Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

This could be a great hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Just not enough staff, breakfast is a hot mess (one person trying to serve 10 people), floors under the bed filthy, it's tile...it should be mopped. A/C worked, wonderful balcony, view, and pool. Elevator out of service (no sign), overgrown path down to the pool. Truly, if they had more staff and better housekeeping/groundskeeping it could be exceptional. Easy walk to parking garage and Catania gate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Claudia, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Matt, thank you for your review. We are happy that you apreciated our panoramic view and swimming pool. We are sorry for the elevator, but we had to lock it for your sure. Now all is replaced! It is hard to believe that the room was dirty because every day before guests arrival we make a check in each room however we will inform the houskeeping of his review. Best regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

stay away nothing good about it

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: close to Taormina centre and nothing else
Cons: needs huge renovation - hotel should close down and refurbish it
Location: location good - square not far - Greek theatre - restaurants - shops
they just did not care - elevator not working - pool area tiles coming apart - little amenities in room - blocked sing - after complaining nobody ever did anything about it - poor breakfast it was included in their rate not full breakfast as they advertise
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by roberta, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review and recommendation. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on that your stay with us. and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us. with kindest regards, Claudia Alvano
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

no hot water and nobody else in the hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: see above
Location: very immediately close to center of town
fabulous location, receptionist very helpful and welcoming, good room. Eventually we realized that we were the only ones in the hotel, at one point not even any staff at the front desk. Very weird feeling as though the place had shut down with us inside. Eventually, a night time welcoming and friendly staff person and then, in the morning, the friendly daytime receptionist returned. A man identifying self as the owner, apologized for the water. In the morning, as requested, full breakfast on the seaside patio was excellent. Pool was being readied and perhaps in full season, a very beautiful and fun place to be. And I am sure there are folks who may have enjoyed having the entire building to themselves. Again, fabulous location and it had parking. Can't get better seaside view.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Claudia, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Thank you for your precious time for the review. In real you didn't be the only ones in the hotel, but the silence and relaxation in our structure seem to have enjoyed having the whole building to yourselves. We are sorry for the lack of water in that 15 minutes, but Taormina is working on the G7 Event and it caused some little unforeseens. We are proud that you appreciated our staff efforts and we will be happy to host you again in Villa Riis!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BW

Kleinod in Traumlage mit riesen Managementprobleme

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Der Ausblick und die ruhige Lage trotz Zentrumsnähe, die antike Einrichtung der Kaffee und die Croissants Freundlichkeit der Mitarbeiter
Cons: Die Liste ist lang..Instanthaltung des Objektes, Garten, Pflanzkübel bepflanzen, Pool ist reparaturbedürftig, Bettwäschewechsel, Wurst abdecken,kühlen
Location: Mitten im Zentrum und doch ruhig an einer Schlucht mit Meerblick, Ausflüge ans Meer, nach Syrakus, Notto, Ätna, Castelmola!! die ital. Küche genießen
Das Hotel hat leider seine besten Zeiten hinter sich. Der Besitzer weiß die traumhafte Lage(nur wenige Meter bis zur Flaniermeile Corso Umberto, trotzdem sehr ruhig über einer Schlucht mit Meerblick und von der Terrasse mit Etnablick) und den wunderbaren Stil vergangener romantisch königlicher Zeiten nicht zu schätzen! Der Garten wäre eine Oase, wenn es einen Gärtner gäbe Unser Empfang war sehr herzlich, Englisch kein Problem. Dann zeigte man uns das über Expedia gebuchte Standardzimmer mit Meerblick ( letzte Renovierung im vorigen Jahrhundert)mit dem sofortigen Hinweis, für 50 € mehr ein größeres Zimmer zu bekommen. Leider hat Expedia auf seiner Plattform falsche Zimmergrößen angegeben. Dieses Standardzimmer hatte max.14 qm (mit Bad) Es wäre nicht möglich gewesen den Koffer geöffnet abzustellen!!! Wir fühlten uns abgezockt, hatten dann aber ein Zimmer, was ok war, aber mit Sicherheit auch keine 40qm, keine Möglichkeit für ein Zustellbett, wie bei Expedia beschrieben. Das Frühstück war für italienische Verhältnisse ok, entspricht aber in keinsterweise dem deutschen und hygienischen Standard. Der Kaffee und die Croissants war sehr lecker und die freundliche Frühstücksbedienung war gleichzeitig die Putzfrau im Haus.( tgl. Handtuchwechsel, Bettwäsche 1 mal wöchentlich, wir hatten in 6 Nächten keinen.) Das Personal war immer sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Egal wo man hinsieht bauliche Mängel und fehlende Pflege des Objektes. Eine Bar/Lounge gab es vor Jahren.SCHADE um das Hotel
1 out of 5
by Marianne

Terrible

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Lady at reception try to charge us 30 EUR extra for the dabble bad that we actually has booked and payed for! After long discussion we got the room. The worst room ever, tiny worn out with dark bathroom from 50', definitely not the one room on the picture on your site!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PARIS

hotel bien place

Posted May 16, 2017
Hotel bien placé mais les chambres datent du siècle dernier ....