Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia , USA

Hot room

Posted Jul 14, 2017
In all the hotel and staff were nice but the Aircondition was terrible very uncomfortable to sleep in .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Bathroom leave alot to desire
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel with very nice pool area.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Great reception staff. Breakfasts not so good. Off site parking at extra cost.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
The concierge was extremely helpful, and a lovely and informative person. The hotel itself is a gorgeous structure. the bathrooms probably need a newer renovation, but they are clean and functional.
3 out of 5
by Peter from EG

good position and very griendly

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable. No opportunity to eat outdoors
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel right in the centre.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff
Cons: Guest facilities for computer and printer use.
Location: Excellent location with numerous bars and restaurants!
Excellent hotel, but no computer and printer facilities.
5 out of 5
by Mary from Sydney

Elegant atmospheric hotel

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Difficult narrow access into town so easier to not use car during stay. Hotel very atmospheric w I th lovely lounges. Breakfast somewhat chaotic & always running out of everything, not f o r l ack of staff numbers but bad training &/or planning. Staff park your car for you & bring it back to h o tel door when required for EUR 15 per day.
2 out of 5
by dorothy m from Ohio

HOT

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
First off, the television was not working, and then the air conditioner was not working. They lied and told us it had to be regulated, then we find out that they turn off the air conditioner for the whole hotel during the hours of 1 through 5. But our room was still hot, hot, hot. Could not open the windows because of the mosquitos, so we got a fan. It was miserable and I would not stay there again. A lot of people were complaining about the same issue, so it was not just our room. So sad, for such a beautiful setting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelsior hotel-good value/wellsited

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
A friend and I stayed 3 nights in early April 2016. Had to change rooms to get 2 beds rather than double room-not a real problem as hotel not full. Nice little balcony overlooking the town and some sea view. Very lovely gardens with openair pool but not used as we were there a little early for outdoor swimming. No tea/coffee making facility which was my only disapointment. Near to shops and a variety of restaurants. Good breakfast/great choice. Did not eat in the restaurant in the evening although the menu was varied and not expensive compared to local restaurants in the town. Helpful and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at end of main shopping street.

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: Most everything. We got a room with a fantastic view over the ocean and mount Etna.
Cons: Sound insulation I between rooms.
Parking is only available in the nearby town garage. 5 min walk .