Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa, fl

Overnight stop in Taos.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds. Sculptures, water falls.
Location: Taos. Need I say more?
We arrived about 11am and asked if we could check in early. Staff was very accommodating and we got a room right away. Wonderful grounds. Great balcony room. We had breakfast the next morning and it was delicious and the restaurant was very pretty. Can't say enough about the ambiance. We will definitely come back me spend more time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location; room leaves much to be desired

Posted May 13, 2017
There is a hook but no picture over the fireplace; the plumbing in the bathroom sink does not work properly, water splashing all over the counter; there are gashes in the walk covering in many places; there are no directions for the TV - channels, remote operator. There was only VERY strong coffee or tea option for the Keureg coffee maker - no decaf or mild coffee and none available til 7:00 am from the restaurant. Poor attention all around for this resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oasis

Posted May 8, 2017
Beautiful grounds room only marred by poor lighting in guest room. Actually had to get flashlight to make sure we didn't leave anything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to town.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Arrived early staff were very accommodating to get us in room ahead of check in time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Quiet and serene. Pool area relaxing
Cons: Customer service at resort restaurant.
Room is beautifully decorated, comfortable beds. Guest services, especially valet are so helpful and friendly. Prime location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful and relaxing!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The staff is awesome, can't remember a better experience. I would recommend this place to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Lovely Resort. Close to Town. Outstanding Spa.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Super friendly staff and nice clean rooms made for a stress free stay. The location is great, being close to town and the mountains.
Cons: I felt if they just focused on that last 5%, they'd have it. Detail oriented people know exactly what I mean. Sorry, no room to expand. Still 5 stars.
Location: Carson National Forrest is not far and historic downtown Taos is also near and bustling. Not hard to find something to do there. Love Taos.
El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa is a lovely resort walking distance to historic downtown Taos. It spreads out on a fairly large campus with a stunning mountain view and nice lawns. I had one of the Taos Mountain rooms and it was just the thing for me. I am a large fellow, so the very large soaking tub was fantastic. Despite what it says on the website, my tub was not jetted. The Living Spa was fantastic. On Friday, I got a Deep Tissue massage from Jessie that was luxurious. She was just wonderful and hit all of my trouble spots. When she was finished, she thought I could benefit from a Thai massage, so I did that on Saturday with Rebecca. Saturday, Thai massage. OMG this blew my mind. I'd looked Thai massage up on the internet, but none of it prepared me for the 'performance' that Rebecca did and when she was finished, I had increased mobility of 50-60%! No exaggeration. She was so, so mindful and the whole experience just felt interpretive, for lack of a better word. When I go back to El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa, it will be to schedule time with Rebecca. I wonder if I could handle two of those sessions... And then Sunday, Reflexology with Nancy. Nancy was fantastic. She was deft and sure and what surprised me was, there was no pain. Not only that, but the problem areas I had were feeling good the next day too. Thanks Nancy! I would also like to shout out to Dina in the restaurant. It was a pleasure to be at her table. Menu is outstanding. I will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Lovely resort, close to town, outstanding spa

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Super friendly staff and nice clean rooms made for a stress free stay. The location is great, being close to town and the mountains.
Cons: I did feel that they needed to focus on that last 5%. Anyone who is detail oriented like me knows exactly what I mean. No room to expand my thought.
Location: Carson National Forrest is not far and historic downtown Taos is also near and bustling. Not hard to find something to do there.
El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa is a lovely resort walking distance to historic downtown Taos. It spreads out on a fairly large campus with a stunning mountain view and nice lawns. I had one of the Taos Mountain rooms and it was just the thing for me. I am a large fellow, so the very large soaking tub was fantastic. Despite what it says on the website, my tub was not jetted. The Living Spa was fantastic. On Friday, I got a Deep Tissue massage from Jessie that was luxurious. She was just wonderful and hit all of my trouble spots. When she was finished, she thought I could benefit from a Thai massage, so I did that on Saturday with Rebecca. Saturday, Thai massage. OMG this blew my mind. I have looked Thai massage up on the internet, but none of it prepared me for the 'performance' that Rebecca did and when she was finished, I had increased mobility of 50-60%! No exaggeration. She was so, so mindful and the whole experience felt interpretive, for lack of a better word. When I go back to El Monte Sagrado Living Resort & Spa, it will be to schedule time with Rebecca. I wonder if I could handle two of those sessions... And then Sunday, Reflexology with Nancy. Nancy was fantastic. She was deft and sure and what surprised me was, there was no pain. Not only that, but the problem areas I had were feeling good the next day too. Thanks Nancy! I would also like to shout out to Dina in the restaurant. It was a pleasure to be at her table. Menu is outstanding. I will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Outstanding Stay!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Get a new Maitre d ...It was a white hair gentleman who was rude and condescending on /31/17. He was a major blemish on an otherwise perfect stay.
Location: Very Peaceful and within walking distance of everything.
Beautiful grounds...Really great room, Very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins CO

long weekend away

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: grounds and design of the buildings. well kept and unique.
Cons: compared to a traditional hotel, it could be a little confusing entering and finding the check in room. better signage needed.
Location: great location near historic district. lots of galleries and stores.
we were very pleased with El Monte Sagrado. arrived early, no problems, room was ready and staff were very proactively willing to help. used valet but you dont really need it, parking is so close. the grounds and buildings are beautiful, and very well kept. staff were great, willing to help and asking all the time if we needed anything. we would definitely stay here again. the hotel definitely made our trip. we really enjoyed the Anaconda Bar -- great apps, friendly bartenders - spent two nights there finishing off great days in the Taos and Santa Fe region shopping.