Ratings based on 902 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Ken from Austin TX

Another ggod stay

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
Was one for one night. Stayed there many of times Good location close to town, but not for walking
3 out of 5
by seth a from dallas

good for a cheap ski trip

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Hotels
was good for a nice ski trip - needed more waffle makers as breakfast was light
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed Bugs

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: lobby looks nice
Cons: have actual plan to attach bedbug issue and clean the rooms (really clean),
Location: Wonderful location
Smokey rooms, smelly, dirty, stained walls and full grown bedbugs infesting one of two rooms. According to staff, problem of bed bugs has been on going. They did give us a refund through Expedia.
2 out of 5
by Clayton from Bryan, TX

It's not terrible, but...

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
The pictures looked good; the lobby looked great, but... We were first directed to a room at the rear of the property, the building had gang type tagging below the window of "our" room, it also had a musty, umused smell. Upon request they were very willing to give us a room at the front of the property. The room was clean, but dated. We were told that the property has been sold and new owners will be taking over at the first of 2016.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
It was alright. There was no coffee maker, and the heater was extremely loud when on, then the room immediately became cold when the heater was off. The room's phone also did not work, and no one from the front desk answered.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Convenient location, but...

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: New mattresses and blankets.
Location: It's Taos. Need one say more?
Perhaps because we arrived on a cold and rainy Thanksgiving Day and there were fewer than a dozen cars in the lot, I found the lobby and room uninviting. I was informed that the heater in the indoor pool was not working, but the hot tub was available. A thin blanket on the lopsided king mattress had several holes. We were given an additional blanket to use, and it had holes as well. A power outage in the morning left us in the dark for an hour. Certainly this was not the fault of the hotel, but we were anxious to depart earlier than planned. Checking out presented another problem. I was told that because I'd booked with Expedia, I could not be given a statement showing that there were no additional charges on my credit card. The clerk assured me that I would receive an email statement. I have not.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel seeing its last days

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
I reserved a non-smoking room but they first gave me a smoking room which has holes in the blanket. The receptionist was helpful and changed the room to a non-smoking one. Bathroom has stains on the wall, the bath tub had mold in the corners. Breakfast was terrible, they did not have a microwave and we had to ask the reception to heat our bowls of cereals. They also ran out of milk when we were the only guests eating over there. Overall this seemed to be a once upon a time good hotel that is seeing its last days before it shuts down completely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brrr

Posted Nov 27, 2015
At 6 am no hot water! When I told clerk she had maintenance person check around 8:30 and his report was that there was hot water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent place for a great price - would recommend

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
We had a good experience here. Front desk staff was helpful. Bedding was clean and comfortable, and the hotel was quiet (it was slow season in Taos so I am sure that contributed to how quiet it was). The room was very large. Furniture was relatively new. Bathroom was pretty outdated, but functioned well. It's not walking distance from downtown Taos, so we had to plan our night life accordingly (have a designated driver). You may like the breakfast if you can survive on carbs alone (cereal, sweet rolls, bagels, or waffles) but we were craving protein, so we opted to go to the coffee shop across the street for a breakfast burrito.
2 out of 5
by gertrud from Louisville

Never again

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Unprofesssional front desk, unable to do their job. It took them 1 hrs. to get us in a room, where everything worked. In the first room the sink in the bathroom didn't drain. In the second room we were missing some things, we were promised again another room. After nothing happened, because the front desk person told us she "is stressed out" and cannot do anything, we gave up and stayed in the second room. Hotel was described as having a restaurant and bar, neither one was open. The breakfast was a surprise too, the only warm thing of the warm breakfast was the coffee. The bread was stale, the toaster didn't work. After complaining about this, they brought out another toaster, that didn't work either. The waffle maker was dirty. So we had nothing to put on the cheap paper plates and went out to a breakfast place.