Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great and professional reception. Perfect location. Only it is a little noisy from the main road in the front.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and cable car

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Clean basic hotel, close to transport. There were a few ants in the room. Patchy wifi on arrival.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible!

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in the perfect location, right next to the cable cars to the you up to Taormina. That's the only positive thing. The hotel staff are not pleasant, breakfast is really tired and unappetising, room walls are paper thin and very noisy. And you have to collect your tv remote control from reception every night. What a joke!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamsphire, England

Good choice for three-star hotel

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Its reasonable prices and the fact that it delivered its promise of a good hotel in its category.
Cons: Television reception! The only English speaking channel available was BBC World and the reception was poor.
The Jonic provides all the comfort you can expect form a three-star hotel, and in certain respects - friendliness of reception, excellent breakfast - gives a little more. What makes it geat value is its location: we booked a room with a sea view and first thing in the morning, it was just wonderful, looking out to a picture-postcard-perfect sea.. The beach is just across the road, down a few steps; there is a charge of 8 euros/day for a sunbed, though. A cable car (turn left as you exit the hotel and walk 30m) takes you up to Taormina for 3 euros. There is another option though: turn right and walk about 50 m to find a sign and steps leading up to the town. The climb is a little trying but not much and the views are unbeatable.
5 out of 5
by Annette from Newport

Lovely hotel fantastic view

Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect for visiting Taormina, then having e refreshing swim in the bay at Mazzaro. We had a room on the 4th floor with a terrace overlooking the bay and beyond, what a fantastic view! A very clean an 'sunny' 3* hotel with friendly and helpful staff, I would be happy to recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by John L from New Zealand

Perfect location for beach. Sea views spectacular.

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
This was our second stay at Jonic Hotel in Mazzaro, Taormina. Ideal for us, as we love the water, and it is across the road. Funivia is 2 minutes walk away, when it is working, otherwise you can wait for up to an hour for the bus to take you up to Upper Taormina. Hotel rooms are small but if you are fortunate to get a sea view, you can live with the room size. Breakfast is presented well. Clean rooms always and reception helpful most of the time.
5 out of 5
by Ian from London

Very friendly hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic location overlooking the sea and beautiful Mazzaro Bay. Very clean and comfortable room. Nearby car park where we could conviently leave our hire car. Unfortunately the cable car to the main town was not working, but no problem to take taxis. Some great restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aldershot

Simple Hotel, Perfect Location

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Lovely little hotel, has everything you need if you're looking for basic needs while being out & about most of the time, & we were fortunate enough to get a sea view room with a terrace, so had great views when we were in. Breakfast is usual continental (croissant, meat, cheese, cakes, cereal & yoghurt) wouldn't recommend having tea though - it's not great, though the coffee is very nice!! Location wise, the hotel is right in front of the steps leading down to the beach (most of which you'll need to pay for, though there is a small area at the end that's public), & right around the corner from the cable car leading up to the main part of town & bus station (turn left for the bus station, right for the town). Very glad we stayed down near the beach front rather than up in Taormina, as even in mid-september, it was very busy. Restaurants wise - there's an awful lot to choose from! Our picks for the week were L'Incontro, il Barcaiolo & Pizzeria Vecchia. The hotel does open straight out onto the road (there is a small pathway) but this is common, & you'll find most places that you're required to walk on the edge of the road. The staff were lovely & always had a smile. Overall, would definately recommend this hotel - it's very reasonably priced, & the location was spot on.
3 out of 5
by Blair from Chicago

good location - right next to isola bella

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
My stay at Hotel Jonic was fine. My room had three beds (but I was staying there alone). I had a friend with me that needed to take a shower before heading back to Catania and the hotel manager would not let her use the shower (even though my room could fit three people). Other than that - my view from the balcony was amazing and the reception staff was very helpful with directions and train times/bus times etc. I would stay here again. The location is a few steps away from the entrance to the public beach - which is great! Also, the lift up to Taormina is right around the corner as well as a delicious restaurant Cafe Marina. If you stay at Hotel Jonic and do not feel like hiking back up to Taormina for dinner - i highly suggest checking out Cafe Marina. The food is very good and the service is great.
3 out of 5
by helloitslisa from London, UK

Great location, friendly & helpful staff, OK room

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels
My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights and the location was absolutely perfect. Steps away from the beach and very close to the cable car. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. We were a little disappointed that our double bed was actually two twin beds pushed together. The shower was quite small with no tray to push soap/shampoo/etc on so we had to put everything on the shower floor. It was really hard to bend over and pick these things up because the shower was so narrow and it got a little frustrating after a few days. Also, I would advise bringing your own body soap because the one they provide is awful and does not lather at all. I can't tell you how many we went through just to get through a single wash. The breakfast was decent but got a little boring after 6 days. The staff that work the breakfast shift were very nice and made good, strong coffee for us every morning. It would have been perfect if they also provided fresh fruit - we are in Sicily, after all! I would recommend this hotel to friends but maybe not for a stay longer than 3-5 days.