Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel, quiet location

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Clean and tidy. Great view of Etna. Nice quiet location
Cons: TV signal wasn't great but that's just nit-picking
Location: Very nice spot at the top of the hill, high above Taormina. Lovely quiet village of Castelmola just a couple of minutes walk away (we went in Oct)
Great location if you want to get away from the bustle of Taormina. It's a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the hotel in Castelmola down to the town, or you can walk down LOTS of steps in about 25 minutes (don't try walking back though!). If you prefer things quiet then you'll like Castelmola - great views, a few nice restaurants. The hotel is very clean and tidy and the staff friendly and helpful. It's not 'boutique' or 'chic' but that shouldn't bother you. The mattress was a little hard for our liking (it's the continental standard though I think), but the room was a good size and had most facilities. No tea or coffee making facilities though - if, like us, you need a brew when you wake up you'll need to get dressed and go to breakfast. Contrary to some reviews we thought breakfast was pretty good - not easy to cater for multiple nationalities but they did a pretty good job. Overall we thought it was good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic views of Etna

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: The hotel is in a great location with superb views in a remote spot. I enjoyed breakfast especially the addition of homemade cakes.
Cons: Pool were always closed this is disappointing as it's the only facility at hotel.10 euros to use sauna. Constantly hunting around for staff.
Location: Castelmola better than Taormina if you want a get away from it all break. Best restaurant in Castelmola is La Taverna dell' Etna.
Great place to stop, walking distance to Castelmola (10 mins) and easy access to Taormina by local bus or hotel shuttle bus, also able to walk to Taormina in less than an hour. A very clean, quiet place with the most wonderful views of Etna from the terrace. All in all, good throughout. The rooms were a standard size, with the expected amenities. From the Expedia description we expected tea/coffee making facilities but there wasn't any. The wi-fi was free and worked well. To echo some feedback from other travellers, the downside was some of the restaurant staff were not as helpful as you'd expect. Waiting seems to be the norm if you are not having dinner in the restaurant. I gathered when ordering pre and post dinner drinks that it wasn't the norm which is a pity as you'd want to sit out on the terrace to admire the great views. On one occasion after a long wait and trying to find someone in both the pool and restaurant areas I was told by one of the waitresses 'I'm on my break'. Another time one of the waitresses said 'I'm very busy' when I wanted to pay for drinks. The reception staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Stunning views

Posted Sep 29, 2017
We enjoyed our stay but were surprised at the price and quality of food. We had dinner, only once! Over priced and not great food. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly reception staff, but a few were grumpy and brusk. We were also charged for parking our car 5 euros per night. The hotel itself is quite tired and could do with some investment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location to the village.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: The shuttle bus service is infrequent.
Location: Eating in good restaurants and visiting the village
Staff are extremely helpful in this hotel. Lovely views. Close to the village which has plenty of good restaurants. Would recommend the hotel and enjoyed our time there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Lovely quirky hotel with spectacularviews6

Posted Sep 24, 2017
This hotel was a real find. An eclectic collection of items on show in the hotel and fantastic views outside. The pool area is peaceful, staff helpful and just a short walk up steps to bars and restaurants in Castelmola. Our room was very dark so suggest book a room with a balcony. We are hoping to return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

excellent

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The old and new refurbishment gave an excellent feeling of ambiance.
Cons: not much
Location: there was a hospitality bus free of charge to Taormina town. The taxi was down Euro 15 and back Euro 20.
Excellent!. The villa was my type of hotel, old and newly refurbished which gives the feeling of taste of bygone times. The staff were very friendly without trying to be too familiar. The view of Mount Etna from my balcony room was fantastic, so was the food at breakfast and dinner.I will recommend it to all my friends, if they want to go to Taotmina to stay at the Hotel Villa Sonia. Thanks for the good time I have had. Christian Drissler
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Very tranquil and relaxing Wonderful views

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Had a lovely 6 days here So peaceful and lovely views Would recommend it highly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Woking, UK

Good, but could have been so much better.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort.
Cons: Friendliness and attentiveness of the restaurant staff.
Location: Castelmola is delightful with several restaurants, Taormina is 15 minutes away with a good bas service, Visit Savoco, Ragusa and Etna with a car.
Villa Sonia is set 500m above sea level on Castelmola hillside with exceptional views from Giardini Naxos coastline to Mount Etna. It's breathtaking and enjoyed at breakfast, by the pool and from your balcony, if you are lucky enough to have a rear facing room. We didn't, but this didn't spoil our stay. The hotel is well established and built in a traditional style. The owner is clearly a collector of antiques and curiosities and these are found throughout. It's pretty well run and the reception and cleaning staff are very attentive. There's car parking, charged at 5 euros per day, and the staff will park/collect. There was a feeling of spaciousness about the hotel when we visited in September, which also gave a sense of being very quiet so don't expect bustle or urgency. The pool is very good and has a cafe & bar where you can get drinks and light lunches. Breakfast was buffet style and adequate, but not outstanding. A selection of the usual continental type foods useful to stock up on calories rather than savour. Fuel would be needed too, as the location has very little flat terrain. Mostly you will be walking on hills around 10% once you leave the hotel, except at sea level and town main streets! Prepare to raise your heart rate! Evening meals were unremarkable, so we ate out. The downside was the disinterest shown by the restaurant staff and availability of full time pool cafe and main bar staff. Waiting was the norm and no one wanted to get to know you. Pity.
5 out of 5
by D

Amazing stay, mountain and sea at the same time

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing stay at Villa Sonia. We stayed in an apartmt, with balconies with views over the valley and Etna in the distance. Amazing to wake up in the morning, open the windows and spend some time on the balcony watching the sights. Reception staff was always very friendly and helpful, particularly David who helped us with a smile on his face everytime we needed something. Breakfast is good, with enough choice of fruit, pastries, juices, cereals, ham, cheese, bacon, eggs, etc. The hotel was transformed from an old historic residence, and still has that touch everywhere, which we loved! If you like modern, minimalist this is not for you. Castelmola is a very nice little town, worth a few visits, but most of the time we would go down to Taormina to spend the evening. The swimming pool is great - clear water, sunloungers, again looking over Etna. All in all, this was an amazing 10days stay at Sonia for us!
4 out of 5
by Julian

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for one night with our two children, 10 and 7. It is in stunning location in incredible hilltop village above Taormina, with amazing views. Great pool, which our kids loved. Overall the property is rather dated, but it all works. Service is good. In the evening we opted to eat in the village which was lovely.