Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Room was very clean, but had a small odor (pets are allowed in rooms). Secluded location, gentle breezes when you're outside.
Cons: Proprietor
All you need to know is that the proprietor should NOT be in the hospitality business. No air conditioning and was not posted on the website. Lodge is run-down and in disrepair (especially for the room rate)! They make a big deal of asking about diet restrictions/choices and breakfast staff thought pancakes were okay for gluten-free! There are no CHOICES for breakfast. (Price included in room rate.) We didn't even attempt to eat breakfast the second morning. The proprietor went to great lengths to write a handbook for the room about the lodge, employees, and how she became the owner of the facility. However, lots of interactions with staff (and proprietor) showed us that they were fairly clueless as to how to communicate with guests---very frustrating. The TV/DVR is not good at all---TV was very small and in a wardrobe dresser---sound was horrible. There is a vast library of available DVD's available to watch. The Lodge/site are very old, but could really be great. The surrounding landscape is quiet and off-the beaten path. Signage for after dark arrival is non-existent. The property is off a winding small road with overgrowth along the street. The area is pitch-black after dark. Going back to the lodge after dinner in neighboring town was a challenge. We turned into three private driveways before actually making it to the lodge. Siri (iPhone) tells you to turn into the property where there is no road. Front desk is not manned after 6 or 7 PM. Proprietor c
5 out of 5
by Kathleen from Pueblo West, CO

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
This was our first time to visit Taos. We were looking for a place to stay that gave us a taste of Taos, not a cookie-cutter chain hotel. San Geronimo was a great choice!! The lodge was very clean and comfortable. The staff were all very nice. The breakfast was excellent in an inviting dining area. Our overall visit was very nice.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Keller, Texas

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
We were pleasantly surprised with our stay at San Geronimo Lodge. The hotel service was excellent, they made us feel at home, great recommendation for dinner, rooms were comfortable, and the breakfast was great. We would definitely make this our stay in Taos.
5 out of 5
by Victoria from Chicago

LOVED OUR STAY

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
We were a bit skeptical about staying at an inn with our young kids, boy were we wrong! Pam is a gracious hostess who greets you fresh homemade cookies, what could be more kid friendly? Our kids absolutely adored our stay there. It's a bit out of downtown area which makes it even better. Serene environment and just a pleasure to stay at. Thank you Pam and staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, pleasant staff, a relaxing and quite place after a long drive for a couple's weekend
4 out of 5
by JOHN from New York City

Perfect New Mexico lodge

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
If you are looking for modern glitz and glamour, San Geronimo is not for you. We had a wonderful stay at this historic, charming, beautiful old New Mexico lodge. Off the main strip, nestled at the bottom of foothills, our family spent three days soaking up the beauty. We felt like we were visitors in someone's comfortable yet elegant private lodge. Personal attention, great advice about activities and restaurants, welcoming atmosphere, very large comfortable room with a gas fireplace, superb and hearty breakfasts, sparkling and warm outdoor pool and even apricots fresh from the trees. Perfect.
4 out of 5
by James from Denver

Nice place.

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel area was quiet, room was nice and staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming historical hotel, somewhat overpriced

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Beautiful old building, nice pool, interesting location
Cons: Rooms are poorly lit and the AC did not work. Beds were too soft for us. Breakfast portions were very small with no choice
Hotel is located in a 120+ year old historical building with a good location and view of the mountains on the South side. Rooms are spacious, but we found the beds to be way too soft for our comfort. Most rooms were poorly lit and the AC was not working in our room. Staff is courteous and helpful. Swimming pool is very nice when in season. Breakfast is served at a pre-determined time and there is no menu selection - all get the same meal. If you don't like what you got, you are out of luck. Food was tasty, but portions were small. Overall, nice place, but not worth the over $200 a night price point.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice place with a great mountain view

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: historical - beautiful property outside the city
Cons: rooms are somewhat dark
had fun- the staff very friendly- nice breakfast- no complaints