Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Lovely holiday and hotel was nice but it would have been good if the pool bar was open all day for drinks, there was nowhere on site in the day to get a drink at All.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bedford, UK

Quiet hotel, very relaxing

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly and helpful. Our basic room was characterful but small ... we had to leave some clothes in suitcases. Worth paying for bigger room
Cons: More frequent entertainment. Wider menu choice
Location: Castelmola is quiet during the day but livens up in the evening. Picturesque main square puzzling fixation on phallic symbols in the Turrisi piazza
Compared with Taormina down the hill, Castelmola is quieter and more relaxed. Villa Sonia is in a lovely situation with many rooms having a view of Etna. Breafast is very good, restaurant meals are good, though menu choice is a little limited. Entertainment on the restaurant terrace on some evenings but there are eight to ten other restaurants/pizzerias in Castelmola if you fancy a change. Good local bus service into Taormina and there is also a limited hotel shuttle service (booking advisable)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

picturesque view

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Fantastic views
Cons: More staff needed at the pool
Location: Various tours available. View from Castelmola is breath taking.
David, Receptionist/come Manager so obliging, nothing too much trouble. The views are breath taking of Mount Etna. Even though I had booked through expedia, I got an upgrade for a view for 30 Euros per night. I think you might get a better deal booking directly with the hotel. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel (takes 15 min to drive down and up to Taormina central). The hotel also has it's own shuttle service. A little walk uphill you will find restaurants, bars and cute little shops. Very reasonably priced restaurants, friendly people. From Catania to the hotel by taxi is 120 Euros. You can get a coach to Taormina which takes about 1.5hrs and a direct bus (buses are air conditioned coaches) to Villa Sonia for a a few Euros. Mount Etna is worth a visit. We managed a tour to Catania ourselves by taking the coach, there is a massive market on a daily basis in Catania, again a very enjoyable day out with the family. You can pay 9 Euros to get to a private beach which includes transfers and beds, really worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex England

Excellent location, quiet retreat

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: location, views and pool.
Cons: Bathroom i.e bigger shower.
Location: Quiet location but close enough to Castlemola for restaurants, bars and little supermarket. Bus stop outside hotel for easy transfers to Taormina.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at hotel. excellent pool and pool area. Reasonably priced restaurant and pool bar. Great location and views. Shuttle service was nice bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Amazing location and capabilities

Posted Jul 8, 2017
This hotel has great capabilities and decoration. I would said it is more oriented to adults than children so it is qiute quiet and ideal for relaxing. Staff, like most of the people in Siciily, was very friendly. Only detail we did not fully enjoy was our room. I dont think that room capabilities we enjoyed correspond to a 4 star hotel. We only upgarded the room vs the basic rate in expedia once (increase size of the bed) but still tv and bathroom wasnt great. we were offered another further upgrade for another 20 euros per night but we decided we could still enjoy hotel capabilities and use the money on the amazing food in Castelmola
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful views. Lovely swimming pool. Quiet and

Posted May 26, 2017
The hotel and it's environment in Castelmola were really good. However, when we arrived we were informed that a G7 Summit was being held in Taormina, the town through which the only road to our hotel, passed, and that Taormina was to be locked down on the Sunday, middle of our hols! There was poor communication between the Sicilian local authorities and the hotel and half way through our hols we were informed that we would not be able to leave Castelmola for the remains of our holiday so we curtailed our holiday after 5 of our planned holiday (except to go to the airport. The hotel refunded the remaining days.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Hotel with a character and super staff

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
It is a very charming hotel with character. It resembles a villa from the 1930th. The staff was super helpful and service was really 4*. OK the TV is minuscule, wife reception was poor in the rooms and some of the mounted equipment in the bathrooms were of odd colors, but overall it is a superb hotel. The view on Mount Etna from the terrace is magnificent, the breakfast was very rich (with ham, cheese and scrambled eggs) not the usual sweet only Italian style. The receptionists were very helpful and friendly. Parking is not difficult, although driving in Taormina is definitely not piece of cake. Just be prepared that to get to the hotel you have to drive through busy narrow streets and this place is on the very end of them - top of the hill. The village Castelmola is a beautiful place with several nice restaurants and unforgettable views.
4 out of 5
by Peter

A room with a view

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, high above the noise of Taormina - with a nice terrace and a small pool. Great views on Etna and a handy shuttle to Taormina
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Picturesque hotel, bad food, poor service

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was charming with a great view of Mt. Etna. The food in the restaurant was not good. I would not recommend eating dinner here. The service left something to be desired. There was no desire to satisfy the customer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remote

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is lovely and staff are pleasant. the views are stunning . We had a basic room which was comfortable enough and clean but the balcony was not any good for anything really, it was below street level and and got no sun. Our only niggle was only one power socket which made life somewhat challenging but we always carry an extension lead. Also no Kettle for tea and coffee and as the bar is closed during the day so unless you used room service you'll have a dry day, also the same applies to lunch "nada". Castlemola is great BUT it is at the top of a mountain and the bus service changed 3 times in 1 week , the last bus being at 9.40 when we 1st got there it was 11.40 (at least 45 walk down & the walk up would kill you). We did go in September but the hotel was dead and was lacking any sort of atmosphere. . That Said it is a lovely hotel and the location is beautiful but we felt like we were holding on the moon. I should also mention that the food that we eat there was of a good standard.