Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hampshire UK

Half hour drive to nearest beach, good facilities

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Good value for B and B.
Cons: Having a kitchenette facility would have been great. Parking between the trees can be tricky, liable to scratch paintwork.
Location: Nr Gole Alcantara; walk down to bathe in river Alcantara , great experience if crowded. 5 min drive to economical 'Il due compare' trattoria.
Clean, spacious rooms with good views of countryside. Good free wifi and pool. Very glad we had breakfast included. Rooms have fridge but no other kitchen type facility available. Live in owners; Italian married to a German, are always around and helpful. Car is essential as this is on a country road a good half hour from Giardinin Naxos or 40 min drive to Taormina. You need to be a confident, calm driver on these narrow roads with impatient locals trying to get past.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by german, Hotel Management
dear guest ,thanks for your report.we have suite with kitchenette ,but you have booking a standard room.the parking have enough places without trees, but every person like to park under the trees...
5 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amazing Experience

Posted Jul 5, 2016
I don't really know where to start :) As a Sicilian living overseas, i am really proud of what Casale Romano represents: a n unforgettable hospitality experience. Nature, Relax, Organic products, Amazing food and more. You will no be treated as a random guest, but you will be welcomed and treated as a friend. I felt sick due to a sunstroke and Sabina called a doctor and made me an amazing drink that made me feel much better. Thanks for everything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Best welcome to Italy

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: All. Landmark, enviroment, situated in an estrategic point, well maintained, very good service, spacious and clean rooms, air condition etc.
Cons: Do something to keep bees away during breakfast.....
Location: Just near all the nice spots in the area
Our first hotel during our 8 days trip, such a nice place with so friendly owners, we had to come back for another night.... ((:
4 out of 5
by Eitan from Israel

Quite and peaceful room with garden and pool.

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
the host was very nice when we arrived but gave us lot of very useful information before giving the room key and we were unable to remember them at this time. Room was spacious and clean but there was no window only a glass door that my wife was afraid to open in the night cause we were on the ground floor. Our fridge did not work but we could use the kitchen fridge. The price seemed to be a bit high but at this area hotel prices are higher than in other parts of Sicily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great base camp. Lovely hosts.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Quiet, solitude, a haven. A good base to explore wide and far - the Ionian, Tyranean and central highlands
Cons: Could do with the Inclusion of some options on the evening meals. even if the addition of sauce was a customer and not a chefs choice.
Location: You are in Food heaven, all around great agri-tourismo venues, fab local restaurants off the beaten track ( just ask your hosts for directions)
We used the hotel as a base - only had 3 evening meals there, very enjoyable casa produce and local specialities. (not so good if you are vegetarian and or lactose intolerant) but your hosts will accommodate if you tell them. We used the Casale as a base from which to explore 100kms around,across some fairly dodgy roads - hint, get a small car but with some performance, you will need it. You are just a short drive West from views of Etna, East to the Beach coast. A bit further to get to the north and south coasts but doable and worth it. It's also possible to use the hotel for a rest day between extensive touring. It has good patio and pool and a sauna and steam room. You will need to pop up to the supermarket to pick up any lunch time supplies (fruit, beer, etc) as there is no service during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hosts

Posted May 31, 2015
We had a memorable 8 day stay. This hotel is not without it's faults. The road is nearby and takes some getting used to and the rooms are pretty basic with beds and linen that need updating. However, the friendliness of the hosts makes up for these shortcomings. Their passion for Sicilian cuisine, their pride in the local wines and their helpfulness in ensuring that you go to the right places and see the right things is intoxicating. By way of example, we liked a particular red wine which ran out one evening. We were happy to have another, but Sabine rang the owner of the vineyard and he came round with some more and introduced himself. That's what I call good service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Extremely relaxing break

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Food, staff, Harold the dog, location and scenery
Cons: Beds were hard but our personal preference is for softer beds.
Location: A car is needed to explore but certainly lots to do within a short driving distance
Spent 5 nights here. Very relaxing hotel and the owners were extremely kind and helpful. Ate here twice but should have done so more as the food was lovely. Nice small pool and rustic gardens. Would certainly recommend this hotel for a quiet relaxing break.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Disappointing. We expected more.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Quiet countryside location with lots of orange and lime trees in the garden area.
Cons: The food. Provide fully homemade diners with quality ingredients to merit the price charged. Make the rooms less basic and more luxurious.
Location: Not much nearby unless you are prepared to drive a lot. We decamped after 3 nights and paid for a hotel elsewhere because we there was so little to do
Welcoming owners, keen to please but the facilities and room were not as good as we expected. Room was spacious but basic, no effort of co-ordination in furnishings. Two single beds pushed together. Bathroom had a good sized shower cubicle but poor quality towels. Kettle provided but you had to pay extra for tea and coffee. Breakfast choice reasonable. Perhaps a better experience would be had if you could sit outside or use the pool area but the weather was not warm enough when we went so unless you stay in your room there was nowhere on the premises to go. The in-house spa we did not bother with as being an expensive add-on. They have a captive audience for the 4- course dinner as there are limited options nearby but the price charged does not merit what they provide. Most of the food was not homemade as we had expected it would be given the few guests they cater for. Example dinner we had:- broccoli for starter (yes, just broccoli) then pasta twists in an almost dry dark green coating then a small fish fillet from an eel-like fish about 3' long we later saw in a market costing just 10€ per kilo which would have fed all 8 of us staying there which was served with (just) chopped tomatoes then a semifreddo dessert - obviously from a catering sized slab. Very disappointing. After dinner there was nowhere to go but your room. Thank goodness for the free wi-fi ! So overall, not the stylish establishment with local cuisine that we expected given other write-up's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Small friendly hotel in foothills of Etna

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Nice pool with a view. Good buffet breakfast. Charming and helpful hosts, who speak good English.
Cons: Some information at reception on the local sights, ruins, visits to Etna or the islands would have been useful in English!
Location: Not far from Taormina with famous amphitheatre,and reasonable beaches along the coast. Etna about an hour. Pretty scenery and towns closeby.
Staff made us very welcome, and we're most kind in preparing a delicious evening meal for us at quite a late hour. (We had warned them in advance). The hotel was a little hard to find in the dark on the first occasion as the sign is quite discreet. The only problem was road noise in the early mornings, but luckily I had brought earplugs!