Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Highly recommend. Beautiful and peaceful. Stuff was phenomenal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Never would have guessed.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The overall appearance. The beautiful room and pool area. Food was also excellent as well as the service.
Cons: Not much for us.
Location: We enjoyed the shops and restaurants in town and especially that it was so pet friendly.
Driving into Taos from Arizona we were kind of let down from all the great reviews we had read on the town and hotels etc. When we found the EL Monte Sagrado and entered the grounds we were so happy. Everything was beautiful, well maintained and decorated. We never would have guessed we would have such luxury at this affordable Resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Very nice room and service although only a 1 night stay en route to Colorado
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Beautiful hotel, staff really friendly and go out of their way to take care of you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

A perfect reflection of the vibe of Taos, NM..

Posted Jun 5, 2016
The vibe and feel of this resort is perfect. Quiet sophistication is a win-win, when considering a resort. The staff is very friendly as well as very professional. Many (not just 1) went out of their way and spent extra time to make conversation with me and my 17yr old son on our recent father-son trip in late May. While my son may have preferred his usual fast-food fare, I felt the dining options were certainly gourmet level, easily appreciated by adults who enjoy such (food was great!). Perhaps 2-4 kids menu items might round out the offerrings. But, I also don't see this as a children's resort. This is a very nice adult retreat/resort. Special thanks to hotel business office staff "Libby", who went out of her way to escort us all the way to our room, and explained the resort's amenities in a professional and concierge-level manner. Would highly recommend...and actually I felt guilty not staying longer, as we simply were arriving from Durango, CO, and booked this thru expedia...and left the next morning, so I felt I did not give myself time to explore this very cool resort. The concours-type vintage automobile display absolutely added to the ambience of quiet sophistication.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A slice of tranquility

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Surprisingly large, amazing grounds.
Cons: Cannot think of anything.
Location: The relaxed and eclectic town of Taos and the Taos Pueblo are must sees. We ate breakfast at Michael's Bakery and the food was excellent.
Beautiful property, very peaceful. Outstanding staff from Matthew, our valet upon arrival and departure to the restaurant staff. We enjoyed our brief stay at the El Monte in Taos and would recommend to family and friends.
5 out of 5
by Luci

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chadds Ford, PA

A Magical Retreat

Posted May 30, 2016
An amazing one of a kind property, with the most beautiful grounds, and artwork.
5 out of 5
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida/NY

I Could live there

Posted May 18, 2016
We traveled throughout New Mexico and this was by far the best.