Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs an upgrade

Posted Sep 27, 2016
This place is dated and needs lots of work to call itself a fine spa hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome place and aweome views

Posted Sep 26, 2016
My wife and i had such a great time in the hotel. It was quite and relaxing and clise to everything
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
It was ok, not the best but the location is good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An Oasis Hidden in the Middle of Taos

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Cons: There is a very bad smell in the lobby area.
Location: It's in the center of Taos, just off Kit Carson Road. Very convenient, yet secluded.
The rooms, grounds and pool are beautiful here. We stayed in a private casita... It was quiet and very lovely! Everything was wonderful about this place, aside from the strong smell of mildew in the lobby. If you are staying in Taos, you should really check out El Monte Sagrado.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lubbock, TX

Very nice hotel close to the center of Taos.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: El Monte is a very nice hotel and all the staff were helpful and courteous. We had dinner there one evening and they rate with the better restaurants
Cons: More parking.
Location: The Plaza and several museums are within walking distance.
We ate at fine restaurants and saw all the sights. There were Dall Sheep close to the rest area at the Rio Grande Gorge. We drove up to the Bavarian Ski Lodge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Quaint setting with great gardens rooms and facilities. Hidden gem in Taos. Convient to plaza and other sites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anniversary stay.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: We enjoy the spacious rooms, peacefulness and the outside beauty.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: We enjoy a walk thru the village, reading a book in the room, a bottle of wine @ 5pm and dinner at The Love Apple!
We try to stay once a year. We celebrated our 45th Anniversary at our favorite place, fantastic!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wished we could have stayed longer

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Absolutely beautiful place and grounds! Would love to come back and really experience it all we were just an overnight stay so didn't have the time to truly enjoy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Don't waste your money. rm 426

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: I liked the swimming pool
Cons: Renovate the rooms,Hire new cooks that care about food, And background check the cleaning service so your guests don't "lose" wallets.
Location: Taos is wonderful. It is a gorgeous area filled with lovely things.
The first hour we were there the toilet started overflowing with feces but none of us had used the facilities. Maintenance man plunged and walked through the feces water through the bathroom and foyer. Called for a cleaning lady that just sloshed mop water around. Super gross. The beds were really uncomfortable. They need to update the beds perhaps because there were springs poking and hurting all night. I had 2 beds and nobody but the baby slept. We left our wallet in the nightstand and now it is gone forever. So... The food is overpriced and pretty bad. I was hoping to have a really nice and relaxing stay before school started again but was so exhausted and now I need to replace and cancel cards that haven't been turned in to the lost and found. Oh, and you have to pay for parking. 15$ to "self park" your car to stay there. Maybe it is just on the outs as a luxury place, Or, they gave me a room that they put all people with kids in. Just a horrible room with bad plumbing and bad beds. Oh, the beds have a leather like comforter. A thin dirty leather comforter. So bummed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Great cozy spot close to downtown Taos

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. When we needed anything the staff was prompt in responding to our needs.
Cons: The only thing I would improve is more spa perks for guests. Would be nice if one spa service could be offered at 30% off instead of 15%.
Location: Very close to downtown, probably takes only 10 minutes to walk. We drove because of our puppy but it was very close to shops, restaurant, breweries.
Great place for vacationing with pets. I was pleasantly surprised as to the cleanliness of the hotel, considering they allow pets. Our little puppy was free to roam in the gated front of our Casita making his stay more fun and safe! My boyfriend and I enjoyed the quite space as well as the beautiful surroundings.