Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Great hotel, extreme hospitality!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Room with a full sea view nicely decorated in contrasting mauve suedes, the free shuttle to Taormina, friendly concierge, on site restaurant & bar
Cons: The distracting dining room manager barking orders at staff
Location: Great to have hotel next door for entertainment or alternate dining and free shuttle to Taormina!
When we arrived, we were upgraded to a lovely room with full sea view! The concierge couldn't do enough for us! He even called the hotel next door to find out if there was entertainment that night (and there was). There is no entertainment at night here. There is a pool bar and a restaurant on site. We ate here 2 nights in a row. Breakfast was included in the room price. The food is very good. The only thing that upset me greatly was the dining room manager who constantly barked orders at his staff, seemingly berating them at every turn. They were actually running back and forth to the kitchen - all of them! They were like spinning tops. It was continuous and the staff didn't look happy and he didn't look happy! Consequently, it seemed to take over one's focus as all eyes were trained on him and the poor staff who tried to please. It was very disruptive to those dining. He was even there at breakfast! He was always running around and was upset that we had sat at a table for 8 as we didn't see a table for 2 at the end of the breakfast room. We were quickly transferred to it by him! When we didn't have a reservation for dinner one night, he threw his arms up in the air in an exasperated manner which upset us. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel next door the next evening. Were it not for the little man in the dining room, the hotel would have been perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent view of the ocean

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: The excellent view of the ocean.
Cons: Parking
Location: Very close to Taormina.
The hotel was accessible if you had a car. The rooms were comfortable but our bathroom had some evidence of mould in the tub grouting. Parking was a bit problematic as there was little space available. The staff were courteous and helpful. A very good breakfast was provided and the hotel had a varied dinner menu. Overall a positive experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ut

Perfect location

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Orbitz
Short drive our of town. Very clean. We had a balcony with gorgeous ocean view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buenoS aireS

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Great experience! Highly recommended. Just like the picture
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful setting

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The views, the food and in particular the staff were all excellent!!
Cons: The shores need updating and some form of entertainment should be laid on, even if it's music and a late bar.
Location: The location is very close to where The Godfather was filmed, just a short bus ride away. There are many excursions available starting from tge hotel.
The staff are excellent as is the food. The setting is beautiful overlooking the Med. The main problem is that you can't walk anywhere and there is no entertainment at the hotel. The main bar wasn't open at all, so drinks after dinner was not an option. There was a free shuttle service either to Taormina or Letojanni however the last pick up was 18:00 so you were left to get a bus or taxi if you wanted to stay later. The pool was only open between 11:00-18:00. The showers were in poor condition and need updating
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

OK HOTEL

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Pool. Cleanliness. Location.
Cons: Attitude of some of the staff. Shuttle bus service.
Location: Taking the bus to nearby historical villages is wonderful. Across the main road is an amazing restaurant called La Scogliera, delicious home cooking
We stayed here for 2 weeks in September and it was an OK hotel. Fabulous location in the countryside only 5 km from Taoramina, with the most spectacular views of the sea. Nice and quiet too. We got the bus everywhere, only 30 euro for a weekly ticket and you really get to see the lovely villages in the area. There is a shuttle bus at the hotel but it only runs 2 or 3 times a day, and if you ask if they could pick you up or drop you off at a different time, they simply say no!! The hotel next door is called Baia Taormina, much bigger than Crystal Sea but still a 4 Star. We noticed their shuttle running at least every hour and also late at night, so will probably stay there next time if we come back to this area. The swimming pool area is lovely and the only complaint I would have is that one day when I ordered drinks they wanted to give me a plastic glass. Yet the day before I had a glass one.(different staff member). Every day I saw other guests with their drinks in a glass . We didn't have the drink in the plastic glass and after that always went to Baia Taormina for an aperitif as well as a nightcap when we got back in the evenings. When we were leaving we had a late flight and they gave us another room to use for the day, which was brilliant. Some of the staff are great, but some aren't! One day the air con broke down so I went to reception and asked if I could borrow a fan. The man on reception asked if I had tried opening the windows !!!! Very sarcastic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DE

A well maintained budget hotel ... with a view.

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is obviously older, but has been well maintained and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Every room had a balcony, and the views were wonderful. The hotel pool was small and pleasant and the restaurant had good food. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of things to choose from. Finding the hotel was a little difficult, you can't trust your GPS or you'll end up on top of a mountain. Look for signs. It is right next to a much larger resort style hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but potential to be so much better!

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel with potential of being great. Pool and views from bar and restaurant breath taking! Beautiful. Close enough to hustle and bustle but far enough away to be very quiet and relaxing. Property needs a little care and attention as few areas not well maintained ( pool tiles, shower door not closing , towel rail hanging off etc )
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
The room is nice and the view is wondrefull but the walls are skin and you can hear the other room, the location not so good its far from taormina like 30 second of driving on the bus