't stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cuckfield, West Sussex

Amazing views, beautiful location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Loved our 8 night stay, beautiful location with stunning views! Hotel carpets need attention but other than that no complaints. Would have been nice if last hotel shuttle from the town was a little later, 11-11:30.